We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Faces” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Central Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Central Star Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Central Star Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Phu Doan Street | Hoan Kiem District - Old Center, Hanoi 04, Vietnam (Formerly Trung Nam Hai Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Offers & Announcement
Ranked #433 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Friendly Faces”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The staff of Trung Nam Hai Hotel are always happy to assist you with whatever you need. The wifi service is also excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    36
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
59
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We would stay here again. Very nice and good price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capel,WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

our family of four stayed at this hotel - in the room pictured I think - and another one of their family just around the corner. The location was excellent and the service was warm, friendly and obliging. Van, the manager and the staff there did everything to make our stay enjoyable. The room we stayed in was large and clean. They booked tours and water puppet show for us and could have done more if we had not already done so. They organised our laundry at about $1AUD a kilo and it was returned fresh, clean and beautifully folded. The breakfasts were varied with both western and asian dishes and they even happily tried to find things our kids would eat. The walk to souvenir shops, Hoan Kiem lake and other spots really short and just around the corner is Madame Heins - a fabulous restaurant which is a must for a bit of a splurge. I would happily recommend Trung Nam Hai.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is our second trip to Hanoi -- this time for business for three weeks, and we stayed again at Trung Nam Hai Hotel in the Old Quarter. It was every bit as good as the first time -- large room, clean, comfortable bed, and so helpful staff. Tony (looks after travel) is doing his law degree so will not stay at the hotel forever, but there is depth to the staff so not to worry. The pick-up at the airport was flawless.

Room Tip: I prefer a room on the 4th or higher floor to avoid noise coming up from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aust
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Trung Nam Hai Hotel.

We stayed 10 nights on the 7th Floor. Room 701. Non smoking floor- please make sure you request, this if smoking bothers you, being an asthmatic, I had to stay clear of smoking rooms.

Floors 6 & 7 are non smoking.

Lovely clean large room, natural light & airy from two corner windows, one double bed & one single bed, enough for our family of two adults & one young child. Good air con.

Breakfast included, views to the east side of St Josephs Cathedral.

Staff lovely & very helpful & informative. Always welcomed us “ home” when we wandered up the front steps from a day out.

Great location, about 10 minutes walk to the Hoan Kiem Lake.

For laundry, turn left as you walk out from hotel and left down a little lane where the Backpackers Hostel is situated and a Gecko Restaurant, laundry in that lane is $1.00 per kilo, good price, always had our clothes laundered well.

Would we stay here again? Yes we would.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank all staff at Trung Nam Hai Hotel.

Room Tip: 7th Floor. Room 701. Floors 6 & 7 are non smoking. Light & airy from two corner windows, vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Just a fantastic little hotel. Kenny and the staff were friendly and knowledgable and pointed us in the direction of some great food and interesting sights. All the front desk staff spoke English and the hotel is in a good spot - a short walk from the tourist epicenter but far enough away so as not to be too chaotic in terms of traffic. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We really enjoyed the Trung Nam Hai Hotel. The accommodations were large and clean, and the cable TV channels were an unexpected bonus. Breakfast was a special plus - generous portions of cooked to order eggs. Great location near everything we wanted to see. Best of all is the staff - these guys were absolutely fantastic - friendly, helpful, knowledgeable. The room rate was also quite reasonable making this a terrific bargain and very happy experience. Also important: on all communications prior to arrival, the staff was extremely prompt and thorough in response - it made us feel confident that we had chosen the right hotel, and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Central Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Central Star Hotel

Address: 27 Phu Doan Street | Hoan Kiem District - Old Center, Hanoi 04, Vietnam (Formerly Trung Nam Hai Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hanoi Central Star Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally Located in Hanoi Old Quarter, Hanoi Central Star Hotel provides spacious rooms with big windows and balcony. Free WiFi is offered in all rooms and the building. Hanoi Central Star Hotel is well situated within 200 meters from St Joseph's Cathedral and 300 meters from Hoan Kiem Lake,400 meters to Hanoi Night market and 500 meters to Water Pupet Theater and many other landscapes. Noi Bai International Airport is a 35-minute drive away.Offering city view, all rooms have a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee maker and a fridge. All rooms have private bathrooms with bathtub.The hotel provides travel services including daily tour arrangements and pick-up service, flight booking, etc.Room service is also available 24-hour daily. At Hanoi Central Star Hotel, you are assured of traditional comfort, a wealth of local history and discreet, attentive and personalized service. The staff and management would like to extend you a warm welcome and look forward to receiving you in the near future. We hope that you enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hanoi Central Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Central Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.