We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Ngoc Cochinchine

Save Saved
You added Hong Ngoc Cochinchine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hong Ngoc Cochinchine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 - 97 Nguyen Truong To | Ba Dinh, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 490 hotels in Hanoi
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel provided a wonderful welcome to Vietnam. The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful, and spoke great English. We stayed here as part of an Intrepid tour and were pleasantly surprised, given that we were expecting 3 star accommodation. It was a little way away from the old quarter, but still part of an interesting neighbourhood that gave a great insight into life in Hanoi, and walking distance to many areas of interest. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    56
    21
    6
    0
See reviews for
4
41
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Simple with efficient staff close to the old quarter without being right in the hustle bustle
Intrepid choose this as one of the choice hotels and is a great middle of road hotel
My wife and I stayed as we did a one day intrepid and stayed 4 days as a base to go to Mai cho and ha long and would recommend to others

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here for three nights as part of an Intrepid tour. We had adjoining rooms and both rooms were a good size. The beds were a great size but a bit hard. We had breakfast included, and the breakfast was OK. A bit limited on choice but it was adequate.

Its about a 20 minute walk to the Tourist area restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here at the start of an Intrepid tour. Hotel facilities are fine, it's a bit tired though. Our room was massive with a computer which was handy. The room was clean. Beds were very hard (common in Vietnam). Bathroom was average. The shower was one of those hose over the bath set ups and didn't sit in it's holder particularly well so water squirted all over the place unless you managed to position it just right.
The staff are friendly. I couldn't open the room safe and they were quick to help out. In contrast, on arrival at 9pm, the fridge in our room wasn't working, when I phoned about it the reception person told me they'd come by tomorrow to look at it. I responded that I'd like it fixed now and then they sent someone up and sorted it.
The location is inconvenient as it's not actually in the old quarter but on the edges. It's a good 20 minutes walk to Hoam Kiem lake. A few doors down is a fantastic cha ca (grilled fish) restaurant - all they do is this one dish and it's truly delicious.


This is a reasonable place to stay if you're on a budget apart from the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was my first stop in vietnam, and the staff were very friendly and the room was nice and clean. This was booked for me through Intrepid, as it was part of the tour I was on. The only complaint, and this could be said about all the hotels in the region - you can't recharge anything unless your in the room. When you take the key out of the holder it turns ALL the power off including the power outlets. Be warned.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongNgochotelGroups, General Manager at Hong Ngoc Cochinchine, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at Hong Ngoc hotel. I am very pleased to hear about your general satisfactory experience at our hotel and your kind words are most gratifying and have been shared with the whole team. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

At Hong Ngoc, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. In relation to your specific comment on the power in the hotel, you will be pleased to know that we are now reviewing our plan to improve it as well as to provide further training for all our staff.

Thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you back in near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I am staying here as we speak. Staff VERY helpful and nice. Restaurant and rooms service available. We went to the restaurant. Fried rice was fantastic along with the mango smoothly! Room has air on which works great. We are on cultural tour so this was great accommodation for that. Noisy in the room thought the day and quite at night so we slept well in that regard. Fitted sheet on bed (no flat sheet) so without aircon on last night I woke up a few times from being too hot. Could have put aircon on but chose not to. Rooms clean and tidy. Beds were firm but we were that tired after walking and shopping that it didn't affect us. We have nothing to complain about. If I had to make suggestions to the accommodation I would say a flat sheet would be great.

All in all I highly recommend staying here. It's clean and comfortable for our short stay and what we are in Vietnam for (culture).

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongNgochotelGroups, General Manager at Hong Ngoc Cochinchine, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at Hong Ngoc hotel 5. I thank you for your kind feedback and your special mention of our staff and restaurant.

At Hong Ngoc, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every customer; therefore your opinion is very important to us. In relation to your specific comment on the flat sheet, you will be pleased to know that we are now reviewing our plan to upgrade room facilities as well as to provide further training for all our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family with a better condition.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel was the start of our organised tour, and arranged by our tour company. It was not the same standard as the hotel we had stayed in for one night prior to the start of our trip, but the price online was higher. The location was not as good as the old quarter and it was not easy to find good restaurants nearby. Lobby was humid and musty. We had no problems with staff or the room, but the standard was certainly not as good as our first hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongNgochotelGroups, General Manager at Hong Ngoc Cochinchine, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely important to us.

I have noted your disappointment in regards to the location and the lobby . Please understand that July and August were the rainy season during the whole year and it could be one of the reasons of humidity. However, I shall re-iterate this with my team and I apologize that this experience put a shadow over what seemed to have been otherwise a good stay.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hong Ngoc Cochinchine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Ngoc Cochinchine

Address: 95 - 97 Nguyen Truong To | Ba Dinh, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 490 hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hong Ngoc Cochinchine 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the French colonial architecture, the hotel was named after the southern territory of Vietnam, whose principal city is Saigon. Highly recognized levels of service await guests in each of our 60 rooms and suites; each a charming blend of Vietnamese traditional architecture and modern facilities, with high speed internet access, spacious bathrooms and panoramic views of the city. Hong Ngoc Cochinchine is the ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler.Just a short walk from the hotel, you can easily visite numerous attractions in the city including Hoan Kiem Lake, the Old Quarter, Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum and especially the breathtaking West Lake – where you can enjoy a break from the busy city life.Why not starting your day with a workout in the Fitness Center or simply relax in Hong Ngoc Spa. Enjoy fresh pastries, croissants, specialty dessert buffet or the best of Vietnamese Cuisine in one of our restaurants and immerse yourself into the exciting nightlife in Hanoi.Event planners will appreciate our hotel's meeting room with professional event planning and creative catering. Allow our attentive staff to arrange group outings, restaurant reservations, sporting event tickets or anything else to ensure your stay is both productive and pleasurable.Hong Ngoc Cochinchine – a place you can call ‘home’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hong Ngoc Cochinchine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Ngoc Cochinchine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.