We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Street food is brilliant !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viet Cuisine (Mon An Viet)

Viet Cuisine (Mon An Viet)
20 Hang Can | Old, Quarters, Hanoi 84, Vietnam
+84439281378
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #507 of 1,006 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Italian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Description: Located in 20 Hang Can Str., Hanoi, about 5 minutes walking from Hoan Kiem Lake, Viet Cuisine (Mon An Viet as Vietnamese name) is an authentic Vietnamese restaurant, warmly decorated with Vietnamese lanterns, hand-made pottery pictures, lacquer paiting, and wooden furnitures. Mon An Viet food menu as well as drink menu are most attractive to clients for its diversity. Most of the dishes here are typically Vietnamese cuisine long time ago. Once come to Mon An Viet, you can hardly forget it because of friendly staffs and our hospitality.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Street food is brilliant !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

You can"t say enough about Hanoi street food.The colour ,flavour,smell,and taste is unbelievably good.From bun cha to pho ga the experience is awesome,and incredibly cheap.If you want to experience the true Vietnam,then street food is a must.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hue, Vietnam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Carnavores”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I really have a hard time finding real vegetarian food. Street food is what this city is all about and it does not really cater to vegetarians. Judging by the number of westerners sitting at street tables I would say the food is probably good if you like eating dead creatures

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidoarjo, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
1 review
“Com Viet Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

located near at the time hotel....you will get surprised when get it...the design was awesome with the lady playing the chinese guitar...just try it

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Can't believe it doubles as a cooking school”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Hotel recommended this restaurant: they'd obviously never eaten there. Duck with chili paste tasted predominently of lemon grass and was full of gristle. The egg rolls were greasy. To top it off, the staff was terrible. There were only 2 other couples there but it took awhile to get our drinks, then they brought red wine not white. To order the food, we resorted to waving our hands. The three of them were more interested in socializing than serving.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious fried rice and grilled chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Found this place while walking around the Old Quarter looking for a place for dinner with my husband.

Mixed fried rice and grilled chicken were on their must-try list so we gave them a go. So glad we did. Food was lovely, and affordable too. For those dishes, plus 2 bottles of soft drinks, we only paid about VND 115,000.00.

We were seated on the 2nd floor, which would have made it a bit difficult to get a waitress's attention, but one waitress just stayed at the bar behind us the whole time.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viet Cuisine (Mon An Viet) also viewed

 

Been to Viet Cuisine (Mon An Viet)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viet Cuisine (Mon An Viet), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.