We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique and charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giang Cafe

Giang Cafe
No. 39, Nguyen Huu Huan, Hanoi, Vietnam
+84 62940495
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,014 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Giang Cafe was founded by My Father ,Mr. Nguyen Giang in 1946, when he was working as a bartender for the famous five-star Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi hotel. Although the cafe has been relocated twice, its egg coffee recipe is almost the same as in its early days, with its chief ingredients being chicken egg yolk, Vietnamese coffee powder, sweetened condensed milk, butter and cheese.
Saratov, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very unique and charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I came here with a friend locally, Entrance is a little difficult due to narrow and dark. Small restaurant with wooden chairs too short. impression is not very good, but all is cleared when the coffee was brought. As a tornado swept away all my feeling about familiar drinks. Very unique and charming. I was mesmerized by the almost casual drinks but this subtle. This is the only address in Hanoi had unique beverage drink. A bit annoying when I have to pay for the parking fee of my motorbike because they have no parking area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    74
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Egg Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Strangest thing but very delicious. Worth a try because not only is the coffee different and good but also the cafe itself.

To begin with the address is wrong. Its 39 not 15 Nguyen Huu Huan. So its a few store fronts down. The entrance is a bit daunting as its down some dimly lit corrider/alley. The girlfriend didn't want to walk first and had me lead the way. As you walk a few metres in you can smell the coffee and you know you're on the right path. Just a few metres further and you will see the counter. However, even at that point you still have some doubt if you are in the right place. As you go upstairs though you will see all the locals. We were the only foreigners there but seemed to fit right in as we sat in the back by the wall. The back room is not lit. Locals are on laptops and cell phones, eating sun flower seeds. The tables and chairs are quite low. There are TVs up and fans blowing to cool the room. Very interesting place.

I've attached photos of the street sign (indicating 39), menu, the coffee and the cafe. Hope this helps.

Also if you're wondering it was $1 a coffee. Not sure if that was the foreigner price but still cheap in my mind.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
“Great Vietnamese coffe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Actually, this is very local one. Maybe it hard to find out it but when you come there, you will love it with the peaceful atmosphere & typical Vietnamese coffe. It's better to go to the 2nd floor cause it more spacious and well decorated.
Just one thing I dont like is that you have to pay for the parking fee of your motorbike because they have no parking area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Egg coffee....yum yum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I think this is actually at number 39, but it is signed when you get outside. Looks a bit dark and mysterious but oh my lord the coffee was amazing. We sat with the locals, in a mound of sunflower seed cases whilst the youngsters all chatted away. Really worth a visit...if I can learn to make the egg coffee I will be a happy lady. Delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A unique coffee experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We almost missed this place (the address on TA is wrong). You have to walk through a narrow pathway to reach the cafe. The coffee was deliciously rich due to the yolk mixture! We enjoyed this cafe and anyone going to Hanoi should stop by here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giang Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Giang Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giang Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.