We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best dinners I had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Badiane

La Badiane
10 Nam Ngu | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
+84 4 3942 4509
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,014 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $10 - $66
Cuisines: French, International, Fusion, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best dinners I had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

After arriving in Hanoi, my friend took me to this place. The French ambience is certainly something that you'll notice, amidst the chaos of Hanoi.

I can honestly say that I had one of the best dinners here! I had the gastronomic plate - one entree, one main and one dessert. The food was amazing, great balance of flavours and delicious. I definitely recommend the eggplant for entree, duck for main and chocolate for dessert.

On top of that, the service is excellent. Very attentive.

I actually loved this place so much, I went there twice during my 6 day visit. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    127
    43
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
“One of the best fois gras' I've ever tried!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves on our last night in Vietnam and decided to try a differnet cuisine to Vietnamese. We knew that this was going to be difficult since we ate so well during our whole trip.

We'd been to a French fusion restaurant in Hoi An (Mango Mango) and was very disappointed.

We ordered the fois gras as entre and knew tat this would be the make or break dish. And wow!~ I was blown away. It was truely an amazing experience. The "fusion" element was minimal as one of the other commentors mentioned. But still present and married absolutely perfectly with the dish.

The duck as main was as exceptional.

I guess with the bar set so high with the entree and main and I wasnt 100% sold on the desserts, but that may simply be because I had barely any room left :)

Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Comparative to other restaurants in Hanoi La Badiane is more on the expensive side. However you could see it as a bargain considering the food freshness and quality All the food we ate exceeded expectations! Definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Hanoi :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Devine crab ravioli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Lunch today was excellent.beetroot and feta salad, the outstanding crab ravioli with a dill,coconut foam topped off with an amazing dessert of passion fruit soufflé with popping rice and a toffee lace decoration. Lovely service, wine and atmosphere in the upstairs air conditioned room

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wageningen
1 review
“Excellent food quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

In this small street you will not expect to find an exclusive French restaurant of this quality. We had 3 course meals with 4 persons, bottle of wine (Chardonnay), sparkling water, coke, and Irish Coffee, all food around 220 USD. The presentation of the dishes were excellent. As was the staff.
You will not be disappointed by this French chef and his Vietnamese staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Badiane also viewed

 

Been to La Badiane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Badiane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.