We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Eclipse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Eclipse Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Eclipse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Hang Quat | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good location and customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Get a deluxe hotel in this hotel which will be at the front of the hotel and will have a balcony. Views are not great but interesting. Rooms nicely appointed with good AC. All very clean with good sized bathrooms. Newly refurbished. Breakfast very good, eggs and ham, fruit, baguettes with butter and jam, coffee, but only 'tll 9am which was the same as everywhere in Vietnam. Located in the old quarter in the midst of tiny streets with shops crammed full of everything. 5 minutes walk to water Puppet Theatre and beautiful lake, shops bars restaurants etc.Hotel helpful with trips, best restaurants etc. They gave us a free transfer to the airport because one deluxe room wasnt available when we checked in; very kind and more than compensated. Got the deluxe room the next day. The superior rooms are also nice but don't have outside windows. Staff very chatty and most helpful in every aspect, would recommend. Don't think Hanoi is good for children, best for couples, groups. Roads manic with mopeds and scooters-there is an art to crossing which you get used to. Try a Green bus at 250 dong for the whole car (dont let them charge you more- they'll try). Cyclos are also good to see the city but beware because at the end they ask you for extra money 'for a drink'. A taxi gave us fake notes change and a restuarant short changed us, until we pointed it out. Scams leave a nasty taste in the mouth, so be on your guard. Some taxi meters are also speeded up so agree price before getting in.Great designer shops in Hanoi in the "french' area. Tandoor is good Indian restaurant. Try The highlander Coffee or the Leger Bar for great Views of the city and trafficsystem' also Illy coffee has good views.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    52
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
43
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Our group stayed here 3 times during our 4-weeks visit of North-Vietnam; the hotel is the perfect spot to start discovering Hanoi and its surroundings.
Continental breakfast is rather basic - the oriental options are better option (pho or noodles).
Modern rooms, large new bathrooms with walk-in showers; great airco and nice furnishing. Free internet in the lobby.
The restaurant next door Green Mango serves delicious food in a luxurious setting; other restaurants and shops in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nara, Japan
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We have stayed in the hotel a couple of days ago. The hotel is ideally located in walking distance from all attractions. The staff was very very friendly, helped us with everything. We have booked with them trips to Sa Pa, Bac Ha and Halong. The prices they offered were very reasonable and we got what they said we will get. The staff advised us also in our further journeys to other parts of Vietnam. We highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Lovely hotel, rooms are spacious and so clean, the staff are fantastic - We did a few some tours through hotel which was excellent. The woman at the reception area is very friendly and spoke English perfectly. Overall, it is very good value for money; I would definitely recommend. Thanks for your hospitality and your wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogues Point
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Although we enjoyed our stay, we think that the general cleanliness of the hotel was below standard. The sheets on the bed were dirty and obviously not changed between guests, We stayed and then left and returned to the same room several days later and the same sheets were still on the bed, we know this becouse we noted that they were dirty on our arrival the first time. Verry obvious stains left by the previous guest having sex in the bed. We reported this on our next returne and they were then changed. The walls on the building need a coat of paint to freshen the place up, We appreciate that the noise from the noboures was beyong your controll, and feel that extra service should have been offered to help compensate, ie not charging for warter or a few drinks. We will be visitimg Hanhoi again most probably next year about the same time, and if we stay at rhe Eckips hotel we would like to see somr improvments, The reason we stayed anmd continued to stay at the hotel was becuse of Thai Son who is a verry nice man and tried to help out were possible he is a great asset to the hotel. Staff were friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Although it's hard to get an affordable room with a window anywhere in Hanoi's Old Quarter, we found Hanoi Eclipse did a great job of making a windowless room pleasant. The family-run boutique hotel had some of the friendliest staff we've encountered in a year of travel. The beds are a little too firm, but the bathroom was fantastic. Rooms are spacious and the morning breakfast is very nice. We rely on WiFi for our work - and it was free and excellent. Most importantly, because it's a relatively new hotel, their introductory pricing made Hanoi Eclipse a great value as they gave as much or more than others in their class for less. We enjoyed our 12 night stay with them.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the few rooms with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Found this hotel a pleasant place to stay. The staff was excellent but sorry to say both Hong and Mrs. Dung are no longer there and they are the ones that made our stay so wonderful. The rooms were spacious but wish they had a carpet cleaner because the carpets were dirty and stained. Breakfast was average for a three star place. Great location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhanoieclipse-hotel, Manager at Hanoi Eclipse Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear valued guests,

Thank you so much for taking time to post a comment regarding your stay at Hanoi Eclipse Hotel, we are glad to read that you like our room, our service and our staff,
As the comment mentioned about the carpet in the room, I would like to inform you that we already replaced it by wooden floor to make the room nicer,
For breakfast we also put more dishes to have more choices for customers,
It's really our pleasure to welcome you back at our hotel,

Sincerely,
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Eclipse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Eclipse Hotel

Address: 24 Hang Quat | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Eclipse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hanoi Eclipse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Eclipse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.