We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rain in room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Eclipse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hanoi Eclipse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hanoi Eclipse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Hang Quat | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 490 hotels in Hanoi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rain in room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The room is big and clean, location is good, but drops of water fall from the ceiling. It rains in bathroom and near the entrance door, we have found a lot of water on the floor when we come back for sleeping.
We have informed the receptionist of the problem and he has simply smiled. We think that this hotel is overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    46
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
40
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place was great for the price we paid! We had a room at the back (highly recommended for a good nights sleep). The rooms were clean and neat and comfortable. The location is perfect, we walked almost everywhere. The staff were also very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are a decent size, bathrooms clean and the showers are wonderfully hot. The staff go out of their way to assist you with whatever you want. I would definitely stay here again. Good location in the old quarter.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The owner would do her best to make your stay comfortable, and for a change speaks good English making your life very easy. She also helped us book a decent overnight trip to Ha Long, which research suggests was rather easy on our pockets too. The rooms, although awkwardly laid out, are spacious, clean and reasonably appointed. It's greatest benefit is its location. A stone's throw away from Hoan Kiem Lake and all the action in Old Quarter. The streets around it buzz with life till about midnight and a weekend market on a close-by street sparkles with wares of the world. Stop at many roadside eateries serving Bun Cha with Bia Hoi or step into one of the many upscale restaurants. A short walk away is an array of luxury brands from around the world. All in all, a great place to be in Hanoi.

Room Tip: Avoid the family rooms. Rather awkwardly laid out and give you a dorm like feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vercelli, Italy
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is located in the old quarters of Hanoi, a few steps from the lake Hoàn Kiếm. Like all the houses in Hanoi, the hotel has a very narrow facade and the building is very long. Consequently, also the rooms reflect this geometry. Before arriving we booked a double room with twin beds, but when we arrived we communicate disappointed that for the first night only have a one bedroom with double bed. The first room is really narrow and long, the desk and the cabinet are positioned behind the bed and space to get passes just one person. The bathroom however is very spacious with a separate shower with a glass. Everything looks new. Hair dryer included. The second day we change the room and the situation improves ... The room is much bigger, there is more space to move, while the bathroom is very spacious and always confirms again. The equipment room is complete with air conditioning, minibar and satellite TV. Breakfast is served on the ground floor and the room where it is provided is perhaps a bit 'too small in relation to the guests present ... The staff was very helpful and friendly, both in organizing excursions, both in talk during the various moments that we were in the hall... And the last day of the year have also organized a small party for guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We arrived here from a long flight and were delighted with this booking based on other reviews on trip advisor. The location is fabulous for shops, good restaurants and sightseeing. We were a party of 8 and all rooms and bed configurations were exactly as requested. Comfortable, not too noisy and very clean. The staff were fabulous, breakfast lovely and when my bag was left behind , I was very reassured it was in good hands and safely retrieved 2 days later. Thank you for making our introduction to Vietnam so very welcoming.

Room Tip: Always helpful to go for rooms higher up as Vietnam is a noisy place but this was a wonderful find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stay here for 6 nights after a 12 days motorcycle trip in Northern Vietnam.
If you want to rent motorcycle bikes go to "Flamingo Travel " it right in Hanoi old district, they are the best in Hanoi.(walking distance from Hanoi Eclipse.
Hanoi Eclipse is a great hotel in excellence location, very close to the lake.
The rooms is very clean (they clean them every day). We booked ours through Agoda and paid
$18 per room per night. The bathrooms are very modern and the bed is very comfortable.
The room price came with breakfast, it consist Western or Asian choices.
the hotel located on a less busy street so even the room facing the street is not noisy.
The staffs are super attentive and very helpful in helping us for our travel needs.
I highly recommend this hotel!


Luke

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the room with the elevator. All buildings in Hanoi is super narrow, so some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hanoi Eclipse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Eclipse Hotel

Address: 24 Hang Quat | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 490 hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Eclipse Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hanoi Eclipse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Eclipse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.