We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, friendly & informative guide, average junk, worst lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Halong Phoenix Cruiser Day Tour

Halong Phoenix Cruiser Day Tour
81C Ly Nam De Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 84430, Vietnam
84 43 7474566
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the splendors of Halong Bay aboard the Halong Phoenix Cruiser, a wooden junk that combines classic beauty with modern comfort. Designed with Asian traditional junk, luxurious and elegant. From the moment you step on board, you will feel pampered. Our professional crew and experienced captains can take you to explore tranquil scenery in the safest conditions.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice view, friendly & informative guide, average junk, worst lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Booked the day tour directly through their website. It was very simple. No phone calls needed. We were picked up from our hotel on time. Our bus was nice and clean. I think the bus is quite new. Our tour guide, Thinh, was a friendly guy. He was very informative and helpful. We were in a small group. There were only 9 people in the group. Perfecto.
After around 3,5 hrs driving, we arrived at Halong Bay. The boat was old, but clean. When the boat started to move, lunch was served. It was really disappointing. They served seafood, pork, beef, and vegetables. Nice try but they really need to work on the food. Those food were the worst lunch I had during my trip in Vietnam.
The view was beautiful. Thien Cung cave was interesting. Riding a rowing boat around the floating village was also good experience. But I think Halong Bay will be more beautiful in the morning. Should go back there and take the morning cruise ;)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    38
    12
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable guide, interesting cruise but so-so food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked this tour through the website and it was hassle free. Our bus arrived on time and it was comfortable. However be ready for the bumpy long journey (3.5-4hours). Our tour guide Anh was knowledgeable and interactive. The boat was clean and looked exactly like the photos in the website. The toilet on the boat was clean too. We enjoyed the sea view, Thien Cung cave and the boat ride to the floating village. We wished there would be some canoeing activity though. The couple who sat opposite us didn't take much of the lunch. We guessed everyone was a little bit disappointed with the seafood lunch. Overall it was a nice journey and we hope more can be done to preserve Halong Bay.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southpacificvietnam, Manager at Halong Phoenix Cruiser Day Tour, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Hcfoo,

Thank you for spending time your time to share your review on TripAdvisor.
We always happy to hear what our guests have to say about us, we believe that this will help us to provide an excellent service to all our guests. Rest assured that all your feedback is well noted and had been raised up to the department concerned for proper training to be given. We hope that this will not hold you from coming back in the near future!

Thanks and Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Average Cruise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our tour guide, Anh was very knowledgeable about Vietnamese culture and Halong Bay.
Her service was outstanding, though the Phoenix Cruise one day Halong tour was just average.
I booked it online thru their website (NOT thru any travel agency) two days prior.
The booking process went smooth after just one call to the office. The driver came to pick me up almost on time at around 7:20am. We drove to the Phoenix Cruise office in Hanoi first to load not customers, but all kinds of soft drinks/water bottles...It took 30 minutes to finish all loading, then went to pick up 3 more couples at other hotels. After all, we left Hanoi for Halong Bay almost 1.5 hours later around 8:45am.
We boarded around 12:30pm and the cruising ended around 3:50pm including the cave visit (almost one hour) and the floating village visit (30 minute)....so the actual cruising duration was just two hours.
On board lunch was nothing special...not much seafood.
The vessel was clean and bathrooms were clean, also.
Obligatory 25 minutes rest/toilet stop on both ways at souvenir stores could be done in different ways.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southpacificvietnam, Manager at Halong Phoenix Cruiser Day Tour, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear FAHonolulu,

Thank you very much for spending your time in reviewing your recent day trip with us. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you had experienced during this time.
Rest assured that all your feedbacks are well noted and had been highlighted to the department concerned, for us, guests’ feedbacks are very important and we will definitely look at ways to improve the services to serve our guests even better in the future. We truly wish to welcome you back to experience the full service from Halong Phoenix. When your plans bring you back to Halong Bay, Please let us know, We would be more than happy to assist with the necessary arrangements.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful cruise in Ha Long Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I were in Hanoi for many days including a wonderful cruise of two days and one night in the Phoenix Luxury Ship, a beautiful cruise vessel of just ten cabins. Everything was perfect on board, the quality and cleanliness of the rooms and comfortable beds, the kind staff always attentive to our needs, the excellent meals, the amazing scenery of Ha Long Bay gliding by the windows. Unforgettable.

I would like to express to our guide Mr Hung for his professionalism and enthusiastic support and to Ms Hoa for her warm, proffessional and kind assistance all the time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southpacificvietnam, Manager at Halong Phoenix Cruiser Day Tour, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear M. Federico,

We highly appreciate your compliments on our facilities and services. There is nothing more wonderful than knowing you had a great vacation in our Halong Phoenix Luxury.

We are still improving our facilities and services; we believe that you will have a different experience on your next visit.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to see you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service, love the food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Thank you Halong Phoenix Cruise.
We had amazing time. We love the food, custumer service, the room so clean. Can't say more about this trip. Highly recommend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southpacificvietnam, Manager at Halong Phoenix Cruiser Day Tour, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Rose N,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our Halong Phoenix Cruiser.
We are happy to read that you love your vacation with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Halong Phoenix Cruiser Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halong Phoenix Cruiser Day Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.