We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven for the Weary Traveller” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rising Dragon Estate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rising Dragon Estate Hotel to your Saves list
Rising Dragon Estate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   17 Nguyen Van To St. | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Queen Ann Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 469 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A Haven for the Weary Traveller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

The hotel lived up to all the good reviews. Huge well-appointed rooms, WIFI on every floor in case you don't use the notebook + internet connection provided free-of-charge (!), TV with western channels like BBC, DW... hot showers with sufficient pressure etc We appreciated the free tea + coffee (yummy Vietnamese coffee not yucky Nescafe) available round-the-clock downstairs.

Most of all, the entire staff were quite magnificent. The manager Ms Anh is a star -- answering every request with quiet efficiency and a smile. Her staff are obviously well-trained: everyone from Housekeeping to the Front Office Assistants to the Bell Captain could liaise in operational English, and they bent over backwards to please. OK maybe the young cook could smile a little + look less grumpy. Otherwise we were made to feel incredibly welcome.

Other reviews had mentioned Ms Anh in glowing terms. We now realise that the entire team is what makes this little hotel one of the best deals in Hanoi.

We were a bit concerned about the train -- other travellers had mentioned the horn. But it was not a problem at all. Perhaps we were too tired?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    85
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
38
124
58
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I was introduced to the Rising Dragon III by a business colleague who is staying there long term. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they collected me from the airport, saving that hassle and delivered me to the door. The rooms were fantastic, more like a mini suite and it was very comfortable. The price was also very good and so my company have adopted ths hotel for our stays in Hanoi. Heard good reports from others. Would striongly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

A friend and I stayed at the Rising Dragon III for the last 3 nights of our trip to Vietnam. The hotel was recommended to us by a friend of my mate. The hotel is in a good location, and the rooms we booked were spacious and clean. We asked them to organise a day trip to Halong Bay, and this was done without a problem. Apart from the good location and rooms, the staff are fantastic. They went out of their way to be friendly and polite. Breakfast was good as well. Would definitely stay there again if in Hanoi.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

This is the first time that I leave a review on tripadvisor. I have to write because of the incident that happened to us.

We booked a deluxe twin after looking at the pictures on Booking.com and also contacted the hotel in advance to make sure if the room is exactly like the picture (We wanted to make sure if the bedroom has enough room for two twin beds). They said yes, so we decided to book a deluxe room (More expensive with bigger bedroom area) instead of superior room (Cheaper with a tiny bed room). Both rooms have a separate living room area according to the pictures.

After we arrived, we were taken to a superior room! To our surprise, they put an extra bed in the living room (The mattress was directly put on the floor without a bed frame!!!) We immediately told the bell boy that that was not the room that we booked. He didn't really speak English but after a while he seemed to have understood and told us that he would bring someone to discuss. We waited and waited with no person coming.

We went downstairs and told the person at the reception about the issue. She just kept saying the room was a deluxe room. We had to show her the room pictures that they put their own website. The picture for their superior room exactly looked like the room that they gave us. It was obvious that she was wrong.
After some arguments, she finally contacted the manager. She said a deluxe room is not available since it was all booked but instead she could give us a suite room in Rising Dragon Grand hotel. Since we have already lost our precious time, we just accepted the offer.

The second room that was given to us was NOT a suite at all. It was a medium-sized room with a queen sized bed and a twin bed with no other space left. There was no separate living room. We felt disappointed but decided to live with the situation since we had only two nights in Hanoi.

I contacted Booking.com letting them know what we experienced. Booking.com contacted the hotel and forwarded the hotel's response. It was more or less the same reaction that we got at the hotel. He even said that he couldn't understand why we are still complaining although he gave us a suite (This is not true. We did NOT get a suite. We just got a standard room).

I have to say that their management is pretty shady telling us and Booking.com multiple lies.

I think some people who have booked a deluxe double room may not have even noticed that they might have been given a superior room instead of deluxe if they didn't need two twin bed because superior room itself does look nice except for the smaller size. I have a feeling that the hotel management is taking advantage of this confusing situation: They let people book a more expensive deluxe room and actually give you a superior room (Cheaper room).

I just want to worn other travelers that this hotel is really shady. Be aware!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

By prior arrangement picked up late at night at airport by Rising Dragon 3 hotel transport to be told that the hotel was experiencing water problems and could not accommodate us. Taken to the hotel and provided with a drink while hotel made arrangements for us to stay at the Rising Dragon 2 Hotel. Taken at no cost to Rising Dragon 2 Hotel and although late at night staff and previously closed restaurant was opened to serve us some very welcome beers. A pleasant hotel with friendly staff, well located. Staff of Rising Dragon 3 contacted us in the morning to see how we had fared overnight and indicated that as water problem had been fixed we could come to hotel. Elected to remain at Rising Dragon 2 rather than check-in at another hotel. Both hotels offer excellent value for money and we would stay at either hotel again.

Room Tip: Book in advance as hotels are popular. But be aware that some rooms do not have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed in one of the suite rooms for several days with our 20-month-old son. This is one of the few great room options for families in Hanoi. There are budget rooms but also a number of suites with balconies, kitchenettes, sitting areas and a separate bedroom. If you are traveling with kids and need a little extra room, this is a great option. It's a bit of a walk to the lake, but not more than 15 minutes. It's also a quiet area at night (relative to other streets). The train passes in the morning but did not bother us much. If you are willing to trade location (just a bit further from the lake, on the edge of the Old Quarter) for space, this is a great option. Plus, the staff and management are absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: Spring for a suite and request one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I recently came back from Hanoi, where I had the most amazing experience in The Rising Dragon 3 Hotel. It felt like a second home to myself, and the two others that I was travelling with, who had never been to Vietnam before.

A staff member at the hotel, called Huy, took care of us at every step of the way, and made us feel like we were part of a 'Rising Dragon family'. His hospitality was second to none, and if it hadn't been for him, our trip would have been far less enjoyable.

To anyone who visits Hanoi, I would suggest that you definately stay that the Rising Dragon 3, If only to visit Huy, and make a friend for life.

10 out of 10.

Room Tip: A room facing the street has remarkable views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rising Dragon Estate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Estate Hotel

Address: 17 Nguyen Van To St. | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Queen Ann Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 469 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rising Dragon Estate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising Dragon Estate Hotel is Located in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter . Rising Dragon Estate Hotel is really a good choice for foreign tourists and business travelers. Next to Hang Da market, one of the most famous markets in Hanoi, it’s very easy to get some tourism destinations as Hoan Kiem Lake, Night market, the biggest church of Hanoi and many exciting activities as walking around the Old Quarter to feel the lifestyle and culture of Vietnamese. Around Rising Dragon Estate Hotel you will discover a variety of shops, restaurants, bars and cinemas. The area is also the centre of the capital’s cultural life with a host of displays, exhibitions, shows and musical events happening at any one time. Because of its ideal location – in the middle of where everything of importance happens – it is eminently suitable for all categories of visitors, be it businessmen, tourists or families with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Rising Dragon Estate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Dragon Estate Hotel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rising Dragon Estate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.