We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HanoiKids Tour

HanoiKids Tour
Hoan Kiem Lake, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
+84 978 162 283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 381 activities in Hanoi
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Hanoikids is a volunteer tour guide club of young, friendly and ambitious students who love Hanoi and want to bring local breath to tourists from all over the world. More than all, we are desperate to become little ambassadors of Vietnam.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

On our second day in Hanoi we met with Mai from the Hanoi Kids who took us shopping on the night market. She was like a jewel, really sweet and helpful and her English was really good. She tried to teach us some Vietnamese, took us to a nice street vendor to eat and showed us her Hanoi, but also told us so much about her life in Vietnam, that we would have never known from our guide book only. I can only recommend taking a tour.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    35
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Augusta, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best day for us in Hanoi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Today my wife and I and our two teenage grand daughters had a fantastic day in the company of Zip and Ngoc. We walked around the more well known areas of the city and ate at a fabulous restaurant. Both girls were very knowlegable and could talk about any subject about their city and country. Talked about their home life, university, family and the history of the areas we were in. Our two grand daughters loved talking with the girls who were a little bit older. Overall a beautiful time to spend a day.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Recommendable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

the university students are enthusiastic despite having done this many times and from classes! they are able to inform us information which we might have missed especially in a museum where it can get boring.

they warm up to us quite fast and are very accomodating. before long we were already chatting like frens laughing along to the jokes. brought us to a nice egg coffee place. something unique.

you pay for their transportation, meals. but do bring them a souvenir or something. which reflects your country or something practical. it's the least you can do. not too sure about tipping them though.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful introduction to Hanoi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We had a great day, Nov. 14th. with our 2 Hanoi kids: Phuoc and Tra. We were so happy to see them at 9am....Phuoc was very experienced and had been on at least 10 prior tours. This was Tra's first tour- but she had obviously done her homework-they were both very knowledgeable. Unfortunately, we picked Monday when a lot of museums etc. are closed, but Phuoc had many suggestions. Both kids had a good command of English and were very enthusiastic.
We started out with a tour of Hoan Kiem Lake, then headed to the Old Quarter- we were relieved to have Phuoc and Tra help us learn how to navigate the chaos of Hanoi traffic! We had an excellent lunch at Highway 24 and then off to West Lake and then to the prison. All in all it was a wonderful introduction to Hanoi. We gave them each a book and a pin and would highly recommend Hanoi kids!
Thanks again Phuoc and Tra!
Susan and Doug

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic, friendly and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We booked 2 x 1/2 day tours with Hanoi Kids after reading other reviews in Trip Advisor. We chose to do a 1/2 day tour a couple of hours after our arrival in Hanoi and then another on the morning of our first full day in Hanoi. We booked our tour from Australia via email and promptly received a response. Travelling with 2 boys (9 yrs & 7 yrs) we felt the war museums etc would be too confronting for them so the suggestions we received from Hanoi Kids were really helpful. We wanted to take our boys to an orphanage (as a teaching experience) and the advise of where would be suitable we left up to Hanoi Kids. We ended up going to Bo De Pagoda and took school writing books for all the school kids (although they were in class and we didn't see them). The english of the staff at the orphanage wasn't great but this is where our guides were fantastic. We also visited the Temple of Literature, Ho Chi Minh complex, Old Quarter, Hanoi Hilton prison (actual name escapes me), One Pillar Pagoda and more. Our guides Nhung and Trang were delightful and adored our boys! We would highly recommend Hanoi Kids to anyone. Would be great if this sort of tour was all over Vietnam.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HanoiKids Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HanoiKids Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added HanoiKids Tour to your Saves list