We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and excellent location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Charm Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Charm Hotel to your Saves list
Hidden Charm Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Au Trieu St | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #401 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service and excellent location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Great service and excellent location. Stayed from 11 to 15 nov and took the Halong Bay cruise with the hotel - Glory cruise. Was slightly cheaper than other passengers as I have checked. One thought though remember to buy the stuff you like as may not be able to go back same location.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    47
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
55
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mermaid Waters, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a package tour deal and did not know initially what our accommodation was going to be like. On arrival to the hotel at 10am after transfer from airport (40mins), my first impression was how small is this place. Our reception was very welcoming and they even offered us complimentary breakfast while they prepared our room, due to our early arrival. The room was large and quite grand in decor. It was also airconditioned and quiet. The staff were always helpful and attentive and the location of the hotel was very central. We would stay there again and have already recommended it to friends that are going to Hanoi soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hi. This was our first visit to Hanoi. When we arrived at Hidden Charm we were a little disappointed. Although the staff were very friendly the reception area was very small and dated. However when we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised. The room was enormous and so was the bed (although hard as expected). The airconditioning worked well and everything was clean and tidy. Bathroom could have done with some work but we were very happy with this hotel.
Breakfast was lovely and the staff couldn't be more helpful.
Excellent value!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

During my entire trip, everything was always very well organised and planned out for me from the moment I landed off my first flight to my last flight to return home. The tours that were organised for me were all very interesting and showed me different aspects of Vietnam. Also, they all included reasonable meals and the tour guides on each occasion was great.

The hotels I stayed at were all very well presented and offered great accommodation and service from the staff. Clean, well equipped and close to the central city area.

Room Tip: Specify the type of room you would like in your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The best service i had during my trip to Vietnam from start to finish.
A pre arranged taxi greated me at Hanoi airport and took me straight to the hotel and the taxi fare was added to the hotel bill at the end of my stay which was a lot cheaper than getting an airport taxi.
The hotel staff greated me warmly and took my luggage inside for me, The check in was fast and easy and the reception staff gave me a very helpful map of the local area.
The room was very big, Well furnished and spotlessly clean with a safety deposit box, Fridge, Laptop computer and large plasma TV, The bathroom was well lit with a nice shower unit.
For breakfast you could choose to have something cooked from the menu or just take food from the buffet ( or have both ) with fruit juice, Tea, Coffee and fresh fruits.
I arranged my trips to Sapa, Halong bay, Hue and Hoi An through the reception staff and all the trips went to plan.
Hidden charm hotel is located within easy walking distance of the main attractions like the Hoan Kiem lake ( 5 - 10 minutes ) and some of the busy shopping streets with some great street cafes, Coffee shops and restaurants also nearby.
The reception staff are so friendly and always on hand to help you find your way around this amazing and busy city, In general the hotel provides a very high level of customer service not found in some of the larger hotels in the area.
The hotel is great value for money and i would be more than happy to stay at this hotel again in the future and would recommend it to anyone who plans to visit Hanoi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very good breakfast - a menu to order a cooked dish of your choice from as well as a buffet with fresh fruit, breads, juice & coffee. Reception organized all our day trips as well as trips to Halong Bay and SAPA. We also appreciated the special attention they gave to us by providing a bed and shower for a couple of hours in the early morning when we arrived back from SAPA on the overnight train. The reception staff are all very very friendly. We felt welcome every time we walked in the door. Loved (and miss) our time staying at Hidden Charm Hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 3rd floor or above. The 2nd floor can be a bit noisy with reception just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I bought a deal with a friend from within Australia and everything on our tour was organised by Hidden Charm Travel to absolute perfection. From the start to finish everything went well and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. All the staff at Hidden Charm Hotel were friendly and welcoming and always went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The hotel is not big, but rooms are quiet, spacious and clean.
The hotel is a short walk to the lake (less than 10 minutes) where most of the hustle & bustle is. I was very happy with the service provided by Hidden Charm and would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Charm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Charm Hotel

Address: 23 Au Trieu St | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #401 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Charm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden charm hotel is a brand new hotel, located in the central of Old Quarter. The hotel is designed in harmony, is the combination of classic and modern style. It’s peaceful and quite, a retreat from the city bus, providing the idea place to muse over your day. The modern rooms are all equipped with air cooling and flat screen TV, bath room with massage, sauna. Guests will appreciate the popular broadband package offer and the 24-hour front desk. The Hidden Charm hotel offers the best quality room for both of Traveler and businessman. It is great for the couple on honeymoon, solo traveler, and specially for businessman who stay for a long term, need translator, accountant service, business center, rent a car, or guide. The Hidden Charm hotel is really convenient for visiting all famous places in Hanoi such as: Hoan Kiem lake, water puppet theater, opera house, Hochiminh mausoleum, and also to ATM, Banks, Restaurant… just by short walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hidden Charm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Charm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.