We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality and value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Legacy Hotel Hoan Kiem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Legacy Hotel Hoan Kiem to your Saves list
Hanoi Legacy Hotel Hoan Kiem
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   01 Ngo Gach | Hoan Kiem- Distrist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly An Hung Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good quality and value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I enjoyed my stay, and definitely plan to return here. An Hung is centrally located in the old town. Convenient to the Lake, lots of restaurants. It is clean, well maintained and the staff speak fluent english (and I believe French). The breakfast offers a nice selection of both western and asian food.

Room Tip: Sorry the rating system is not perfect. There is no pool, no fitness centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    108
    25
    4
    6
See reviews for
46
114
40
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I visited Hanoi last week on 28 Sept 2012 and stayed for 3 nights in this hotel with family. I had read about this hotel on tripadvisor.

The hotel is located in old town, which gives you a very local feeling. Within 10 mins walk you reach the lake and water puppet show. You will find small food joints were local food is sold at very cheap price.

The hotel staff was extremely helpful. We being strict vegetarian, they specially prepared the vegetarian breakfast though it was not a part of the menu.

We had booked the Halong Bay cruise through them and the cruise was very nice and they had specifically instructed the cruise manager to cook vegetarian food for us as all meals were included. Good vegetarian food was served though local.

The manager and the owner came up again and again to ensure that I am happy and enjoying the stay.

I saw large groups of tourist coming and going. Very Good option for backpackers.

It is a small hotel with excellent service by the staff. Since it is a budget hotel the rooms are a bit small.



  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

All staff were wonderful and friendly and provided excellent efficient service. The rooms looked new and were very clean and well presented. The location is great, only a 10 min walk down to the lake and right near the market. Close to restaurants etc. The breakfast was great. Overall a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 701 was AMAZING, very spacious with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

What impressed me most in Hanoi is not the scenery, shopping nor the food, it's An Hung Hotel and all the staff. They have displayed good service right from the beginning when I made my reservation - prompt replies and detailed information provided. During my 3D2N stay, all the staff in the hotel have provided their best service and are very helpful. An Hung Hotel, although a 3-star hotel, is clean and well equipped, hidden in a tranquil corner of Hanoi old quarters yet conveniently locate4d with walking distance to eateries, night market and wholesale market. I will highly recommend An Hung hotel to anyone going to Hanoi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I know vietnamese people are generally kind and super-hospitable, but the staff at this hotel are way above all that. i've travelled a lot and i've never felt as welcome as in this hotel. the staff there are friendly in a way that doesn't make you feel awkward and their service is prompt and impeccable. we've stayed for about 4-5 nights there (we've been in and out of hanoi for a week). For the last night they offered us a much more expensive room with a sauna shower, etc for the same price just because they wanted us to rest well before a 4.40 am airport transfer. before leaving they gave us a beautifully-wrapped small painting as a gift. as i went outside for a cigarette at midnight at some point, the guys downstairs asked me whether i wanted to watch tv with them if i couldn't sleep. even though you can order dinner at the hotel, they recommended us a great, clean restaurant to eat in the old quarter and it was one of the best food experiences ever for about 10 USD/person. they helped us organise our trips around vietnam making calls for us, etc. i can go on with such examples forever. their service deserves more than 5 stars. the hotel is superb as well. great location, very clean and tidy rooms, air-conditioned with western tv channels, excellent breakfast, etc. i know they don't have a pool and a jacuzzi, etc, but it's definitely worth ditching all that for "the an hung experience". Thanks guys, and hope to see you again soon. Marius and Cristina.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Though it was located in an indiscreet street, the moment you stepped in the hotel, you are warmly welcomed by everyone from the managers to the staff. The room is clean and breakfast selection is surprisingly decent for a 3-star hotel.
Convenient location to all places at the old quarter and weekend market is just 3 mins walk.
They can plan your other tour arrangements if required. Though not the cheapest but at least assured of decent quality itinerary and if any problems arise, the hotel staff will assist to resolve.
A relatively young team who serve with a heart. I hope they will continue with the zest and win over more customers and referrals.

Room Tip: Even the basic superior room is good and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Vietnam is another place I have greatly enjoy and great experience every moment. Amazingly, 3 star hotel with 5 star hotel service with warmly welcome by the staff and the manager unconditional to provide their best service and promptly reply during our 4 nite stay at An Hung Hotel Hanoi. Definitely, i will recommend friends to stay there and conveniently accessible to Old Quarter and those nice eatery place... Thanks Mr Thanh, Mr Dzung & Mr Bang. Keep it up!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Legacy Hotel Hoan Kiem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Legacy Hotel Hoan Kiem

Address: 01 Ngo Gach | Hoan Kiem- Distrist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly An Hung Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#45 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanoi Legacy Hotel Hoan Kiem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Old Quarter Hanoi, where is the heart of the city, Hanoi Legacy Hoan Kiem Hotel is unforgettable for people who have ever stayed in the hotel. Just few minutes walking from the hotel, visitors can visit the Sword Lake, Tortoise Tower, The Huc Bridge, and Ngoc Son Temple which are the most beautiful sightseeings of Hanoi. Visitors may have a walking to enjoy special traditional local food such as: Pho, banh cuon, bun cha…. Visitors are also convenient to go to banks, post office, and trade center of Hanoi where are only steps from hotel.Hanoi Legacy Hoan Kiem hotel is an international 3 stars standard, with 40 high quality rooms. The rooms are designed with original and luxury style, harmonious decoration. Tourists will feel very warm and comfortable when they are staying here. Equipped facilities, modern, including: air-conditioners , computers with high-speed Internet access (wifi), Satellite TV, TV LCD 32 ", tea and coffee making equipment, fridge, hot tubs Jacuzzi and standing shower, etc....Staffs in the hotel all have well-trained methodically, with professional and enthusiastic manner. When resting in Hanoi Legacy Hoan Kiem Hotel, guest will feel "A luxury space in the center of Old Quarter streets." The visitors will also have the satisfaction to work and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hanoi Legacy Hotel Hoan Kiem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a And Em Hotel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Legacy Hotel Hoan Kiem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.