We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and a wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Central Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Central Star Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Central Star Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Phu Doan Street | Hoan Kiem District - Old Center, Hanoi 04, Vietnam (Formerly Trung Nam Hai Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Mountain View, California
1 review
“Fantastic service and a wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We booked a room at the Trung Nam Hai based on the recommendations that we had seen on tripadvisor and we were not at all disappointed. We arrived late Friday night and stayed the following Saturday night as well. The location is great, within easy walking distance of all of the sights of the Old Quarter. Our room was clean and comfortable with air conditioning and cable television. What really differentiated our stay was the service. The staff were unbelievably friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We arrived with only a vague idea of what we were going to do during our stay in Vietnam and they helped us plan and book trips to SaPa and Ha Long Bay. Since our train to SaPa left at 8:00pm, the staff gave us a late checkout, free of charge, allowing us to stay in our room until 6:00pm. One of the staff, Dien, not only escorted us to the train station, but insisted on helping us with our bags all the way to our sleeping compartment. He also met us at the train station on our return trip. When we had a few hours between the arrival of our return train from SaPa at 5:00 am and our bus to Ha Long at 8:00 am, the staff gave us a room to shower and rest in, again free of charge. When we came back from Ha Long, the hotel was booked but they arranged for us to stay at another hotel (First Choice Hotel) owned by the same company which was very close by for the same rate. Overall, we had a great experience at the hotel and the hospitality of the staff was one of the best aspects of a very enjoyable trip to Vietnam.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    33
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
59
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We really enjoyed our 3 nights at Trung Nam Hai Hotel. I was greeted at the Hanoi airport by the taxi driver arranged in advance by Tony ($17) and the 40+ minute taxi ride was a fun experience. The service at the hotel was very good: I was helped with my bag and welcomed with a glass of water and good advice on things to see in Hanoi, and staff were friendly and always available to answer my questions (also eager to sign us up for a Ha Long cruise, which we skipped in favour of a stop in Ninh Binh). E-mail response was very quick. Breakfast was good and there are a few options (eggs and toast, pho, a variety of fruit, coffee, etc). The location in the old quarter is ideal: just a few blocks from Hoan Kiem lake and within walking distance from all of the key sights. Clean and nicely furnished rooms with WIFI. Hanoi is an exciting city, and this is a great hotel from which to enjoy it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We agree with the other reviews, this is a terrific little hotel -- super service and good location. Booking direct with the hotel is cheaper than through booking services. Also, hotel can arrange Ha Long cruises, Sapa hotels/tours, etc., cheaper than through the web. We stayed for 10 nights intermittently over a two week period.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

we had 4 days in this very clean and well run hotel. the staff have been the best thing about Hanoi and wished we could take them all on the rest of our journey. Mitovin and Kenny were especially helpful. The rooms are very clean and the rest of the hotel looks very sharp. Walking around the old quarter we noticed most of the hotels (in this price range) all look very similar. so i would recommend staying here if not just because of the staff. Great street food nearby and great restaurants too (special mention too Madame Hien restaurant). i wouldn't consider it loud and its close enough to everything the OQ has to offer

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheine, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I was only one day in this yery good Hotel. The Comfort is good and the personal is very friendly! Next year i go here! You sleep nice and the breakfast and Cofe it is good. The Hotel is in the Center and you have many way`s to walk! Room was big, the Bathroom was clean.Maybe it is better to take a room, it is not near the Lift!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stopped here for 3 nights on our way through to Halong Bay and were looking for somewhere relatively priced. The Hotel was cheap in our opinion but the service and room was much better than we expected. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made our stay in Hanoi a great experience... Easy walking distance to the Lake and many of the sights - this Hotel is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed here as a couple for one week and it could not have been any better. We bargained a little and paid 25 $ (for both) including a very nice breakfast and they even upgraded our room, so we had lots of space and a really nice bathroom.
All important sights are in walking distance, as well as nice restaurants and shopping opportunities.
But best of all was the perfect service, everyone being extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Central Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Central Star Hotel

Address: 27 Phu Doan Street | Hoan Kiem District - Old Center, Hanoi 04, Vietnam (Formerly Trung Nam Hai Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hanoi Central Star Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally Located in Hanoi Old Quarter, Hanoi Central Star Hotel provides spacious rooms with big windows and balcony. Free WiFi is offered in all rooms and the building. Hanoi Central Star Hotel is well situated within 200 meters from St Joseph's Cathedral and 300 meters from Hoan Kiem Lake,400 meters to Hanoi Night market and 500 meters to Water Pupet Theater and many other landscapes. Noi Bai International Airport is a 35-minute drive away.Offering city view, all rooms have a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee maker and a fridge. All rooms have private bathrooms with bathtub.The hotel provides travel services including daily tour arrangements and pick-up service, flight booking, etc.Room service is also available 24-hour daily. At Hanoi Central Star Hotel, you are assured of traditional comfort, a wealth of local history and discreet, attentive and personalized service. The staff and management would like to extend you a warm welcome and look forward to receiving you in the near future. We hope that you enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hanoi Central Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Central Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.