We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Butterfly Restaurant

Blue Butterfly Restaurant
61 Hang Buom Str | Old Quarter, Hanoi, Vietnam
+84.4.39263845
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 835 restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I am not too sure why this place has had such mixed reviews. The staff were friendly, our food came quickly and the prices were good value.
We went for dinner in a group of three and tried a few different dishes. All of them were tasty enough for me to enquiry afterwards about their cooking classes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    106
    96
    37
    27
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent little hideaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Tucked away in the heart of the old quarter, this little place has many great reviews and I would like to compliment them.
The food is VERY good, the service is great and the prices are extremely accommodating.
I brought my family here and they were over the moon with the food selection, the speed in which in arrived and the quality.
The restaurant is clean, a little basic, but more than functional.
When we arrived it was a very quiet and a little too bright and that is why I'm giving 4/5. Some background music and mood lighting would have nailed a 5/5 score.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly manager and staff. Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a really good meal at this restaurant. The manager speaks good English ( and 5 other languages!) and was very friendly. He showed us how to roll Vietnamese pancakes. Would recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Place for Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Staff can speak english & every nice.
If you want to experience a good and tasty vietnam food, here it is. You should not miss this place to have dinner before you enjoy walking in Old Quater area in the evening. We love it.
My favourite dish is the simple one; omelet.

Ask the nice waitress for her suggestion or let her know your preferance, she can help you.

You will love as we do.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly staff nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

The manager is very friendly and happy. Ask him what dishes he recommends. We had grilled beef with lemongrass and chilli and fresh spring rolls. Very nice.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Butterfly Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Blue Butterfly Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Butterfly Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.