We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves the great reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giang Cafe

Giang Cafe
No. 39, Nguyen Huu Huan, Hanoi, Vietnam
+84 62940495
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 80 Coffee & Tea in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Giang Cafe was founded by My Father ,Mr. Nguyen Giang in 1946, when he was working as a bartender for the famous five-star Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi hotel. Although the cafe has been relocated twice, its egg coffee recipe is almost the same as in its early days, with its chief ingredients being chicken egg yolk, Vietnamese coffee powder, sweetened condensed milk, butter and cheese.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Deserves the great reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Egg coffee is delicious! I wasn't sure if I would like it but I ended up loving it and came here twice while in Hanoi. My boyfriend doesn't drink coffee but loved the egg cocoa. Definitely come here and try it while you are in Hanoi. The cafe is down a corridor and upstairs so can be easy to miss. The seats are low and basic but it's the drinks you come here for and they are delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    99
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Eliza Victoria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The reviews say it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Totally agree with everyone. I come from Melbourne and we love our coffee. This WAS the best coffee I have ever tasted. Worth hunting out . We went 4 times in two days . Couldn't stop craving another egg coffee

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very nice local style cafeteria with tasty experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I came here with friends after reading so many recommendation from people around the web. The atmosphere is very local style in an old-design building, the service was nice and the creamy egg coffee is ... just one word "amazing"! If you are a coffee lover then take the hot creamy egg coffee, with quite strong flavour, otherwise the cold one give you a soft creamy seductive flavour, the unique place that have this strange eggnog coffee.

We enjoyed alot the coffee, and also the sunflower seeds as a time killer, and also the atmostphere... will definitely come back, very soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A unique and delicious experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were only in Hanoi 3 nights, but we managed to come twice...

The egg coffee is truly a unique experience and a must-do whilst in Hanoi - and Cafe Giang is the original. Kind of hidden off the street so make sure you don't walk past it, but it really is delicious!

We had the egg coffee and egg chocolate - both were superb!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Seek this place out and try the coffee.
We wen to this place as part of a Hanoi st food tour. The tour we selected was partly because this place was included and TA had recommended trying this coffee.
It didn't disappoint. Unique style of coffee, kid of like eggnog and coffee together, quite sweet but not too over powering.
You wouldn't drink your coffee like this everyday but worth the experience.
They also had other drinks apart from coffee. My daughter had some lemon tea. This was great too.
Seek it out.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giang Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Giang Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giang Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.