We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little Hotel with great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Charming Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Charming Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Charming Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Yen Thai St. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ++84, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“little Hotel with great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I already stayed 2 times in this little hotel in the old town of Hanoi. The rooms are small and simple, and some rooms don't have a window (unless you book window-rooms!). So when booking, make sure you get a room with city view.
However, the hotel is just awesome because of the people that work in there. They are so helpful and whatever you need assistance in during your travels, they will help you. They even let me shower in the hotel before my flight in the evening (after I already checked out). Mrs.Yen and Mr Duc are the good souls of this place. I feel save and comfortable there.

The rooms are small and simple. So if youre main preference is a big room, it is not your best choice.But the rooms are very clean and the location is convenient. And i prefer a great service over a big room!! I'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: book "city view room" - some other rooms have no outside window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    242
    36
    13
    7
See reviews for
120
526
147
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Peachester, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It really lives up to its name Charming! A small hotel with very friendly staff. They go out of their way to make your stay amazing. We booked our trips through them and they were great. They even invited us to share in their New Year's Day Hotpot celebration! Lots of food, drinks and laughter!
Only a short walk to the lake and a great coffee place called Joma Bakery. The lane it's in is very quaint but full of action all day with so many stall holders selling meat, fruit, food, clothing and shoes. There are 2 hairdressers and I had my hair washed and blow dried for $5!!!!!
The markets and shops are a short walk away too.
We will be back to stay at Hotel Charming next time we are in Hanoi!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent three nights at Charming in November while traveling throughout Vietnam. The stay went off without a hitch - extremely friendly staff, clean, comfortable rooms, hot showers and a very central location. Can't ask for more for $24/night.

The staff helped us book our Halong Bay Cruise and went out of their way to make us at home - I arrived with a terrible cold and one of the bellboys went so far as to walk me down the street to the pharmacy and help me translate what I needed so I could successfully buy night-time cold medicine. Talk about going the extra mile!

They also offer $18 airport pickup - since its over an hour drive not a bad deal. You can email to arrange.

Definitely recommend. Room tip- ask for a room higher up in the building - in the the lower floors you can hear breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

With the budget price offered, I really wasn't expecting too much but my mom and I were totally blown away by our stay at the Charming Hotel.

We stayed there for 1 night on our day in arrival in Hanoi, and then for 3 more nights from 26-28 Dec.

The hotel is located in a little alley that gets busy in the morning but hardly any of the sound could be heard from our room, and both of us (who are light sleepers) had wonderful sleep during our stay. Some key sights were also just within walking distance -- the West Lake, the famous Pho restaurant at Ly Quoc Su, and the street shopping areas. The amenities offered in the room were pretty good for what we paid for. The free wifi signal was good and the free PC in the room worked very well.

On our return stay, the room we had was smaller and the toilet door didn't close properly. This was later fixed by the staff with a simple hook latch. The power points were also located in odd places, e.g. there was one behind the TV but there was not enough space to plug in anything. And so we had to unplug the computer mouse every time we needed to boil some water or charge our phones, which was an inconvenience.

But these were all small inconveniences compared to the utterly charming staff of the hotel. True to their name, we saw friendly faces every time we came down for breakfast or returned to the hotel after a day's adventures. The receptionists - Hong, Chi and Huy were all adequately fluent in English and were very helpful to all our needs and questions, and also helped us book the tour to Trang An with a reliable tour agent and my taxi ride back to the airport. The other staff and stewards were all really helpful and patient.

Mr Duc, the hotel manager, was great in arranging for us the Hanoi junk cruise during the very busy Christmas season. Once he found out the two junks I originally wanted was fully booked, he promptly suggested a few more options and helped book for us the one on Galaxy.

Best of all, the staff surprised me with a cake on my birthday! I haven't had a surprise birthday in a very long time and it was quite a touching moment. The cake was so pretty and it tasted good too!

Totally impressed with the capable and personal touch that Charming Hotel offers. Highly recommended for its value and its excellent service!

Room Tip: We stayed on 4th floor and 6th floor, with no windows and they were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Enjoyed our stay here - the hotel is a basic no frills one, but was good value for money. The staff was helpful and smiled all the way, especially Mr Duc. The location is a good one - off the noisy main roads, and there are convenience shops and a pharmacy located nearby, We could not find the power points though and a staff had to show it to us as it was hidden behind the desk. We had to boil our kettle on the floor because of the location of the power supply. Otherwise, the room was pretty satisfactory.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here after a long international flight and specifically asked for a quiet room. The driver who picked us up at the hotel was organised by the hotel and didnt know where the hotel was.
that was a very anxious moment and was sorted after some phone calls. The bathroom door didnt shut in the room, the fridge was very noisey so we turned the plug off. We were woken theoughout the night with lots of noise from the room above, scrapping of chairs, hairdryers. Beds were very average. The rooms had no windows. We paid an extra 50% for a room for an extra four hours so we could sleep, but it was just so noisey. It was cheap but Id recommend spending a little extra for something more comfortable. For the same price we got bigger and better rooms in other parts of vietnam. It is in a very good location in the old quarter so good for walking and exploring.

Room Tip: Not the rooms we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charminghanoi, Manager at Hanoi Charming Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear travellers,
First word,We would like to say thank you all for posting us your
reviews on this website.
It is an endless source of experience for us to make ourself better in
this hospitality business.We understand how precious your comment to
us.
Especially thanks to Poppinz,by receiving your comment ,We have updated all the funiture and rooms in our hotel .Also ,We would like to send you our appriciation for staying in our Hue Holiday Diamond hotel.We want to send you our appology for all the inconvinence you encountered during your stay .We wish to welcome you back to our hotel s group one day and promise to bring you the most comfotable stay.

Your Best Regards,
Manager
Minh Pham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the charming hotel in the center of Hanoi's old town and loved it. Very friendly staff who made us feel very welcome. Located in a quiet small road it offers clean rooms with TV, A/C and PC for Internet access.

The staff at the reception helped us with recommendations for street food, restaurants and planning a tour to Halong Bay. We booked a 3 days - 2 nights tour for Halong Bay and Cat Ba Island and it was simply wonderful.

Absolutely worth the money!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming Hotel

Address: 15 Yen Thai St. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ++84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi old city, Hanoi Charming Hotel offers beautiful and spacious rooms with nice view of Hanoi old street. Hanoi Charming Hotel is equipped with all amenities that you expect such as air-conditioning, international standard elevator, Internet ADSL, cable television, mini bar and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hanoi Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Charming Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.