We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Charming Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Charming Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Charming Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Yen Thai St. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ++84, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed here on my first and last night in Hanoi while on a backpacking trip to Northern Vietnam. The service is excellent and one of the staff even went out in the cold to help us buy trung vit long (half-hatched duck) as my friend wanted to try it. The hotel is along some small alley but it is very safe. It is within walking distance from the old quarter and away from the crazy traffic; hence it is much quieter. Breakfast is good and there is even a desktop in each room. The rooms are clean but those at the far end (without windows) are rather small and is a bit cramped for 2 people, the rooms facing the alley are much bigger. Overall, the service is excellent and value for money!

Room Tip: The rooms with windows, facing the alley, are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    242
    36
    13
    7
See reviews for
120
526
147
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
ross on wye
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and then subsequently another night on our return from a 2 night/3day trip to Halong bay. I cannot think of a more friendly welcome anywhere else. It was some 'Womans Day' and I got welcomed with a flower and card. the room we paid for overlooking the street was just spacious enough and had a kettle for the necessary coiffee.Do not be put off by it being on a side street, it is safe. The girls at the desk were great in helping us choose the right trip for Halong bay. Downside is that you need a bit of a walk to the old quarter to find places to eat. If you have time go to the water puppet theatre it was fun and only lasted 45 minutes.

Room Tip: Pay for one at the front ending with 01
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami-shi, Kochi, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I praise this hotel highly.All the staff is beautiful women and are friendly.
Because English is not possible, much comment is not possible.But I was the best in a conventional hotel.ありがとう

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Visited North & Central Vietnam for just over two weeks and after an initial 4 night stay here to explore Hanoi returned twice more for 2 nights each time after trips to Halong Bay and Hue/Hoi-An. The most wonderful staff who were so helpful with everything I asked for and the location of the hotel is perfect for the Old Quarter. Room quite small but perfectly adequate for my needs and always clean. Computer in the room with free internet access was a bonus. Superb value for money and I will always remember those three wonderful receptionists.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We booked a suite at Charming through Agoda, which is the room in the lead picture here on TA (the one with the nice wallpaper). Turns out this room doesn't exist. At Charming, a 'Suite' is simply the city view room with a bottle of Dalat wine ($3) and some fruit thrown in. At first, we thought it was a simple mistake - we would let them know we had been given the wrong room, they would move us to the correct room; easy. We took our laptop down with us to have this discussion because we wanted to show the reception staff the picture of the room we had booked. This turned into a conversation about how the picture we were showing them was from Agoda, not their own website, therefore beyond their control.Then we looked at their website, and exactly the same picture was showing. At one stage they asked us why we needed more than one bed when we were a couple. (We wanted a room with two beds for the extra space). If you read the back reviews of this hotel, you will see that this same issue has arisen many times in the past. No doubt they will have a comeback as to why this mix up was not their fault, but again, read the back reviews to get the full picture. In the end they 'fixed' the problem by refunding us the price difference between the 'suite' and the 'superior' room. I agreed to this because I believe that the price after the refund was a fair price for the room we had. The problem is that I wanted to pay more for a better room, and such a room did not exist in this hotel. Had I had a more accurate idea of the rooms available at this hotel, I would have stayed elsewhere and paid more for a better room.

I am not saying there is anything particulary bad about this hotel, just that the room descriptions are either inaccurate (at best) or deliberately misleading (at worst).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charminghanoi, Manager at Hanoi Charming Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear travelers,
First word,We would like to say thank you all for posting us your
reviews on this website.
It is an endless source of experience for us to make our self better in
this hospitality business.We understand how precious your comment to
us.
Concerning to this review,We want to have small explanation that the room we gave you is exactly the room in the photos but We have renewed it by changing a little bit in decoration,so you will not see the picture in the advertised photos.That is the only difference.
We do apology this review s author if you felt something not comfortable .,And next time ,when you come to Hanoi,We hope to have a chance to serve you with our at most effort
We believe that with an effort of our entire staff ,We will bring our
guests the most comfortable stay.
Your Best Regards,
Manager
Mr Duc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Paid $23 for a double room on the 7th floor (advisable; it`s quieter, and there is an elevator), soap etc. all provided free. Free coffee & tea sachets daily. Breakfast (also free) is a little average, but it`s OK.

This hotel is on a side street in the super busy and scooter-congested Old Quarter, but as it was a side street and we were 7 floors up, we slept well each night.

Staff are super friendly and not pushy about tours.

But there are 2 stand-out features to this hotel: there is a computer in your room for free internet use. Also, you are picked up from the airport by their taxi driver (this went smoothly)
for free.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor -- next to the toilets and the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Spent 3night at Charming Hotel,
the Staffs are very friendly and their service are excellent,
Especially the receptionist lady called Lien
the cleanliness of the hotel room was clean too.


Staff - 4.5/5
Service - 4/5
Cleanliness - 3.5/5
Value for $ - 4/5

will choose to stay in Charming Hotel again if i'm going Hanoi the next time.
will also recommend my friends to stay in Charming Hotel too if they're going Hanoi!


28 Feb2012
Lynn

Room Tip: The room on the first floor do not have a safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming Hotel

Address: 15 Yen Thai St. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ++84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi old city, Hanoi Charming Hotel offers beautiful and spacious rooms with nice view of Hanoi old street. Hanoi Charming Hotel is equipped with all amenities that you expect such as air-conditioning, international standard elevator, Internet ADSL, cable television, mini bar and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hanoi Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Charming Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.