We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot to offer but be careful about the room they give you” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   94 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #116 of 490 hotels in Hanoi
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A lot to offer but be careful about the room they give you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

An excellent location at the bottom of one of Hanoi's main streets ( for those on a budget, Highland Coffee just up the road offers decent coffee and a baguette for not a lot). Very friendly, well trained staff who could speak English convincingly. Breakfast is good for city hotels buffets: look out for the wonderful jams, which are not over-sweetened). Rooms are small and you need to try to get a higher floor. We were on the second floor and it was a little on the noisy side.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    195
    51
    16
    4
See reviews for
43
153
38
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suzhou, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

- Room very clean and big (family room)
- good breakfast western&vietnamese noodle
- friendly staff (especilally breakfast staff)
- big windows
- good location
- only one disadvantage (the horn of the trains)

Room Tip: family room is big enough for 2 kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great location near the Old Quarter and the Hanoi Hilton. There is a huge Vietnamese restaurant around the corner with lots of selection at very reasonable prices. There is a Citibank ATM right on-site and an HSBC ATM a block away. Staff spoke English fluently. Got a room facing away from the street as requested and it was quiet. However, the hot water for the shower was spotty and it gradually gets colder to cold after about 10 minutes. Since there is no tub, the bathroom gets slippery after the shower.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear hkg2009hkg,

thank you for sharing your experience with us.
After further investigation, we have found that there is a problem with our individual in-room water heaters with too much calcium inside which made it hard to boil and reheat immediately.

Our new Chief engineer has taken immediate actions and is currently maintaining all of them to clear off this calcium.
I'm deeply sorry for this annoyant situation and will make sure that the whole situation is settled as soon as possible.

best regards,
Vincent Delsol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

If you don't mind a little of a walk, this hotel and it's staff are a great pick. The rooms are very clean and up to date. Located a 15 minute walk from the Old City and Hiem Lake, this hotel is just on the edge of the French Quarter. The best part is the restaurant located on the other end of the block is one of the best in Hanoi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear MyNameIsYourName,

thank you for sharing your experience.
I'm happy that our hotel met your expectations.
Your comments have been shared with the teams.

Indeed our hotel is at 1km from the historical city center, a 15min walk. The restaurant in the same block you refer to is called Quan An Ngon.
Even though I have to say that the Pavillon Brasserie in the Mercure is very good, as per our regular lunch external guests :-), I personnally recommend QAN to people who want to have a glimpse of the Vietnamese food to go there.
It's a very good representation of the vietnamese culture, both lifestyle and food.

Our location gives as well the possibility to enjoy fusion western/vietnamese restaurants, Japanese, Indonesian, Thai, Halal, Vegeterian ... at just a few steps around.

Once again, I'd like to thank you for your very nice comment about the cleanliness of our rooms and our location.

best regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have stayed at Mercure La Gare on a number of occasions. I have found it provides an excellent balance between service and price, in a very nice location that has some good eating and drinking options within walking distance. Staff are attentive without being fussy, are not intrusive, and speak good English. Facilities and fittings are all well designed and maintained.

Room Tip: In my experience, higher floors facing toward the station are a little quieter with nicer outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Graemedomm,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
As a regular guest, it would be a pleasure for me to meet you during your next trip ... if it hasn't been the case yet.

We're always training and assessing our staff level of quality in order to maintain our quality of service at the best.

I wish you the best for these end of the year festivities.
best regards,
Vincent Delsol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel

Address: 94 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#40 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#76 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#77 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Hanoi, Mercure Hanoi La Gare is the emergence between the French Colonial architecture with modern interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.