We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Convenient Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Lotus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Lotus Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Lotus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 hang Trong Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Friendly & Convenient Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Situated well near both the "French quarter", small lake and old town, this is a small hotel. The staff are great. Say hullo to Ta Doan, Miss Linh, and Tuan at the reception. The back rooms are quiet. The front rooms have a balcony but get noisy from 6 am. The middle rooms I am told get lift noise. I guess nothing is perfect. The food is good, but can be elevated to great if you talk to Kelvin, the Food & Beverage Manager, and the chef who works in the unpretentious kitchen in the basement. All in all, the fact that I keep meeting return guests, who regard themselves as part of a "family", says it all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    69
    8
    3
    9
See reviews for
24
76
16
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed at the Golden Lotus for 2 nights in January. The service we recieved was fantastic. The staff could not do enough for us, from booking tours to making sure we we comfortable, everything was done with a smile. When we were stranded in Hanoi at 4:30 in the morning after being dumped off the Sapa train, the Golden Lotus took us in gave us breakfast and booked us a car to get us to the airport to get our next flight.
The room, although not huge, had a bed that is so far the most comfortable we have experienced in Vietnam and we have stayed in 5 star hotels during our stay. The only critisism I can give is that the hot water didn't stay hot for very long but it did heat up again reasonably quickly.
The hotel is located in the heart of Hanoi which means everything is within walking distance.
Cannot reccommend this hotel enough "FANTASTIC".

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

I stayed here in November 2010 and loved it. The room while small was spotless, well decorated and had one of the most comfortable beds throughout my asia trip.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, they organized flights and trips for me at good prices with no commission. The room has free wifi and water and even the mini bar is priced reasonably, the included breakfast was also great - the chef will cook your eggs for you and theres a ton of buffet selections. The location is also just perfect if you want to stay in the old town - which i recommend. All in all I dont think I could of found a better hotel in Hanoi.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

We stayed in the suite rooms over a few days at the Golden Lotus, they were very good, spacious, high up to keep the street noise down, and good views. Friends who stayed with us in cheaper rooms found them a bit small, some have no windows (quiet but no view). For us it was a good experience and we would stay there again, providing we could book the suite rooms.
The front desk staff spoke excellent english, and were always helpfull with any requests.
This hotel puts you right in the middle of the Hanoi action, so if you want to immerse yourself in Hanoi, give it a try.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

The hotel is on the best place in Hanoi, in a carefully renovated building. The performance/price ratio is very good, the room is not a big one, but well equipped (air-condition, safe, minibar, TV, etc.)., the only problem with the ventilation of the bathroom if it is not in use. The restaurant is very nice and good, good breakfast, the service in general excellent and the espresso is good, too. There is a bar on the roof with a nice view. The hotel is on the best place in the centre of Hanoi.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

I went to Hanoi with my girlfriend last Christmas. It was great experience since the staff of the hotel treated us so well. We could manage to travel all the places in Hanoi by the help of the hotel staff.
After travelling around the city, we got back to hotel and experienced the view of the central of Hanoi by going up to the bar on the top of the hotel. They served us with great drinks and live traditional musical instrument.
I enjoyed every single day in Hanoi and hope to be back this coming Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We are a group of friends stayed at Golden Lotus Hotel 2 for 2days, we normally get a cab at the airport especially hearing about numerous scams that are in operation at the airport that involves taxis. Suprising the hotel that we booked arranged a taxi transport for us. This hotel is located in the Old Quarter near the lake close to shops places to eat the hotel staffs provides you with a map of Hanoi. Their breakfast offers good variety of breakfast choices, including both Western and Vietnamese crusine. thank you for making our stay in Hanoi a much better one.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lotus Hotel

Address: 39 hang Trong Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lotus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter, Golden Lotus Hotel is the most convenient for banking, shopping, strolling, eating, drinking, and entertaining.It takes 2 minutes walk to reach the beautiful Restore Sword lake, Hanoi Cathedral, and supermarket.Golden Lotus hotel offer the luxurious and spacious room with Orient design style. Rooms with full amenities such as: safety box, Clothes wooden cabinet, LCD cable TV, IDD phone,comfortable bed and modern bathroom with toiletries ...Professional staff will make your stay becomes unforgettable in Hanoi. Let's come and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Lotus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.