We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doctor River the Medicine Man” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jasmine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Jasmine Hotel to your Saves list
The Jasmine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   157 Lo Su, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 stars 470 Reviews
Old Bar, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Doctor River the Medicine Man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had picked up a bit of a belly bag on the way to Hanoi and after a couple of 'uncomfortable' days, Doctor River insisted on taking me to the SOS International Hospital for some medication and I was back on track in 24 hours. Some special 'yellow fruits' as suggested by the SOS Doctor were found for me and I was back out in the Old Quarter. This was on the second of 4 separate stays at THE JASMINE, after extended trips to SAPA, HOI AN and CAMBODIA (via Pleiku and the road to Siem Reap from the north east). I was able to leave things safely at THE JASMINE so that I could travel lightly and was met each time at the airport and delivered there as well. When I returned to THE JASMINE I was always met by a very friendly smile no matter what time it was. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the front rooms which I prefer, with a small balcony are of course noisier but you are after all in the OLD Quarter 120m from Lake Kiem, (try and take a bad photo around the lake). Everything was organized for me for SAPA and I was there in time to see the end of the harvest. Overnight train up and Sapa Express bus back. I let Ms Yen in the booking office organize Sapa for me and she rang several times to see if things were ok. Thank you River and Spring and all of your wonderful staff for your care. I also spent a few nights at THE POSH, the sister Hotel to THE JASMINE, I had a great room there and right near the night markets, coffee shops, 54 TRADITIONS ETHNIC GALLERY and BOOKWORMS BOOKSHOP/CAFE. The view from the dining room at THE POSH is magnificent.

Room Tip: I really love the front rooms with a small balcony, I find no problems with the extra noise. The ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    127
    26
    9
    1
See reviews for
85
201
55
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

The Jasmine is good value for its star rating. Clean and comfortable with a generous breakfast. What makes it unique is the friendly, kind staff that go out of their way to be helpful. Situated in easy walking distance to the 'Old Quarter' the Jasmine is a great place to stay and relax.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Great service and good deal for location. The hotel very kindly helped organize a last minute day tour after 8pm the night before, when other plans fell through. AC was broken in my room - and it was very hot, which was disappointing after 40 hours of travel. It was also quite noisy and my room was poorly ventilated. I was told I had booked at a bargain rate, but I don't think that was an excuse for the AC problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street and confirm the AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We booked 2 nights here after having come back from Halong Bay and were met by the receptionist when we got dropped off at the hotel, she came out to welcome us and give us a hand with bags.

We were shown to our room after being given a free bottle of water each. We got told that our room had been upgraded for free too! The room was great, clean, spacious, and relaxing. There was also a mini kettles with tea and coffee sachets and more free water bottles (replenished each day). The bathroom was again clean and fairly sized with free toiletries and great hot water and water pressure in the shower.

The location is great, very near the lake and water puppet theatre and lots of lovely Vietnamese street food places.

The staff are super friendly and every time we walked past reception they would have a little chat with us, asking what our plan for the day or where we'd been.

One slight irritant at the end if the stay was that when you book a room you are quoted in USD but you pay in VND, but they work out the exchange rate more than the current exchange rate to favour them (we paid an exchange rate of 21,500vnd to the $1, when the actual exchange rate was 21,175vnd to the $1), so perhaps ask to pay in dollars.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was our second stay at The Jasmine Hotel and it was just as wonderful as our first. Knowing it was our honeymoon they decorated our room and gave us a special honeymoon cake and wine. The best thing about this place is how warm and welcoming the staff were, they were so helpful organising our trip to Ha Long Bay and the breakfast provided was very homely. The hotel was in a great location in the Old Quarter and staff were always happy to give advice on where to visit and shop.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

All staff members were superb in this hotel. They couldn't be more helpful. We took an overnight trip to halong and got back to hotel at 4.30 pm. The hotel had only one room available but they gave us (free) to shower before we left for our over night train to Da Nang. When we came back from Hue for the second stay at 4:30 am, they offered us an early check in at 5:30am and did not charge any extra for this early check in. The front desk organised taxi to/from airport for us as well as the trip to Halong bay, train tickets to Da Nang and from Hue back to Hanoi. We were 2 hours late to check out of our room the final day but we were not charged extra for that - incredibly service. Location is also very excellent - only a minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake.

Room Tip: Me and my partner had the same room both time and we were happy. It is on the back, high floor and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

At the Jasmine Garden Hotel it is all about the most unforgettable customer service and the guest is number 1. All the staff are focused at giving you a positive experience where nothing is too much trouble. They are extremely welcoming you and make sure you are comfortable before booking you in. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and airy and plus the bed was extremely comfortable. A little outside balcony was lovely to watch the world go by. Breakfasts are included in the booking and are delicious! Located in the centre of Old Quarter Hanoi made shopping and taking in the sites all in walking distance.I have already recommended The Jasmine Garden Hotel to friends as I am confident they will receive 5 class service.It is certainly a credit to Spring River Miss Yen and all the staff for their caring can do attitude.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jasmine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jasmine Hotel

Address: 157 Lo Su, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jasmine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jasmine hotel is located near Hoan Kiem lake in Hanoi old quarter. The hotel is highly RECOMMENDED by lonely planet and rough guides books since 2010. It provides 30 great, nice rooms with good price (private room from only $24/night). No hidden cost! No worries. Every room has complimentary bottled water and in-room complimentary drinks everyday. Some deluxe rooms have balcony and extra fresh fruit daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Jasmine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasmine Hotel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jasmine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.