We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find Fellow Travellers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puku Cafe

Puku Cafe
16-18 Tong Duy Tan (Food Street), Hanoi, Vietnam
(04) 3938 1745
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #173 of 1,014 Restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: Mexican, Vietnamese, International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Find Fellow Travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Cute staff, creative food a smoking section and a critical mass of people who travel for adventure, good wifi, and they do not seem to chase people off tables. The location in the food street of Tong Duy Tan is a good place to watch people, and free of the noise and smoke of most of the rest of the city

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    52
    22
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“So average...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It's a nice place near the old quarter with comfortable sofa. The service is good. But the food comes with so small portion.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Waitress Messed Up, Cook Messed Up, Meh...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The atmosphere of this place is fine - indoors and quiet, with free wifi and "adult-sized" tables and chairs. We were looking forward to trying it out and the menu looked good. Our waitress spoke almost no English, but we pointed to the items that we wanted to order - a chicken/mushroom pie and spaghetti bolognaise. The spaghetti arrived after about 15 minutes and it was really a small portion! The waiter asked if that completed our order, which we knew was a bad sign. We asked again for the chicken/mushroom pie, which came out about 15 minutes later. I had finished the 10 fork-fulls or so that it took to eat my tiny spaghetti dinner, while my partner ate his pie that was still cold in the middle. With 2 non-alcoholic beverages, the total check came to 275,000 VND - certainly an expensive meal by Hanoi standards, and not worth the price. Went to a bakery immediate afterwards to get something filling. There are places in this neighborhood offering much better value than the Puku.

They offer delivery, but it isn't free. Well, they say it is, but the prices on the delivery menu are more than those on the menu for eating in.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum but western.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Not the cheapest place to eat but yummy and comforting after 3 weeks of vietnamese food. Nice and warm, as well as being 24 hrs

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A nice reprieve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We ate here when we needed a break from Vietnamese food. We had the burrito which was very tasty and hit the spot. It was a good location with nice staff. Prices were reasonable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puku Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Puku Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puku Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.