We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Ask for Quiet Room at Back of Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silk Path Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Silk Path Hotel to your Saves list
Silk Path Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195-199 Hang Bong Street, Hanoi 844, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
STAY and SAVE 10%
Ranked #42 of 507 Hotels in Hanoi
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Good Location, Ask for Quiet Room at Back of Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel is well located on the edge of the old town and within walking distance of most of the sights around the city. We never used a taxi in the city, we could walk to every place we wanted to go.

After initially being offered a room overlooking the intersection at the front of the hotel we managed to get a quiet room at the back of the hotel. There are no windows with any views but the room is quiet which is what we want in a hotel room.

The staff were very helpful and the hotel offered 3 free items for laundry per day which we took advantage of. The breakfast was not the best we'd had but was still good and the breakfast area was not busy so not problems getting a table.

Overall, the hotel is in a great location and the rooms are modern and comfortable as it is a relatively new hotel. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Hanoi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments! I was so glad to hear that you had a great stay with us at Silk Path Hotel on your recent trip to Hanoi and that you found our location and rooms to your liking! Silk Path Hotel is indeed very close to many tourist attractions, many of which are only around a 2km radius from the hotel.

I am also glad to hear how helpful our staff were to you during your stay, and I would like to let you know that we are working diligently to improve ourselves and the breakfast is going to be getting a make-over soon to make it even better.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    315
    43
    7
    1
See reviews for
81
350
33
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here at the end of our trip. Tiny rooms, beds like concrete, average service, average food and staff that struggled with English. It's the only place we stayed at in Hanoi so sadly I don't have anything to compare it to.

We stayed one night, had a night on Halong Bay then came back for 2 nights. Despite asking, we were put back in the original rooms with concrete beds. We expalined how bad the beds were but to no avail. They'd even mucked our booking up and on return only had 2 rooms for us instead of the 3 booked and paid for.

The rooms have no views other than of an inside wall. Security (at least I hope it was security) shone torches through our window of a night which was very alarming the first time it happened. Rooms are noisy from the restaurants down stairs. There is no pool at the Hotel and the fitness centre consists of 1 delapidated bike, a wonky teadmill and not much else.

It's situated in the aptly named "Old Quarter" where pollution, traffic and filth reign supreme. Not the way we wanted to end our holiday. To top it all off, despite booking a late check-out, reception called to ask if we'd vacate early as they were replacing the beds!!!!!!!

Room Tip: There are no tips and there probably are no good rooms. If there are, they didn't want us to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments! I am glad that you brought this to our attention, although I wish you had been able to contact me or any of our management team before your departure. I was very sorry to hear about what happened during your stay with us and with the help of our management team we had conducted a full investigation of this matter to make sure that it will not happen again.

We beleive the core fault of this matter was a breakdown in communication and to correct this we will continue to work hard to improve the English skills amount our associates. Unfortunately the bookings we had received and followed were from your travel agent and they had no mention of a late check-out.

In regards to your comments on our Fitness Center's Equipment, I have investigated this matter as well and haven't been able to find the problems you mentioned. I would like to discuss this more to see if there was something I might have missed. Please feel free to contact me at mm@silkpathhotel.com

Thanks again for bringing this to our attention. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi so that we can show you our improvements!

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had 3 nights staying at the Silk Path Hotel in early July and it was pleasant enough, the rooms were clean but a bit on the small side and the breakfast was again ok, but not overwhelming. In comparison to other 4 star hotels we stayed at in Vietnam and other parts of Asia it was just average and overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments! I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have spoken with our Chef and we are now in the process of creating new breakfast items that will be more exciting.

Thanks again for your comments, we hope to be able to welcome you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi!

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This place was suggested by our guide and translator for our three day work trip. At first was a bit sceptical given its location on a very busy street. But soon you realise that's just Hanoi and in fact the Silk Path is a gem of tranquility, friendliness and luxury in the wonderful madness that is Hanoi old town. The discounted rate we got was almost too good to be true for the class of hotel as was the excellent breakfast. The rooms are tasteful, clean, quiet and have everything you need. Beds are v comfortable. However the stand out thing are the staff. Friendly, knowledgable and informal too. If they suggest a dinner location then make sure you go. Every place they recommended was fab. I'd happily return for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Silk Path Hotel during your trip to Hanoi. I am also glad that you gave into your skepticism and gave us a chance! Our staff are committed to making sure that each guest has the best stay with us we can provide and our staff will be glad to hear that their efforts are being noticed.

Thanks again for your comments! We hope to be able to welcome you back to an oasis of calm with us at Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi!

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights at the Silk Path Hotel and and it was like coming home everytime we came through the doors. The My Time promotion enabled us to be upgraded to a bigger room along with other benefits within the hotel, which was great. The room was large, clean and modern with all you would expect in a hotel of its rating. This is our first time in a boutique hotel and we loved the time we spent there. You do not need to go to a big hotel chain to enjoy 5 star amenities and service. Modern hotel in a great location with good food and exceptional service. A special mention to Ms.Hien from the Silks Bar / Bellissimo restaurant who looked after us so well.

Room Tip: Stay for 3 nights in a row and get the My Time upgrade to a better room and happy hour drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments! I am so glad that you and your wife found your stay to be like coming home. I have passed along your special mention of Ms. Hien to our management.

Thanks again for your comments, we hope to be able to welcome you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi!

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights - 2 adults and 2 teens. Great hotel. Rooms are ample, beds comfy & the bathroom has a great shower. Breakfast (included) was really very good and included both Vietnamese and Western choices. Fantastic to sit out on the front patio and watch the bustle of Hanoi pass by while you sip on a cold drink! Great location in the old quarter. Staff were friendly, helpful & efficient. Really handy to have the Buffalo Tour desk inside the hotel - made our access to Trang easy!

Room Tip: ask for a room towards the back of the hotel - less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments! I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at Silk Path Hotel in Hanoi and that you found your rooms comfortable, the food good and the staff helpful!

Thanks again for your comments, we hope to be able to welcome you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi!

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christnach, Luxembourg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed 6 nights at Silk Path Hotel in Hanoi and I didn't regret my choice. The staff is very friendly, well informed about her profession. The rooms are nice and big, for the center of Hanoi. The bathroom have a nice rain shower, wich one I really appreciate after a walk around the old quarter or after a long working day.
Breakfast buffet change everyday, the dishes served in the restaurant have a very good quality.
I will go back and I can recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments! I am so glad that you didn't regret your choice and had a great stay with us at Silk Path Hotel in Hanoi and that you found our rooms and staff to your liking!

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you bcak to Silk Path Hotel on your next visit to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silk Path Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silk Path Hotel

Address: 195-199 Hang Bong Street, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 507 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silk Path Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silk Path Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silk Path Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.