We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Charming Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Charming Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Charming Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Yen Thai St. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ++84, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I seldom write good reviews for hotel, but charming hotel is really one hotel that i will strongly recommend to others as its value for money.

The hotel is at strategic location at old quarter area which is within walking distance to the night markets (opened on weekends). Though its along a narrow alley where cars can't drive through, the hotel guys will go all the way to the main road to pick your luggage to the hotel, so no worries about that. It is also because it is not along the main road, the room is quiet and noise from cars honk cannot be heard.

The room is relatively spacious (if you pick the ones without the city view), with free wifi services as well as a desktop in each room. The beds as well as the toilet are also very clean, and bugs free. Items in the fridge are very reasonable priced (in fact cheaper than what you can get from the mart) and are replaced daily, this saves us a lot of trouble from buying and carrying water back from super marts.

What is most attractive about the hotel is the staffs there. They are very friendly and polite, and always puts up a welcoming bright smile. They speak relatively good English, so they are helpful in giving directions and recommending tours.

Thumbs up to charming hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    232
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
117
511
146
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here 5 nights at two occasions. The hotel gives a nice first impression, that is, after picking you up for free at the airport. The staff tries very hard to keep you happy, so you shouldn't take advantage of that.

We stayed there on two occasions. When we came with the morning train from Sapa, they even let us use a room to sleep in from 6 in the morning until our room was read at no extra cost (it wasn't our suggestion, but they sort of insisted and said we looked very tired).

I would like to personally thank you very much for your hospitality. You made our stay in Hanoi memorable, and even though we hear people have different opinions about the city, we loved it and you played a big part in that. Thank you and hope to see you again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I'd booked this hotel online not knowing what to expect. I stayed here 4nights and this hotel certainly felt like a home away from home...............clean,cômfortable and secure with all mod cons to meet one's needs including free in room internet/wi fi and with staff happy to see the guests no matter what time of the day or night, always helpful and interested in how your day/trips went! For a small hotel, the services shown by all the staff were well beyond what I had expected, always striving to please from the duty manager, Mr. Dủc to staff at the front office, room service, bellhop,and catering service! I was so surprised when arriving back from Sapa overnight this morning at 5.30am to the hotel, Hưi the night receptionist greeted me warmly with a big smile, offered me a drink of coffee and a room to have a shower and take a rest before my room was ready for check in at 12pm...............how is that for service!! I was stoked. In addition,this little gem of a hotel is ideally located to all attractions within easy walking distance and yet is in the heart of the old quarter, tucked away less than 20m from the hustle and bustle of traffic down a side well lit lane. This Hotel is highly recommended and one worth considering when in Hanoi!!

Room Tip: because of where this hotel is sited down a quiet side lane, the rooms are well presented away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent two nights at the charming hotel. We found it offered brilliant service with tidy, reasonably sized rooms. The staff were very obliging, especially after we were given a hard time by a taxi driver. Our only small qualm would be that the breakfast selection wasn't the best

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Charming Hotel has one of the most friendly staff that I met in all my past holiday trips. :-D Though just a very simple and small hotel, Charming has managed to pack 20+ rooms, dining area, 2 lifts, luggage corner, reception and an overflowing warmth of friendliness in the chilly winter of 9 degC!

For $26usd/room/night, this is definitely one of the top choice for a good, clean, reliable budget hotel, with wifi at all floors, desktop in the room, hot water for shower and tap, complimentary breakfast, lots of channels on TV, supermarket-valued bottled water, soft drinks and hanoi beer, luggage holding service, and reasonably priced tours to various areas such as Sapa, Halong Bay, Mai Chau and Hanoi City.

Breakfast choice includes either a Vietnamese pho noodle (beef/chicken), american toast + egg, classic bread + jam spread. Might not be very filling but its good enough for a light breakfast before starting the day! Comes with vietnamese coffee/ tea, juice/ cordial and fruits.

Hotel is situated in a nice and quiet alley perpendicular to one of the most busy roads in Old Quarters, close walking distance to Dong Xuan Night Market (must go for all shoppers! opens on fri, sat, sun night), Hoan Kiem Lake, Water Puppet Theatre, Dinh Tien Hoang street, Hoa Lo Prison, loads of shopping/walking streets. There's an extremely nice dining restaurant recommended by the Hotel, which is the Bun Bo Nam Bo, some dried rice noodle with condiments that are absolutely mouth-watering. Just right over the corner of Yen Thai street, walk and you'll reach there in 1 minute.

You can easily book your stay through email on their website and Mr Duc, the manager, replies very promptly (almost on the same day or next day). Most of the staff can speak English so no worries on communication issues!

Recommend to take the airport transfer which is reasonably priced and reliable. No worries for arriving at the airport late and do note that a minimum of 2 hours is needed prior to check-in as the queue can be quite long.

Some less positive points (though minor) are towels that did not look the usual hotel-perfect-white which means it could be rather dated but is still clean. The air-con warmer had a max of 31degC setpoint but still feels kinda cold in the middle of the night, no warmer on the floor. There isn't a dustbin in the room and no face towel and face tissues so do prepare your own if needed. There was only 1 power point in the room which was rather limited when you have cameras, phones from both guests to charge. There are 2 power points in the toilet which we had to use in the end (I kept my phone in a waterproof bag while charging). There is an electric kettle but again, not enough power points.

The bed is rather soft but still acceptable for the price. I slept very soundly each night which was rather surprising as its the Old Quarters anyway! :-P

Room Tip: Choose executive room if you want a larger room for more luggage. Note that this is windowless. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for four nights - two nights either side of trips to Sapa and Ha Long Bay. Our room was very small, but immaculately clean, with a nice bathroom and a comfy bed. There was even a desktop computer which came in very handy. A decent breakfast was included in the package.

At the time there was a deal on for a free airport transfer for a 3-night stay. Considering we payed for our transfer, and we were staying four nights, we thought we might ask if we could get our return transfer complimentary instead. The first receptionist we spoke to flatly rejected the idea, but when we spoke to the night desk manager, Huy, he said he would take it up with the hotel's manager. Hey presto! Huy and Mr Duc (manager), saw to it that we got our return airport transfer covered. Common sense prevailed.

We had a brief morning stopover between Sapa and Ha Long, and Huy organised breakfast and showers for us while we waited, even though we weren't staying at Charming that night! And when we left, Huy even refused to take a tip. He is a customer service gem! He made the Hanoi Charming experience a good one. So if you need help while in Hanoi, Huy is your man.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I already stayed 2 times in this little hotel in the old town of Hanoi. The rooms are small and simple, and some rooms don't have a window (unless you book window-rooms!). So when booking, make sure you get a room with city view.
However, the hotel is just awesome because of the people that work in there. They are so helpful and whatever you need assistance in during your travels, they will help you. They even let me shower in the hotel before my flight in the evening (after I already checked out). Mrs.Yen and Mr Duc are the good souls of this place. I feel save and comfortable there.

The rooms are small and simple. So if youre main preference is a big room, it is not your best choice.But the rooms are very clean and the location is convenient. And i prefer a great service over a big room!! I'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: book "city view room" - some other rooms have no outside window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming Hotel

Address: 15 Yen Thai St. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ++84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi old city, Hanoi Charming Hotel offers beautiful and spacious rooms with nice view of Hanoi old street. Hanoi Charming Hotel is equipped with all amenities that you expect such as air-conditioning, international standard elevator, Internet ADSL, cable television, mini bar and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hanoi Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Charming Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.