We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant way to spend an afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HanoiKids Tour

HanoiKids Tour
Hoan Kiem Lake, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
+84 978 162 283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 456 Activities in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hanoikids is a volunteer tour guide club of young, friendly and ambitious students who love Hanoi and want to bring local breath to tourists from all over the world. More than all, we are desperate to become little ambassadors of Vietnam.
York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A brilliant way to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I cannot recommend this tour enough. Our young guide, Tiem (aka Skywalker) arrived promptly and enthusiastically at our hotel. He took us to the women's museum, eagerly explained the history of Vietnam (in perfect English) and then took me for the most excellent coffee. He was delightful, incredibly well informed and gave us a glimpse into real Vietnamese life. Thank you Skywalker! Best day in Hanoi for me!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    849
    38
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had two college tour guides who were very fluent in English. They asked what we wanted to do and helped us come up with an itinterary. They were fun, enthusiastic, and VERY knowledgable about Hanoi. They would not take a tip, so we took them out to dinner as a thank you... where they helped us order some delicious food. What an awesome progrem! Would highly reccommend!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was definitely one of the highlights of our time spent in Hanoi. Our guides were just lovely and we felt very comfortable with them. It was great to learn about normal everyday life in Hanoi, rather just what most tourists learn. We had our 2 daughters with us (9 and 11 years), who also enjoyed the tour.

Book well ahead, as they do book out quickly. We wanted a full day, but had to settle for just a half day as we were there at exam time and the girls had to study in the morning.

Highly recommended!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An absolute must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

What a wonderful introduction to Hanoi and Vietnamese culture! We spent a morning touring the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum and the Hoa Lo Prison, and we can't begin to imagine what the experience would have been like without the friendly and extremely informative guidance of our Hanoi Kids, Racoon and Tom. They also recommended and took us to a local Hanoian restaurant where we were able to sample some local delicacies in a hidden-away restaurant that we would never have found by ourselves. This was really the highlight of our trip, and we cannot recommend this service highly enough to anyone looking to get the most out of their time in Hanoi.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

By signing up for a tour, you get a chance to talk to and learn from smart, local University students. I'm shocked that these students volunteer to spend time helping tourists learn about their country, without expecting anything in return. Chau and Ha we're great guides and so friendly. This tour is a great option!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HanoiKids Tour also viewed

 

Been to HanoiKids Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HanoiKids Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.