We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUIET ROOM, NICE SERVICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gia Bao Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gia Bao Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Gia Bao Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Lo Su Street, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Hong Kong, China
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“QUIET ROOM, NICE SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed in Gia Bao from 18.9.13 to 21.9.2013. My room (602) has good city view. The floor is quiet.

And personality of Sales Manager Mr Savi is very nice. He has patience to give me lots of advices about travelling in Hanoi. At Mid-Autumn festival, He brings me and other HK friends to celebrate at night. Very interesting experience. Other staffs at Reception are very polite and sincere.

I highly recommend my friend to station in Gia Bao when they come Hanoi.

Room Tip: Contact Sales Manager Savi in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    65
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
24
61
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Gia Bao Grand : This second time come back to Gia Bao Grand and yes we are happy with our decision . Its location and staff are just perfect as it was . Breakfast is improved alot since my first coming 3 months ago . They recommend a very good Halong Bay tour with reasonable price . We completely satisfied and highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our stay was absolutely wonderful. The service was amazing. Receptionist organised transfers to wherever we needed without a hassle. The rooms were clean, they looked after our luggage whilst we went away. The restaurant had lovely food and they made sure that we were comfortable at all times. Nothing was too much trouble. It was close to everything - very central.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Got a twin room and it has basically most of the things you would ask for. Not too sure about the rest of the rooms on the same level but the WiFi signal was weak and could disconnect every now and then. The programmes showing on the TV were limited and mostly in Vietnamese. Besides that, the channels were mostly hit with slight distortion but still watchable. The toilet was clean but there's a pretty large glass panel which can actually peek out into the room. Unless you've trust issue with your roommate, there's a blind outside (yes, outside) the panel of the toilet. Not too sure if it's the same for other rooms on the same level for this.

Other than some trivia issues, the service provided was good and they're always eager to gather feedbacks for improvements. The hotel is also well-located with a supermarket (Fivimart) just around the corner.

Overall, considering paying about 46 SGD/night, I think it was pretty good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We too, upon arrival, were hit with the $5 USD /nite upgrade to the suite , salespitch. I made them show me "my" room first, which was the superior FOC upgrade to a Royal Deluxe.....don`t be fooled....the Royal Deluxe they "showed" me, was a 2-star at best ( and "may" have been an awkward spin on the classic bait-and-switch)......however, I enjoyed the suite (we were in #302). We "had" to pay the $5/USD nite upgrade in cash and received no receipt (so...maybe??...who knows???) The room was spaceous and comfortable, and a real joy for a break from the heat and humidity. Yes, the wifi signal strength was horrible....but we lived with it....c`mon, even at the "upgraded" rate...it`s STILL was only $45/nite....The hotel is in a great location in the Old Quarter...and within walking distance to and around the lake, all ammenities,and probably anywhere you`d want to go to. The front end staff spoke perfect English, were polite, courteous and helpful. The bellman too, deserves recognition....whom assisted with several "missions" I sent him on (ie: p/u a SIM card at 11 pm at nite, getting pre-paid minutes, helping with interactions with locals, etc)...
he free breakfast was ok....and only attempted once....as appears a large group was their before us, and there was NOTHING left. When I brought it to their attention, they quickly made us up some omeletes....and a bit of cold bacon.
Again, I LIKED our stay....and would recommend it to anyone. Sure, it`s no 4 Seasons.....but then again, it isn`t $6-850/nite either.....Take the suite....You`ll be happy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Normal conditions , room abit smelly,
Normal breakfast, services ok but good location
Easy food, shopping, access to all other places
No need guide, for sightseeing
Hanoi, hot and dry climate, bring light clothing well do

Room Tip: For free n easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Paid $55USD for the VIP suite located on the top floor (Room 1102). Wasn't bad however after staying a second night in Hanoi in a different hotel I discovered the benefits of bargaining. Thus in comparison to what is out there, the best room in this hotel is dated, wifi signal is poor, bathroom lights dot go off at night which is bad because its a glass wall right into your bedroom, hot water is unreliable, breakfast is average at best. The staff service is excellent however like all hotel staff in Hanoi they will not take no for an answer concerning a Ha Long Bay cruise. On that note, find a good tour and don't get conned into a dodgy operator. Location of hotel is pretty good too. Overall this hotel is 2.5 stars west equivalent.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gia Bao Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gia Bao Grand Hotel

Address: 23 Lo Su Street, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gia Bao Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HotelThe newest boutique hotel consists of 40 elegant rooms and conveniently situated in the heart of Vietnam’s capital, just 2 minutes walks to famous Opera House and 5 minutes walks to the legendary Hoan Kiem Lake, in the of business districts is ideally for business and leisure guests alike. The Conifer Restaurant showcases both international and Vietnam cuisine utilizing regional ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Gia Bao Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gia Bao Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.