We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great set lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Badiane

La Badiane
10 Nam Ngu | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
+84 4 3942 4509
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 835 restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $8 - $75
Cuisines: French, Vegetarian, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
uk
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great set lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Good place set in the courtyard of an old villa. Great value set lunch. Good food, good atmosphere. Good service.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    292
    114
    43
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Charming and délicieux”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you are in the mood for finer dining in Hanoi, than La Badiane is an excellent choice. Offering a true and traditional French dining experience, the restaurant is located in an old multi-story house on the outskirts of the Old Quarter. We were in a room upstairs that had only two other tables (though in the future I will request to sit downstairs and outside in the covered courtyard.) We chose the degustation menu - which consisted of 6 courses. To be honest, the serving sizes are huge - so come with a big appetite (ie: skip lunch for sure!) or order a 3-course instead. This is not to say that we did not enjoy every bite (because we certainly did) - but it is a lot of heavy food, so come prepared!! Our meal also came with a promotional demi-bottle of champagne, which was a nice bonus... which we followed with a lovely Italian red. The wine list is good and prices are fair. Service is outstanding - switched on and very attentive (ie: they notice when your glass is almost empty before you have to ask). I would recommend and return at any chance possible.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The best French restaurant in Hanoi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Good food, atmosphere and ok price. Service a bit slow nevertheless.
Menu is a little bit limited but as a result all dishes seem good

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Hole in the Wall Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had walked past this place all week, dismissing it as another hole in the wall restaurant near my hotel on Nam Ngu St. in the Old Quarter of Hanoi. A colleague mentioned that it was alleged to have quite good French cuisine which peaked my interest after a week of Vietnamese noodle soups and whatnot. Pulled the trigger and was wonderfully surprised. They offer both an a la carte menu (about $40 USD for 3 courses) and a five course prix fixe (about $30 USD). A solid bottle of wine will run an additional $30 USD and the selection was quite good (a decent range of nationalities and grapes are on offer, I chose a Malbec as beef was on my mind). I started with a wonderful carpacio graced with subtle hints of gogonzola and fresh micro greens - a delight for my tastebuds indeed! Followed with a well prepared hunk of grilled Aussie beef served in a red wine reduction with potatoes and a stuffed red pepper. The sweetness of the pepper served as a wonderful counterpoint to the mild tartness of the red wine reduction. The flavor of the beef was brought forward with only mild seasoning (no dumping of Montreal mixes here). I am still on a caffiene/sugar high from a splended chocolat trifecta - mouse, lava cake, and a tangerine ice cream with chocolate covered biscuits. A vegetarian colleague accompanied me, and was a first quite dissappointed as the menu had very limited options for him. The chef appeared, an agreement was struck, and an eggplant remoulade and assortment of other veggie courses appeared. He seemed quite pleased. Fresh baked bread is on offer and served warm. The atmosphere is very quaint - bright and open with tasteful local art and color balanced with just the right amount of cracked paint lend some old world charm. Noise was minimal and aside from an occassional whif of that "Hanoi smell", I haven't the slightest complaint. Service was prompt, knowledgeable, and attentive without being arrogant or pushy. Highly recommend. Get here before it is truly discovered. Three course dinner for 2, a bottle of wine, bottled water, tax, and tip was $121 USD. While expensive for Hanoi, this is less than half the price one would find this meal for anywhere else in the world.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Gem of a restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I ate in a number of fine dining restaurants in Hanoi and this is one of the best in the city. I had the set lunch and really enjoyed how fresh and tasty the food was and how well presented each dish was. The standard is comparable to the best restaurants in Singapore, where I am from (unfortunately, I can't say the same of some of the other fine dining restaurants in Hanoi). Amazingly, the bill came up to less than USD$20 for three courses and a drink. I wish I discovered this restaurant earlier in my trip, because I would have come back everyday for lunch :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Badiane also viewed

 

Been to La Badiane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Badiane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.