We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Charming Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Charming Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Charming Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Yen Thai St. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ++84, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Asbestos, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed ten days in this hotel, near the lake and the old city but in a quiet little street, before and after a trip in Halong bay, Sapa and Laos. Mr. Duc and all his staff were always very fine to help us. The room are clean, with TV and Wi-Fi. The breakfasts are various. Sure, we shall choose Charming Hotel when we shall return to Hanoi and I think that it is not possible to find a better rate quality / price. So, we recommend to everybody to choose this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    242
    36
    13
    7
See reviews for
120
526
147
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

For a mere US$22 a night, I wasn't expecting anything more than a clean room. But what I got was more than a clean room in a fantastic location. The room came with a flat screen tv with cable channels, desktop PC, free wi-fi and delicious breakfast (You can choose from toast, eggs, pho, etc. You also get fresh fruits, juice, coffee, tea).

However the most unexpected surprise was the service. The hotel staff were really wonderful. We took a cab from the train station at 5am in the morning after a 9 hours train ride and unfortunately ended in a rogue taxi with a rigged meter. My 10 mins taxi ride turned out to be over US$12. Luckily for us, the Charming hotel staff told off the taxi driver and settled the situation for us. We did not even have to pay a cent! The staff told us it was their responsibility to pick us from the train station and it was due to some miscomm between them and the hotel we were staying in Sapa that we had to take a cab. Hence we shouldn't have to pay for the taxi. Isn't that amazing!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in Charming for 3 nights and had the most delightful experience : they were very accommodating to all our requests ( picks ups from the airports, r/w stations, tours etc.) Our room was clean, the bed was nice and we had a computer and free internet. Plus the free flow of tea and coffee and and an unlimited amounts of smiles ! Definitely recommend this hotel for its value and excellent service!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed at the wonderful Charming Hotel, located right at the heart of the tourist district, Hoam Kiem, within walking distance of major attractions.

- No hassle, on time transfer pickup from airport at standard rates.

- Room (charming view room) has the standard amenities, new & in good working order, free fast wifi and even a desktop computer. Clean, comfortable & nice, plus a complimentary bottle of wine (with cockscrew showing attention to detail) which is an unexpected, truly nice touch and really makes people remember them by. They even provided us with complimentary shower room for those times when we need it such as before departing for the overnight train to Sapa and arrival from Sapa in the early morning 4am. This really helped to make our trip a pleasant experience. [not sure if this would be available during peak seasons though]

- Fantastic staff - especially the manager & reception whom helped us booked our train tickets to Sapa, Ha Long bay trip and taxi transfers. Special award goes to the porter who received us at the train station at 4am in the morning when we came back from Sapa. (as we stayed with them again) You have no idea how glad it is to stumble out of the train at 4am bleary eyed, lost among the throngs of passengers stumbling in darkness and seeing him waiting for you with your name, guide you into a waiting car and check you into your room for a nice hot shower and some sleep before breakfast. All the more remarkable because we forgot to request for the transfer beforehand. They simply take note of our return train ticket dates and arranged it. This is truly amazing and shows the great initiative and service they provide. They really do care and that counts for a lot when you are travelling. Thanks to the manager & staff for making our trip a smooth and wonderful experience!

- Good food: Breakfast is always an enjoyable affair. You can't go wrong with delicious Pho and western food.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't worry if you don't get a room with a view (i.e. window facing concrete wall). You get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pola de Laviana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The quality of the hotel is great. First you see is that tehre is no windows in some of the cheap rooms, but yu'll get a very clean and nice bathroom, a very big bed, minibar and a personal tv and computer, and if you are looking for a good quality-price place this si your place with no doubt.

The staff they are great, happy to help you in anything you need. I need to cancel some trips and bookings because my wife got sick and they were really really helpful in anything i asked. Never asked for any money extra for any cancel or inconvenience and they were really helpful.

Location, perfect quite place very close to the lake and everything in a short walk (supermarket, post office, etc...). If i go back to Hanoi i'll be back with no doubt.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Services: Honoi Charming Hotel provide a thum-up services; a fast room service, impressed recommendations for travelling including how to make an order favorite dishes.

Cleanliness: well-done.

Location: It's located in the shopping zone; easily to walk to visit the famous places in Hanoi, such as the lake, shopping center, etc.

Last but not least, this hotel well prepares a thum-up service for the foreigners. Good job.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I stayed here twice; first on arrival and before I flew home. I can't imagine a more friendly and helpful staff or a better place to stay in anything like this price range. The location is great in the Old Quarter but on a quiet, narrow side street (by Hanoi standards anyway). I'm sure you will really appreciate the quiet after a day walking the streets of Hanoi! The standard room I had was not large but more than adequate and it had its own computer and free internet service. The bathroom was very clean and everything worked perfectly.
Even though official check in time is 1:00 PM, when I arrived by overnight train at 5AM I was given (the last) unoccupied room even though it was a Superior room and I only had reservations for a Standard. VERY MUCH APPRECIATED AT 5AM!!! And I was not charged extra although I would have gladly paid it!
So don't give it a second thought, you will love the Charming.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming Hotel

Address: 15 Yen Thai St. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ++84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi old city, Hanoi Charming Hotel offers beautiful and spacious rooms with nice view of Hanoi old street. Hanoi Charming Hotel is equipped with all amenities that you expect such as air-conditioning, international standard elevator, Internet ADSL, cable television, mini bar and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hanoi Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Charming Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.