We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service - the staff went the extra mile.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Charm Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Charm Hotel to your Saves list
Hidden Charm Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Au Trieu St | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #400 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service - the staff went the extra mile.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a great little place - a real little Hidden Charm if you'll excuse the pun!

We arrived at 5am from the return train from Sapa and the shutters were down so I was a little apprehensive. After finding and ringing a door bell, I was greeted by a very friendly staff member who was able to check our group of 8 into a vacant room. They provided towels so we could freshen up and prepare for our trip to Halong Bay.

The included breakfast was really good and just what we needed after the 9 hour train ride - all included in the price. The chef was cooking for something like 11 people and she did great!

The staff also provided some bottled water for the long bus ride to Halong. (see review: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g293924-d541805-Reviews-Kim_Tours-Hanoi.html)

On our return, one family was given their own room but ours had been cleaned, beds made, tea and coffee topped up. Superb.

I really wish we could have spent longer at the hotel but we had to return home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    47
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
55
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My second stay there and was very pleased with their service.
Right from airport to the hotel and their tours arrangements were very efficient.
Hotel is conveniently located within the old quarters.
Walking to Hoa Kiem Lake is about 20mins.
Excellent restaurants nearby within 2 km.
Hotels serves decent breakfast.
Rooms are spacious and clean but a little bit run down .
Value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing opposite side of road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

due to the special design of vietnam building tend to narrow but long, i thought the hotel room wont let me feel any excited to stay, but i was wrong. i check in a king size bed with jacuzzi room,and it's spacious. Laptop with wifi is provided in the room.

good location which we can find the famous food stall/restaurant(pho 10, bun bo nam nam bo...) within few minutes walking distance, and st.joseph cathedral is just located at the end corner of the same street.

The staffs are friendly, they are very happy to introduce places to us for visit. They also help us to carry our luggage from i get down from car until to the room.very worth to stay

The bathroom is clean but some minor thing is old and have to fix it to be perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at Hidden Charm Hotel in Hanoi in March 2013 after booking a room there online for $15 because its proximity to the Vietnam Airlines shuttle from Hanoi old town to the airport.
The hotel is very close to St. Joseph Cathedral and just a few minutes walk from the lake, therefore very central, but on a quiet alley so you can sleep well.
I arrived late (close to 10:00PM) but had no problems getting a room upstairs (room 502), as I asked. The hotel has a working elevator, not many hotels in this price range can boast one.
My room was lovely, well appointed and clean, with LDC TV, A/C and even a laptop (see my attached pics).
The breakfast was plentiful (I had fried eggs AND a pancake): one orders from a generous menu, and apparently may order several items.
I would have given Hidden Charm Hotel five stars if it wasn't for the fact that the toilet didn't flush properly (I attach a pic of the broken toilet) and the shower didn't drain (attached pic of the shower water not draining). Even after notifying both the receptionist and the manager of the hotel, the toilet still wasn't fixed.
If I stayed there again, and wasn't totally exhausted as I was last time, I would ask for another room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hidden Charm exceeded my expectations by offering service beyond a typical accommodation provider.

1. We booked our Halong Bay and Sapa trips with Ms Lee, whose descriptions and advice turned out accurate and suited to our needs. There were no hiccups during transportation transfers from place to place although many different parties are involved. They ran through of our itinerary with clarity and were able to clarity any doubts. Our itinerary was stored in the reception so different staff members could advise us whenever we needed it.

2. We safely stored our luggage while we went to Halong Bay and Hanoi, offered us a shower at their common bathroom while we waited for our train, and they took the extra mile to make sure our concerns are dealt with.

3. Rooms are spacious enough and is very comfortable for its price. Equipped with satellite TV channels and free wifi and a laptop. Clean room, bed, and bathroom.

4. Location is good and quiet. Located just far enough from the noisy streets. Walking distance to main attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Indochina-Aquarius. The staff here were always friendly going beyond to make my stay pleasurable. The rooms could do with an upgrade with mould in the bathrooms. Rooms were relatively clean and comfortable. The hotel was in a great location in walking distance to the lake. Once again the staff were excellent

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spent 5 days with the Hidden Charm group as part of a package trip to Hanoi. The staff are first class, catering to every need. Excellent food recommendations, tour planning, and even had one of the staff take my wife shopping at the night market. Couldn't ask for more! Hotel is clean and efficient and is undergoing renovations to the lobby to spice it up a bit. Only minor negative is that there were a few simple fixes in the room that would have moved my rating to the top. Shower door with broken handle, broken handle on toilet flush (which they fixed after I pointed out). Little things that with just a bit more scrutiny would make the experience that much better. All in all, a very good experience in Hanoi.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Charm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Charm Hotel

Address: 23 Au Trieu St | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #400 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Charm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden charm hotel is a brand new hotel, located in the central of Old Quarter. The hotel is designed in harmony, is the combination of classic and modern style. It’s peaceful and quite, a retreat from the city bus, providing the idea place to muse over your day. The modern rooms are all equipped with air cooling and flat screen TV, bath room with massage, sauna. Guests will appreciate the popular broadband package offer and the 24-hour front desk. The Hidden Charm hotel offers the best quality room for both of Traveler and businessman. It is great for the couple on honeymoon, solo traveler, and specially for businessman who stay for a long term, need translator, accountant service, business center, rent a car, or guide. The Hidden Charm hotel is really convenient for visiting all famous places in Hanoi such as: Hoan Kiem lake, water puppet theater, opera house, Hochiminh mausoleum, and also to ATM, Banks, Restaurant… just by short walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hidden Charm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Charm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.