We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you are looking for a little bit more gourmet than the standard Hanoi street food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madame Hien

Madame Hien
15 Chan Cam | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
+84 4 3938 1588
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 1,024 Restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cuisine Vietnamienne, Vietnamese, 36 streets, old quarter, bun cha, pho bo, bun bo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great if you are looking for a little bit more gourmet than the standard Hanoi street food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The food here was delicious and the atmosphere was great. We order the duck three ways (so amazing) and the braised pork and they were both really different to anything else you will find in your standard Vietnamese restaurant. We had a fantastic dinner and the prices are higher than other places but that is because it is set in a restored french house and the menu has been written with input from Didier Corlou. Overall for US$35 for three mains, a cocktail, water amd a large beer I think it was amazing value for money.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    290
    122
    54
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

...considering the slamming this place has taken in other reviews, we were very happily surprised - we had little choice as we arrived into Hanoi late and the hotel suggested we try Madame Hien. The staff seated us quickly and got us drinks; our order was taken and delivered quickly, and the food was fresh, flavoursome and light - just what we were after. Overall a good first experience of Hanoi - thanks!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not good enough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Have to agree with those who say this is a disappointing experience. I was recommended it by people I trust, which suggests to me that it has gone downhill. The food was generally okay, but a bit bland and overcooked. Overall the food is probably worth 3 blobs, but I'm deducting another one due to the indifferent service and the general level of disappointment.

You can see where it's all coming from, and it is a nice place to sit (even if you have to wait a long time for the wrong food and drink to arrive), but you get the feeling that it needs Didier Corlu to come back in and put a rocket up the staff who are currently running the place. Seriously don't get the 'Bun Cha' here. It's awful, really taste-free, particularly compared to the amazing stuff you can get for a tenth of the price at some of the cheap cafes round the corner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
“Fun night out in Hanoi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Experienced a dinner here one night, and we were seated outside on their front (rather dark) patio. The charming French colonial villa housed a few more dining rooms buzzing with many guests.

The place was packed, so, service took a little longer to get going than we liked, but, once it did get into gear, everything we ordered arrived. Menu items are typical Vietnamese dishes, emphasis on B.B.Q. items, and nothing fancy by any means. Wine list features mostly international bottles, like affordable wines from Chile.

All in all, a good dining option in Hanoi, outside of hotel venues.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Atmospheric restaurant - excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice colours and european atmosphere. Outside tables and kitchen. Spacious. Kind and fast service. Excellent food! Try their fresh spring rolls with mango and steamed fish!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madame Hien also viewed

 

Been to Madame Hien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madame Hien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.