We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast, nice view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Hanoi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Hanoi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   K5 Nghi Tam, 11 Xuan Dieu Road | Tay Ho District, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 490 hotels in Hanoi
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, nice view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hotel has a good and comprehensive buffet breakfast. We also upgraded to the Club room, which we thought was a good deal as this included free wi-fi, as well as free happy hours at both club lounge as well as the newly opened Chime bar (which has a good selection of Tapas to choose from).

On the flip side, hotel concierge did not seem too knowledgeable nor too helpful.

Also within walking distance to the West Lake as well as the oldest pagoda in Hanoi. Well worth the walk via the inner road as you get to see the real-life Hanoi, as well as get rewarded by nice scenery at the end with the 2 side-by-side lakes.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear “NewSpidey”,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Hanoi. I personally believe that the Sheraton club is good value with all of the additional benefits. Kudos to you for trying Chime bar, this bar has a wide variety of tapas to choose from and also offers the club lounge guest another venue to sit and unwind. I am sorry to read your comments about the concierge, this is an area that we will have to work on. good to read that we managed to live up to your expectations with Breakfast, it’s the most important meal of the day so a hearty breakfast can set the tone for the rest of the day.

The hotel is right next door to the West Lake and there are a few of the smaller pagoda’s neat by the hotel. As you have pointed out, it is worthwhile to have a look around to see the real Hanoi while looking onto the picturesque lake.
Our team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Hanoi.

Warm regards

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    236
    93
    21
    10
See reviews for
74
195
41
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Algiers, Algeria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Well situated in Hanoi, having a West Lake's view, calm and clean, The breakfast in this hotel was lovely and lounge is pretty good as well, i have to mention the kindness of the staff in the lounge which in consider professional and friendly at the same time. i really recommend it for businessmen especially...

Room Tip: The suites have a magnificent view through the lake ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear “Toumache”,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about the Sheraton Hanoi. It’s great to read your reviews about the breakfast, our culinary team have been working hard to ensure that the breakfast is good and your comments show we are going in the right direction. Thank you for highlighting our staff in the club lounge, we have had some new associates in the lounge and it’s good to see that they are progressing and learning.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again at the Sheraton Hanoi hotel.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We upgraded in this hotel to an executive room which allowed into the exec lounge with free food and cocktails and other drinks from 5.30 until 8 pm . The breakfast in this hotel was lovely and the hotel provided a free shuttle to several attractions. Although taxis were cheap. We were on the 16th floor with wonder full views over the lake.It was well worth staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a high executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear “skevsy”,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor about your stay at the Sheraton Hanoi. It’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and enjoyed the Sheraton Club benefits. The views from the rooms are fantastic and you get a very good idea of how Hanoi is developing with new bridges and high rises popping out of the ground.

The breakfast is something that we have been working on for some time and it’s great to read that people are enjoying it. Congratulations on using the free shuttle service to the old quarter. The hotel runs the shuttle service 3 times a day at 9am, 1 am and 6pm and stops off at the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, Hanoi Tower, Vincom Tower and Hoan Kiem Lake where the water puppet show.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write your comments on trip advisor and I hope that we have the opportunity to look after you again on your next trip to Hanoi.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This 5 star hotel is rather nice with a large open lobby that includes a restaurant, business center, lounge area equipped with desktop pc's, drinks and snacks. I found all of the staff to be quite friendly and helpful and many speak English very well too. The breakfast buffet is rather large and contains both Asian and Western choices all fresh and hot too. Service throughout the hotel is very attentive too. My only complaint is that they charge a high price by Vietnamese standards for in room Internet service while other 5 star hotels in the area offer it for free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear “educator_12”,

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor. It’s great to read that our staff were friendly and were able to assist you with your needs. Service is the most important thing and to read the staff were attentive is great to read. We do comparisons with other 5 star hotels in Hanoi and the internet charges are in line with the other 5 star hotels in the city and we also allow up to 3 devices per log on. This is enough to cover a smart phone, tablet and laptop all for the same charge. The hotel also offers free wifi in the lobby and has 7 computer terminals available at link@sheraton which any guest can use 24 hours.

English is a second language (sometimes 3rd language) to our staff so I was very happy that the English levels were up to your expectations. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and to hear that you enjoyed the buffet shows that we are doing the right thing by offering an extensive range of food.

I hope you enjoyed your stay in Hanoi and at the Sheraton, we look forward to welcoming your back on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

On check in it became clear that our deluxe room did not include WiFi in the room but we were encouraged to upgrade for forty dollars. In an age where burger bars offer free Wifi this seems poor. On our second night we used a card to show we did not want our bed sheets changed as an environmental measure. We did not see housekeeping for the res t of our stay so no tea coffe or water or towels replenished. We visited the bar during happy hour and were still charged four times the price in a local bar. My beer was spilled during service and the only service response to the loss of half the beverage was to mop it up. I mentioned my experience to staff and got no response. The hotel is situated outside of the main town. The gym and pool are good the rooms are spacious us and comfortable

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear “Rustincullahbond”,

Thank you for choosing The Sheraton for you stay in Hanoi and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I’m glad that you chose to be in the “Make a Green Choice” program to help save energy. For each room that participates in the program we save approx. 140 liters of water, over 200ml of chemicals, enough energy to run a laptop for 10 hours and 25,000 BTU of Natural gas. This program is on a daily basis and can be stopped, with many guests choosing every 2nd night to participate. We also compensate those participating with a U$5 food and beverage voucher per night. If the guests wanted extra towels, soap or anything done, this can certainly be arranged by calling the guest service staff or by talking to the front office. I am sorry if this was not explained to you properly.

The prices of the bar are in line with many other places in Hanoi, however compared to some of the local bars that charge very cheap prices as you have pointed out, the hotel is more expensive. There are some good bars around the hotel, however if you are looking at some of the cheaper bars in Hanoi, please be aware that there have been some issues in the past. I do have to apologize for the service levels at the bar, I am never proud to know that we have failed in serving a guest properly, but am grateful for the feedback so that we can review and improve.

Thank you for your comments regarding the guest rooms being spaciousness and comfortable, I believe that the rooms are a good size and the bathroom is also quite large. The Sheraton fitness has quite an active local following and in the Summer the pool does get a lot of people using it to relax and unwind.

Again, thank you for your comments and feedbacks, In the event that you come back to Hanoi in the future, it would be great if you could contact me directly paul.tsuji@sheraton.com, so that we may have an opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Warm Regards

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhead, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Hanoi Sheraton is in my opinion a 3 star hotel, the staff are quite rude, from the oncerge, to te people at the restaurant, the buffet breakfast in the club room, compared to to other sheraton s in vietnam , the Hanoi sheraton lacks sophication, that you would expect from a 5 star hotel. If I ever come back to Hanoi, I will try the intercontinental hotel next door.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear “Jon S”,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor. All comments are appreciated. Firstly, I must apologise that your experience at our hotel was so disappointing. The Sheraton club lounge breakfast is a continental breakfast and if guests prefer a full breakfast, we do offer this at the Oven D’or restaurant located in the lobby.

I admit that reading your comments about the service, there is still work that needs to be done. We are committed to continually improve and many thanks for showing us the hotels opportunities.

In the event that your travel schedule every brings you back to Hanoi, I would be delighted if you would contact me personally – paul.tsuji@sheraton.com. My team and I would greatly value the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Thank you again for your candor.

Warm regards

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here on this trip on two separate dates. We stayed one night here as a stopover to drop off excess luggage before heading to Halong Bay the next morning. We came back for another 2 days of sightseeing in Hanoi.

The property is lovely, lots of old world charm, but the interior if fully modern and updated. Huge common lobby area. We got a great rate and upgraded to a Club Level Room, which was totally worth it. You also get access to the Club Floor, for free breakfast and happy hour (all you can drink beer & wine plus food), and amenities for business (free incoming fax, PC use, internet, meeting room and clothes pressing).

Hotel is located next to West Lake, so a quite and tranquil spot and Citibank and HSBC ATMs are right on site, makes it very easy.

The Good: Location - Lovely lakeside location with great view. Our club room was huge, fully updated and has lake view. Bathroom was also huge with separate tub and shower. Sweet Sleeper beds made for a very comfortable sleep. The weekend buffet was also incredible (all you can eat seafood and foie gras) with different regional food stations. The buffet was pricey by Vietnamese standards but solid value for US standards. The Club Room and Club Floor was totally worth the upgrade.

The Bad: Location - it's not near any of the tourist sights and only attraction within walking distance is really the lake. So not super convenience for sightseeing or food.

Also, a couple of service issues. (1) We needed to access the hotel safety deposit box and when we got to the desk, we were told they did not have the only key to the safety deposit box as the hotel manager had to accompany another guest to the hospital. We were pressed for time but had no choice but to wait for the manager to come back. Luckily, he was back in about 20 mins, if it was later, we might have missed our boat to Halong Bay. This was a huge inconvenience and I don't understand why there isn't a backup key on site with another manager/senior staff. (2) On another day, there was a fire out in the main street and apparently traffic diverts to the side street in front of the Sheraton, so passing cars try to cut through the hotel. So it's hotel policy to close the gate to the road leading up to the hotel when this happens (yes, it's a metal gate with a guard) and no cars can go in. We showed them our hotel keys but was told it's policy and we can't go in. Our car had to sit in the crazy diversion traffic for an extra 20 minutes to drive all the way around to the other side of the hotel to access the other entrance. This was just crazy and added to the taxi cost. It was very annoying!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the club room for US$40, we thought it was totally worth it and got our value worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear “Luvtosafari”

Thank you for sharing your stay on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your comments about the hotel. The mixture of modern and Vietnamese is good and when you drive up to the hotel port cochere you feel the Vietnamese old world charm. The Sheraton club lounge is great value and has many additional benefits and it sounds like you completely enjoyed the experience of the Sheraton club. The view from the club lounge and the club lounge rooms are very good and you can really get a feel for Hanoi from your window. It’s sounds like you are already familiar with the Sheraton Sweet beds, I think that they are great beds and very comfortable. Thank you for your comments about the Sunday brunch, we do try to put on an extensive selection of seafood and a wide variety of other gourmet dishes and our culinary team work hard to ensure the high food quality.

I have to admit I was not aware that you had an issue with the safety box, we are in the process now of re-writing our standards so that there is always another key available, apologies that this caused you some inconvenience. I do admit from time to time we do close the hotel gates, but it is not hotel policy that we stop all from entering unless there is a security issue. I have talked to the team about this. We will have to do better.

Once again, thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Hanoi.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Hanoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hanoi Hotel

Address: K5 Nghi Tam, 11 Xuan Dieu Road | Tay Ho District, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 490 hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Hanoi Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly a “resort within the city,” Sheraton Hanoi Hotel provides the perfect balance between tranquility and convenience. Take in panoramic views of Hanoi’s largest lake and enjoy great comforts in the 299 spacious guest rooms and suites, specially designed to help you relax. Gather in the Link at Sheraton, a communal, interactive space that keeps you connected to what matters most. Experience stunning Sheraton Club Rooms, all with Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds, while enjoying the added benefits of Sheraton Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Hanoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.