We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Imperial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Hang Hanh Str. | Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 844, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 507 Hotels in Hanoi
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good choice great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great location (the Rainbow restaurant across from the Hotel has great food). We stayed in a family room which was spacious. Tiny window to the road which did not bother us. The hotel is on a busy TINY road but it some how adds to the charm. Very friendly staff, free wifi, good aircon, smoke free and good breakfast and staff always happy to confirm bookings you made etc. I would rather stay in a smaller hotel in Hanoi in one of the old quarter roads whilst 'rubbing shoulders with the locals' rather than in one of the bigger hotels. Most taxi's know where the Hotel is which is helpful. Great find (we were a bit concerned) will happily recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc N, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
I'd like to send our warm greetings and kind regards to your lovely family in London.
I believe that you did enjoy your stay with us with your review to us right here.
Even though things seemed "tiny" to you within the Old Quarter but that make the distinctive characteristic of the ancient streets and I'm glad to know you enjoyed it.
We feel so honored to be recommended by you and hope that we will have another chance to welcome you back to your place of comfort, Hanoi Imperial Hotel.
Thank you so much for your stay and best wishes to your family.
Duc Nguyen (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    141
    33
    4
    2
See reviews for
72
157
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nagpur, India
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Imperial Hotel Hanoi Vietnam
We a group of 7 to 9 seniors, find budget hotels in a touristic area through reading reviews in Tripadvisor, which is the popular and best site to choose and short-list. For reservations Booking.com is the most reliable site. Further, the booking.com undertakes to match the lowest price as compared to any other quotation for that particular hotel.
For taking Ha Long Bay Cruise, the most convenient place to stay is at Hanoi due to air-connection. Accordingly, we stayed at Imperial hotel overnight using it as our base. We left most of our luggage before proceeding to Ha long Bay and after finishing the 3 days cruise we returned to stay again at Imperial Hotel.
Imperial hotel is very well located in the old quarter and is within walking distance to lots of touristic attractions and shopping. If you can just ignore the entry point in front of this hotel I can easily rate this property to be premium especially with extremely friendly and professional staff managing this hotel. The rooms are very spacious air-conditioned, comfortable and well decorated. Clean Bathroom, WC hygine – faucet, good toiletries, fresh towels & bed-linen. Complimentary tea-coffee station with hot-water-kettle is provided. To welcome complimentary fruit basket was placed in our rooms. Sumptuous cooked Breakfast on the top floor was really one of the best we had in Vietnam. Delicious, enough spread for even vegetarians with prompt service with a smile.
Our luggage was properly stored and secured during our stay on the Ha Long Bay Cruise. The staff is genuinely committed to make our stay in Hanoi enjoyable.
The price quoted for stay is very reasonable and good value for money. This hotel is a diamond buried in dust.

I strongly recommend this hotel to fellow tourists and I will certainly stay there again next time we go to Hanoi.
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a group

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc N, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Warm greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel and thank you so much for your stay at our hotel as well as your valuable time spent on this review.
We were so pleasured to welcome you and be touched by your sincere words about our staff and services. It delighted us to see our arrangement met your expectation and demands. I got to know that you had many concerns at the first time contacting with us. Fortunately, you eventually felt secure and comfortable with our accommodation services. It was our biggest gift for our efforts.
We will make sure everything will be going smoothly to other guests just like the way it happenned to you.
We are so much honored as well to know you had intention to return to our hotel and recommend our hotel to other travelers.
Wish you always with joy and happiness ahead and looking forward to welcoming you again in short time.
Duc Nguyen (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for three nights and we were not disappointed. This hotel is well located in the old quarter and is within walking distance to lots of attractions and shopping. Despite this hotel not being as large as some others, the room we stayed in was very spacious and well presented. Hotel breakfast was great as were the in hotel massages.

On to what made our stay here special: the staff. The staff at this hotel were extremely friendly and professional and seemed genuinely committed to making our stay in the hotel and Hanoi enjoyable. Special mentions go to Tony, the front office manager, and Bui whom were very helpful and accommodating. When our Ha Long Bay cruise was significantly delayed and the cruise company wouldn't offer even a partial refund, Tony organised for the hotel to give us a partial refund and free airport transfer!! That went above and beyond, in our minds. Tony also recommended a day tour to Tam Coc, which ended up being one of the highlights of our entire trip to Vietnam.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to my friends and family and will stay there again next time we go to Hanoi.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc N, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Pipsa2013,
On behalf of our hotel team, I would like to send you our sincere thanks for your such long stay with us and your sweet word given to us as “home”!
It finds us some pleasant to see how you enjoyed your stay with us. We always tell ourselves that giving out is receiving back and at the moment we retrieved your review it was proved to be true than ever. We are so much inspired by your words and will try harder to meet expectations of upcoming discerning guests.
I hope you will take chance to return to Hanoi and our hotel soon. It will be our great pleasure to bring you even more fantastic stay.
We wish you with all the best blessings in your journeys of life and looking forward to welcoming you back “home”.

Duc Nguyen (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

centrally located, very good rooms, fresh and cool welcome drink, good WIFI and for free, staff very friendly and helpful on tours and excursions, also beyond standard packages (we got good advice to go to central bus station and take public transport bus which was suprisingly good i.e. with A/C and music entertainment on flat screen TV and are now up to date on latest vietnamese pop and rock music scene)

Room Tip: if you like it: ask for a room with yacuzzi in bathroom, they got some
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc N, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Holger D,
We would like to send our gratefulness for your stay at our hotel as well as your taking time to give us the contributive feedback.
We were very honored to arrange you with our accommodation excursions and glad to know you had a really good trip. Our staff will be thankful for your comments of them. I hope you will experience more exciting journeys and hospitality during your trips around the world.
We are looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again.
Thank you so much once again and best regards.
Duc Nguyen (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Well located in the Old Quarter of Hanoi and don't let the streetscapes and neighbourhood of the hotel deceive you - Not impressive reception foyer but almost 5-star quality in the room: spacious size (38 sqm) and huge bathroom including bath-tub and rain-shower; every amenities you can think of and real red-wood furniture; fresh fruits daily and and live flowers in room setting; welcome drink... Most important, great service quality from staff! What more can you ask for when you also get FREE internet and breakfast all for less than US$70?

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc N, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Ms. Ying A,
Greetings from Hanoi Imperial!
We are thankful for your stay as well as your moment to give us such a genuine feeback.
We are glad to know even you did have luxury impression upon arrival at our hotel, yet you had really great time enjoying our room and our special offers. Our staff will be proud to see how they contributed to your enjoyable stay.
We hope to see you again at our hotel in the near future with all best wishes from us.
Yours sincerely
Duc Nguyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed at the Hanoi Imperial for 4 nights in July 13 and couldn't have asked for a better stay, the staff were friendly and helped me find my way around Hanoi, the hotel is right in the old quarter so perfect for markets and the lake and there are a number of great restaurants and bars within a short walking distance. My room was huge, although the view wasn't great, the bed was very comfortable and bathroom was spacious. The breakfast variety was good so there's something for everyone. The hotels spa didn't seem to be as busy as I thought but I did have a massage on my last day and it was amazing, there are spas nearby but I had pedicure at one on the same street as the hotel and it took them 2 hours and 4 therapists then I was left for 30 mins I walked out, so don't rule the hotel one out if you want treatments. All in all I had a great stay and at a reasonable price so would definately stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc N, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Ms. Amy Loui,
Greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel and thank you so much for spending your stay in our hotel.
We were very honored to receive your feedback and happy to know you had a pleasant stay. It was a bit pity that you couldn’t enjoy massage service at our hotel. Yet if any chance in the future, our staff will be pleased to serve you.
It was such a great honor to have your statement to stay at our hotel again. We are so glad every time a guest come back staying with us. It is the greatest pay-off for what we always strive for.
We are looking forward to seeing you in the short time and hope your life will be always fulfilled with joy and happiness.
Yours sincerely,
Duc Nguyen
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We can warmly recommend Hanoi Imperial Hotel to be your "home" in Hanoi. We stayed there 9 nights. The location of the hotel is great, short walk along the side street and you are in the middle of shops, restaurants and full swing of the common life in Hanoi. The room and bathroom was large enough, quiet and clean. Fresh fruits and bottled water as complementary every day in the room. The buffet breakfast on the top floor was very good. The staff was polite, friendly and very helpful. The front desk manager arranged the city tour, country tour and Ha Long Bay tour for us. Also the money change was handy at the front desk. Very good size and cozy hotel, not too big. They took good care of us! Thank You!
We shall return to this hotel with pleasure, if we some day are able to travel to Hanoi and Vietnam again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Imperial Hotel

Address: 44 Hang Hanh Str. | Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 507 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Imperial Hotel is located right in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter and only 2-mminute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. Having good food, drink and shopping just takes some steps from the hotel. It is also very close and convenient to visit the most popular tourist attractions, such as Ngoc Son Temple, Thang Long Water Puppet Theater, St. Joseph Cathedral, Hoa Lo Prison, Temple of Literature, Ho Chi Minh Complex, etc. The hotel has 40 elegant guest rooms with ful equipments and amenities. Most rooms are spacious and have large windows with stunning city view. The staff are courteous and well-trained. The extensive services include 24/24 reception, massage services, concierge, tour desk, airport transfer, car rental, housekeeping, washing and laundry, etc. The breakfast area provides a wide selection of food and panorama of the city in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hanoi Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.