We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to most attractions in Hanoi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silk Path Hotel

Save Saved
You added Silk Path Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silk Path Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195-199 Hang Bong Street, Hanoi 844, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUPER SUMMER SALES
Ranked #62 of 489 hotels in Hanoi
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Close to most attractions in Hanoi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After a few days in Hanoi we thought this was a good choice for Hanoi. The location was good after we spent alot of time walking around all parts of the Old Quarter and a few of the other attractions which were all under 2km.

All the staff were very helpful. However, Trong was the highlight of our stay. He had a great sense of humour and went out of his way to help us. His grasp on the english language is good and you can tell he makes a real effort to learn and improve the way he communicates.

The only small letdown was the breakfast didn't have a huge selection... although most days we were still reeling from the meal we had the night before.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest.

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you found the location of Silk Path a great base for your journey in Hanoi. Silk Path is indeed close to most of the sights in Hanoi, 2km or for those who aren't yet on the metric system it's just over a mile distance. We are also glad that you found our staff friendly to speak with. We try our best to make sure every guest has the best service we can provide.
Thanks again we hope to welcome you back to Silk Path Hotel Hanoi on your next visit to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    257
    37
    7
    1
See reviews for
73
266
29
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Silk Path during our visit to Hanoi over New Year's week. We booked the premium executive room through hotels.com, and it was wonderful. Upon checkin, we experienced a glitch, where hotels.com said we were two adults and we had booked for two adults, two children. They showed me their booking confirmation, I showed them mine, and they solved the problem by giving us a room with two beds. Initially we were booked in a king bed room. I would advise anyone booking through hotels.com to email the hotel in advance to confirm the room type.

The hotel is well situated, on a street with plenty of art galleries, shops and restaurants. We booked a hotel transfer from the airport through the hotel, and while it was certainly overpriced, it was safe and nice. We ate quite a few meals at the restaurant, because the kids loved the food. We thought it was good, but not fabulous. They had plenty of menu items that satisfy western kids, like pizza, pasta and fried rice. The breakfast buffet was good and open plenty of hours, never too crowded. The female chef who cooked eggs, though, gave us grumpy looks every morning when we asked her to hard scramble the eggs for the kids. I don't think she was familiar with the American style of scrambled eggs, she seemed to take it as a criticism. She didn't say anything, but she seemed annoyed with us.

The hotel is clean, comfortable, and the room we booked was large and had a balcony overlooking the street. We were on the fifth floor, and except for the loudspeakers at 6:30 am (Hanoi public service announcements on the street outside), we didn't hear street noise. We only heard the loudspeakers if we were awake. They didn't wake us up on the days we slept in.

Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was perfect for us. The sheets were soft, however the mattress was on the firm side. Overall, despite our few relatively minor complaints, we would stay here again and have already recommended it to friends who are traveling to Hanoi later this month.

Room Tip: Verify your room type with the hotel if you book on travel sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments and recommendation. I am very happy to hear that you had an overall good stay. Also I would also advise that you confirm your booking and make sure the specifics are the ones you had requested. Our staff will try to be accommodating as they possibly can to help fix any problems such as yours but it is easier just to confirm it in advance. Your other comments on the female cook have also been noted and taken care of.

Thanks again! We hope to be able to welcome you and your friends back to Silk Path Hotel Hanoi!

Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Lacks intimacy but has all the mod cons. Very centrally located and are happy to arrange taxi services on your behalf. Would definitely recommend this hotel to travelers who want to be central and who want to explore the town by foot.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. We are sorry you found we lacked intimacy, we try our best to make sure each guest feels welcome and that we do the best we can to make their stay with us the best we can. We will use your comments to strive towards higher service standards in our staff trainings.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I chose Silk Path for its location - and i truly rewarded for my choice during my four nights there. But the hotel has impressed me not just with its location - its service and willingness to cater to the needs of my family. From attending to our transport needs, to taking care of our luggage, to having a friendly bar tender who talks nothing but football, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Silk Path. But in some ways, Silk Path has become a victim of its own success.

I had booked the first two nights under a "Stay 2 Pay 1" promotion. And a 3rd night on a "best rate" basis. Subsequently, my family decided to stay an additional night, ie, a total of 4 nights. My request for Silk Path to let me enjoy my 2nd two night stay under the "Stay 2 Pay 1" promo was met with a flat no. Reason? I'd agreed, when i booked my 3rd night stay, that it's based on a best rate, no, change, no refund, basis. Silk Path's inflexibility in not acceding to my request was made more stark when contrasted with its excellence in so many other areas.

That said, Silk Path's inflexibility was but a small dent in an otherwise enjoyable stay at the hotel.

My suggestions for fellow travellers to Hanoi as follows:

1) Be very clear of the reservation policies of the hotels you choose to book; best to get a friendly, in principle agreement in email, to say that you'd enjoy the applicable promotional rates if you should change your travel plans, which can happen for holidays esp those that involve many family members

2) Dont rush into booking a hotel in Hanoi for its location alone as, eg, based on my three days' exploration around the Old Quarter area, quite a few new hotels have sprung up. My family is fortunate in that Silk Path's location is most suitable for our needs; but it may not be the best located if you have other itineraries or ideas for Hanoi.
3) Take your time to book day tours, packages, etc, and try to resist the temptation of having every plan and itinerary mapped out and booked even before you arrive in Hanoi. In my family's case, we decided that we would only arrange the transport to and from airport, and let our noses guide us in deciding what to do, what to eat, where to visit. Silk Path was most helpful in helping us arrange a guide for a half-day tour of Hanoi. From this experience, we developed ideas and the confidence to go on to enjoy Hanoi on our own.

4) Bottomline: For my family; Silk Path is a good starting point for you to let wanderlust take over; on hingsight, it need not be the only starting point for my family. Therein lies the excitement and mystery of Hanoi

Room Tip: For hotels like Silk Path, the central location is a double-edged sword - it comes with the cacophon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm glad to hear that overall your stay with us was pleasant. I also understand that you had a problem with the booking. We tried our best to accommodate your needs as best as we could and I apologize that you did not find it to be enough. We do do our best to make sure everyone understands the hotel rates and the terms of the bookings, especially upon check in.

Again we apologize for seeming inflexible however we did as much as we could do for your request.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We had several visits to and from the silk path traveling from the north to the south was a drop off point for each section of our journey we stayed 2 nights and found the rooms comfortable and everything we needed was on hand:) very clean and the staff were very attentative with good English spoken

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at Silk Path Hotel. We are glad you found everything to your liking. We try our best to make sure that every guest gets the best service we can provide.

Thanks again for your comments!

Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Although the rooms are small this hotel cannot be faulted. It is in a wonderful position in Hanoi, close to everything and very accessible. The best thing about this hotel is the staff who are so very helpful and friendly. They will do anything for you even cross the road with you when you first get there which is no mean feat I can assure you. The breakfasts were good and we ate one evening meal there which was very good and not that expensive. We would highly recommend it and would definitely stay there again should we ever return to Hanoi. Truong was particularly helpful to us and we thank him.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a Superior deluxe if you want a window. We didn't, but it didn't really matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments online, thank you! Also we are very glad that you found our service pleasing and helpful. Our goal is to make the trip the best we can from our positions in the hotel. We are pleased to know that for you we have achieved our goals. I will pass on your comments to our Chef and Troung. They will be pleased to know their efforts are being noticed.

Thanks again, we hope to see you on your next trip to Hanoi at Silk Path Hotel.

Sincerely,
Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedworth
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Clean, well equipped room, good service and very handy for the old part of Hanoi - the most interesting. Breakfast good though did not eat dinner here as many good eating places nearby. This is ideal for a short stay in Hanoi, not a place you want to linger too much as little to see in the city.

Room Tip: Higher floor for interesting views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel. We do our best to make sure each guest has the best service we can provide. Also I'm sorry to here that you found Hanoi to lack interesting sights and activities. Hanoi has a charming local and there are some interesting places to go besides the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, Hoan Kiem Lake and some of the other sights. If you decide to come back to Hanoi and stay with us please ask the concierge or our Buffalo Tours travel agent about places to go and eat in the local area. I'm sure they can point you in the right direction.

Thanks again for your comments,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silk Path Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silk Path Hotel

Address: 195-199 Hang Bong Street, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 489 hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silk Path Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Silk Path Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silk Path Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.