We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   94 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% OFF, with BREAKFAST
Ranked #116 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. It seems to be very busy with package tourists so reception is full of suitcases in the morning and evening.The service is good but understated. The staff are friendly. The rooms are clean and well decorated. Breakfast not fantastic but OK. The dining room is over priced for lunch and dinner. The location is OK - about a 15 walk to the old city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comment. I've begun as GM in that hotel 1 week ago.
I'm happy to see that the hotel staff was friendly and that the cleanlyness/decoration of the room pleased you.

I take into consideration your remarks. I've surveyed the rates of the restaurant, the asian courses are 40% lower than hotels of the same category and 10% higher than vietnamese restaurant (exluding small shops/restaurant with plastic chairs).
The western courses are 30% less expensive than in hotels' restaurants in the same category.
Then, as I wish to always adapt the offer to the guests expectations, I'll send you a private mail to get additional information for the brekfast.
best regards,
Vincent Delsol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    262
    72
    17
    4
See reviews for
68
207
49
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This hotel is compressed into a small corner lot so the rooms are small. Rooms are unusual with the toilet and shower room fully visible from the sleeping area, as it is enclosed in glass. There were drop down blinds but they didn't give complete privacy. Lifts and reception area are very small and, as the hotel handles tour groups, it can be incredibly crowded and uncomfortable with room for only a few seats. Now for the good bit. The staff of this hotel are superb - the concierge, porter, reception and dining staff were far better than I have encountered in many bigger 5 star hotels. Whatever the Manager of this hotel is doing - just keep on doing it! Breakfast was very good and the staff (I must mention them again) were outstanding. The hotel stored our suitcases, while we went on an overnight trip to Ha Long Bay, and it was a pleasant surprise, when the car pulled up back at the hotel, for the porter to greet us by name and welcome us back - same for reception. Nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Busy roads all around but beautifully quiet inside.
Clean, modern & spacious
Recommended

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stayed two night at the start of our Vietnam tour. Having looked on Trip Adviser, we realised this would probably be the least favourable, and I am sure it will be.
The first impression was not too good. We were aarty of 19. The lobby is very small and we more or less filled it. In fact there were not enough seats for us all, particularly as we had quite a long wait.
Reception staff were okay. The room had a very large bed, the largest so far, but it more or less took up the whole room, leaving very little space around it. Our room was on the fifty floor and over the main road so very noisy. We were kept awake first of all by the hooting of the many small motorbikes. Once they quitened down for the night, we then became awre of the trains and the train announcements. Although double glazed, I think they could do with another layer of glass.
We did not use the dining room apart from breakfast which was very disappointing. The fruit selection was not large and the fried bread was soggy. Not a good fried selection. However, like everywhere else in vietnam, the staff were lovely, particularly the waiting staff in the dining room.

Room Tip: Avoid room facing the station and over the traffic if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights earlier this month. The hotel is well located and easy to find. The welcoming, the room, the staffs were great. The breakfast was nice as well . We also spend one night on a cruise in Halong Bay booked thought the travel agent from the hotel. We paid around 200 USD per person. We were very glad to book with them after we heard the terrible night that some others guests from others hotels had. One advice, don't book Tour from outside. Its maybe cheaper at first but you don't get quality at all.
Button line, stay there.....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Bay, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I emailed the hotel to request advice regarding taxi service from the airport and received an immediate response. Very helpful front desk staff, open 24 hours. Room and bathroom - smallish but adequate, comfortable beds, attractive design. Breakfast excellent. Lots of choice and plenty of hot coffee.
Very central. Easy safe walk to the old town, restaurants and Hoan Kiem lake.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel

Address: 94 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#41 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#56 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#58 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Hanoi, Mercure Hanoi La Gare is the emergence between the French Colonial architecture with modern interior design. Just 10min walk to the Old Quarter or the Temple of Literature and Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.