We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Charm Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Charm Hotel to your Saves list
Hidden Charm Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Au Trieu St | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #401 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing service, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for, and for $45 a night you really can't complain!!! Including breakfast, free wifi and excellent customer service. The room looked like it was in a palace with gorgeous detailing on the ceiling. Beds were comfy and room was very clean. Shower is huge and has an awesome shower head on it! The staff work extremely long hours and get paid very little ($200ish a month) yet they are so friendly and helpful. The location is on a quiet street close to the lake and cathedral. There are massages places close by and a great western bakery called Jo Mos or something like that. Cannot rate highly enough!! Thank you for a wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    47
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
55
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

As we had booked a tour through Hidden Charm Travel this was our allocated hotel. We were met with smiles and lots of assistance and information on the planned schedule, and recommendations for where to eat... Off to the room, on the 5th Floor via the lift, all is very compact to say the least. The room was facing the street, clean, welcoming with a bottle of Vietnamese red wine. The bathroom was a squeeze to say the least not much room for a ladies bits and pieces and the shower unit required some gymnastics to get into and out, and you could have had a disco in it if you wanted. Anyway, we had booked to go to Sapa so were checked out for 3 nights and told on our return very early in the morning we would have a room to shower, rest and collect our heavy suitcases. Thats when things went from bad to worse, after having to get a cab at the train station ( after being told we would have a driver collect us) we arrived back at the hotel, half asleep (5am) paying the impatient cabbie, buzzing the door to the hotel to get someone to let us in.. we discovered we left our camera in the cab... &#$@.. panic set in, trying to get the hotel staff to assist, forget it.Basically told can't do anything.. finally asked for our room as arranged, to be told they were fully booked, and that we could wait in the foyer, and use the restroom off the restaurant ( that had a hand held shower head). Not Happy... were escorted to the restaurant given two towels, had to ask for our suitcases to sort out clean clothes, unpack backpacks etc .. so we sorted out stuff out in the restaurant floor, showed in the "room" and proceeded to rest our weary heads on the dining tables until we were told someone is checking out so we could rest in a room upstairs. How kind. Loved the Old Quarter of Hanoi, will visit again but will certainly arrange our own accommodation and tours.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location adjacent to the cathedral in the old quarter. Such a charming hotel with probably the best customer service I have experienced. The staff go over and beyond the required expectations. Having come from a 5 star hotel in sgn where the customer service was good, the service at hidden charm far exceeded this. Very helpful with tours, taxis, restaurant recommendations etc Little touches such as a bottle of wine on Xmas day, French pastries after a days touring and a parting gift were very touching. The staff are so warm and friendly. I could not recommend more highly! Enjoy :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Terrible experience, very old and run down hotel, if you ae looking for a cheap 2 star hotel then it will be fine but if you are looking for quality (which is what we expected as it was sold to us by Hidden Charm Travel Agents), this is not the hotel for you?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Have been staying here as part of a package deal and the friendliness and service of the staff is second to none! The rooms are lovely and the Hotel is excellent value for money. Attention to service, such as a tray of French pastries after a day's touring and a complimentary bottle of wine for Christmas makes this a charming find! Much nicer than a recent stay at a 5 star hotel I'm Ho Chi Minh!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you plan to stay in the Old Quarters of Hanoi, all the hotels are more or less the same? What makes Hidden Charm your pick is its friendly customer service.

Your first impression of the hotel once you stepped into their lobby would be how tight is this. But when you check into your room, you will be so amazed how huge the room is with extra large king size bed. The rooms are well furnished, air-conditioned and there's free excess of wi-fi (laptop provided in each room). The bathroom is just great, you can take a shower in a seated position and let the water do the spraying from all angles.

What made me felt really like home was the hotel personnel. They treat us like family, spend time to talk to us, show us the route to shop around but do not get lost. They will pass us mineral water every morning before we leave for tour to keep us hydrated.

My brother went out for late night drinks and my mum was worried that he might not know the way back since the streets are all looked a like, the night shift personnel was kind enough to go look for him on bike.

Not to mentioned they made the best breakfast, every morning I look forward to taste their sandwich and grilled bacon (wide variety of Western and Vietnamese breakfast to pick from, eat- all- you- can) . They also presented us a goodbye gift which is very sweet of them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hidden Charm Hotel which was amazing and more importantly, the staff were exceptional! Decorated beautifully with a contemporary boutique feel, it is on the best street in Hanoi. The hotel is located near a massive church which sits on an intersection which,on one street is filled with restaurants of every cuisine imaginable, and, on the other, shopping galore. Excellent location! I stayed for three weeks during which time I got to know the staff quite well. I would list their names if I could remember them all (I don't want to be seen as favouring people)! Unfortunately, I ended up with a sinus infection during my stay, however, the hotel service didn't end there. A saff member translated my condition into Vietnamese and came with me to a pharmacy to get medication. Another staff member went out of is way to source local Vietnamese food for my friends and me try, which we would not have experienced otherwise. I could not say enough good things about this hotel. Worth every penny and more!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Charm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Charm Hotel

Address: 23 Au Trieu St | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #401 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Charm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden charm hotel is a brand new hotel, located in the central of Old Quarter. The hotel is designed in harmony, is the combination of classic and modern style. It’s peaceful and quite, a retreat from the city bus, providing the idea place to muse over your day. The modern rooms are all equipped with air cooling and flat screen TV, bath room with massage, sauna. Guests will appreciate the popular broadband package offer and the 24-hour front desk. The Hidden Charm hotel offers the best quality room for both of Traveler and businessman. It is great for the couple on honeymoon, solo traveler, and specially for businessman who stay for a long term, need translator, accountant service, business center, rent a car, or guide. The Hidden Charm hotel is really convenient for visiting all famous places in Hanoi such as: Hoan Kiem lake, water puppet theater, opera house, Hochiminh mausoleum, and also to ATM, Banks, Restaurant… just by short walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hidden Charm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Charm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.