We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in busy Hanoi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silk Path Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Silk Path Hotel to your Saves list
Silk Path Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195-199 Hang Bong Street, Hanoi 844, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NSW
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in busy Hanoi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very happy with our stay in this hotel.
Rooms are a little on the small side however they have a very comfortable bed and pillows.
Well appointed bathroom with plush towels.
Breakfast was excellent with at least ten staff working at the time.
Close to Old Quarter for exploration.
Would stay here again if back in Hanoi.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to see that you had a wonderful stay with us at Silk Path Hotel on your recent trip to Hanoi. We are also glad to see that you enjoyed our beds, bathrooms, breakfast and location.

Thank you once again for your comments. We look forward welcoming you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Welfare Manager
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    375
    50
    10
    1
See reviews for
98
424
35
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Like many of the buildings in Hanoi, this hotel was constructed within the walls of a very narrow building. The lobby and the common areas were lovely and bright. Our room was modern and well appointed (albeit poorly lit as seems to be the case in SE Asia), but because of the narrowness of it, the layout was very strange. You entered through a hallway and turned a corner to another hallways before reaching the bed. The desk, closet and bathroom were all in that first hallway. It was a little tricky to get to the bathroom when the lights were off. Bathroom was fine and well-appointed. Breakfast was good, but not as large as some that we had elsewhere in Vietnam. The hotel is in an "interesting" area. If you turn right when you leave the hotel, you head towards the embassies and upscale area. If you turn left, you get a truer sense of how many people live in Hanoi. There were hundreds of people setting up their kitchens on the street. We were told that that was because many did not have kitchens where they slept. The first night we went that way the streets were littered with garbage and it didn't feel comfortable weaving in and out of the street and sidewalk. The next night, the streets had been cleaned. There are a number of good restaurants if you go in that direction, but you have to feel comfortable in a crowded urban setting.

Room Tip: We liked the quiet side of the hotel, not facing the noisy streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to see that you had a wonderful stay with us at Silk Path Hotel on your recent trip to Hanoi. We are also glad that you enjoyed our rooms and location.

Unfortunately, the traffic in Hanoi is heavy which can make some people uncomfortable with it's lack of pattern or conformity to street signs. A good rule of thumb to navigate the traffic is to keep moving at a steady pace. For those who are uncomfortable try to navigate the city using a taxi. Our Concierge would be happy to assist in getting a reputable taxi.

Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Welfare Manager
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Room a little small but comfortable, clean and businesslike. Breakfast fantastic with a great choice. Well placed for exploration of the City. Only had two nights here which gave us limited experience but would recommend the hotel for a city base in Hanoi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to see that you had a wonderful stay with us at Silk Path Hotel on your recent trip to Hanoi. We were also glad to see that you enjoyed our rooms and location.

Thank you once again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Welfare Manager
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We actually ended up staying here three times and couldn't fault it. It was like a haven after spending a day shopping in the Old Quarter with the crazy traffic that seemingly didn't obey any road rules. The rooms were large and well appointed and the staff were so so friendly. We ate breakfast and dinner here which were both delicious and affordable. Our rooms overlooked the street but the noise wasn't an issue.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking street weren't too noisy and provided entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for choosing Silk Path Hotel as a base for your recent stay in Hanoi. We are glad to see that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed our rooms, service, breakfast and dinner.

Thank you once again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Welfare Manager
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stay here twice, knowing that some rooms faced brick walls we insisted that our travel agent booked rooms with a window onto a view. The first stay we were upgraded to a suite which had a balcony over the thronging ing streets. The rooms were excellent, the staff very pleasant and the breakfasts covered all bases including muesli which I saw one of the waiters gazing at in disbelief!there is a porch /small verandah on the front where it was possible to watch the world go by and marvel at the slow but inexorable waves of scooters and bicycles interweaving like some mechanical street ballet. The second visit was on return from an overnight train journey and before a visit to Halong bay. Again a quiet room with early check in and a window onto a street view. All went smoothly .

Room Tip: Asks for a room with a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Silk Path Hotel on your recent trip to Hanoi. We are glad to see that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our rooms, location, services, and breakfast.

Thank you once again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Welfare Manager
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

The location in the old city was good, close to many places we wanted to visit. Our room was clean and comfortable, the only thing we did not like - both windows in the room faced a brick wall which was literally 1 foot away from our building's wall.
Breakfast was very good, great selection of food.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico df
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The people in the Hotel surprise me, when I arrived I did a wrong booking by Agoda , so I asked for the manager on duty, Mr. Dao Nguyen Trong, stay one hour in the phone and he fix the problem, I was surprise about the service and the well trained, so he told me about his studies in Montreux, I was coming from Ho Chi Min and I dont have a good service in a 5 star Pulman Hotel, last time I was in Hanoi at the Metropol , Know I want to feel the people in town and walked around , they send me to the spa very closed to the Hotel it was nice, the restaurant for breakfast, for lunch and dinner excelent, you can walk around and feel secure, everybody in this Hotel are very well trained, since the housekeeping to the managers in duty. Congratulations and thanks for making better my Holidays.

Room Tip: The rooms are Ok and clean, the view was excelent in the 10 floor, I have a suite, but the matress a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments! We are very glad that you had a wonderful stay with us at Silk Path Hotel on your recent trip to Hanoi and that you enjoyed our service and restaurants. We are also glad that we could make your holiday more enjoyable for you.

Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Welfare Manager
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silk Path Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silk Path Hotel

Address: 195-199 Hang Bong Street, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silk Path Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested in the heart of Hanoi, the Hotel affords discerning travelers an unrivalled value to explore all that the city has to offer. The distincly electic decor marries beautifully with all the mordern conveniences, creating a truly indulgent experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Silk Path Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silk Path Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.