We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great staff & great location... we'll be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Central Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Central Star Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Central Star Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Phu Doan Street | Hoan Kiem District - Old Center, Hanoi 04, Vietnam (Formerly Trung Nam Hai Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Offers & Announcement
Ranked #427 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great room, great staff & great location... we'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The immediate selling point on this hotel was the price... for 20 pounds a night me and my friend got a large room with a large bed each and an en-suite bathroom. Bearing the price in mind, we weren't expecting the Taj Mahal but we were pleasantly surprised with what we got. On entering the hotel we were greeted by some very friendly staff who were great for the entire length of the stay. They do everything to make you happy, like serve you a nice cold glass of water when you sit down to use the free internet! The rooms are large, well lit and clean. We were amazed how we managed to get a good nights sleep in a quiet room, considering the hotel lies perfectly in the Old Quarter. The only snag (and it shouldn't be an issue considering the price) was that the shower wasn't the best, but did give us a decent wash anyways.

If you want to book a trip, tour or find out any other information about Hanoi, the staff are great at helping you, with good standards of English and French. There's also an HSBC ATM machine right next to entrance to the hotel... handy!

For a budget hotel this one is perfect, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    36
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
59
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We loved this hotel - we had a very friendly welcome, and the staff had arranged for us to check in early as our bus got in to Hanoi at 6am. Our double room ($27 per night) was great - spotlessly clean, comfortable, with fridge and TV, but it also had some character with heavy wood furniture. The staff were always really friendly, and the breakfast is great for a hotel in this price range - a whole choice of hot breakfasts, fruit, yoghurt, all really fresh. It's a great location too, very close to everything but our room was very peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trungnamhai1hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Central Star Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear Mabie,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Trung Nam Hai 1 Hotel. I am very pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were well looked after by our friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Trung Nam Hai 1 Hotel very soon.

Warm Regards,
Tony Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I stayed here for nearly 2 weeks and can't recommend the hotel more highly. Spotlessly clean. Comfortable beds. Big bathroom (with a tub.) Nice breakfast. Fridge in the room. Very convenient location for walking, Quite near the church and lots of restaurants . It was a lovely room and a genuine bargain. This is a strong recommendation from me.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trungnamhai1hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Central Star Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear Mrs. Janet,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Trung Nam Hai 1 Hotel. I am very glad to hear that you had such a positive experience during your stay with us.

We hope to see you return very soon.

Warm Regards,
Tony Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed at the hotel before and after halong bay tour, which they booked for us with reasonable price Christina tours. In our tour a stay at a " Robinson Crusoe" island, near Cat Ba was included. So instead of stay at hotel in Cat Ba ask for stay in "bungalow", better stay there 2 nights. The owner Tony is fvery helpfull so is his staff, For a little fee they booked traintickets etc. also laundry was done in 12 hours for a few bucks.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

I stayed for two nights and was very pleased. The other reviews cover it pretty well. My room was superior type with small balcony. Road is moderately busy during the day but quite at night. I prefer stand alone shower but combination shower bath seems to be the standard in Vietnam. Breakfast was four types of fruit and either eggs and toast or pho.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trungnamhai1hotel, General Manager at Hanoi Central Star Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a glowing review of your recent stay. Your wonderful review and compliments are greatly appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you again and create more memories. - Nam Ngoc Thach- General Manager of Trung Nam Hai Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We were very happy there. The staffs were helpful and very friendly. They even shared their dinner with me. Our rooms were nice and clean with big window. The breakfast was delicious. My wife and I really like Vietnamese food. We thoroughly enjoy our stay. I would like to come again and recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trungnamhai1hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Central Star Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear Mrs. Clinston,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Trung Nam Hai 1 Hotel. I am very pleased that you had such a great experience at the hotel.

It is lovely to hear that you were so impressed by our staff as they are working very hard to maintain a high standard of service and make every guest feel special.

It is also great that you appreciated the design of our rooms and Vietnamese traditional food, specially " Pho" in Hanoi.

See you next time.

Warm Regards,

Tony Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and were both pleasantly surprised with the hotel and the city of Hanoi. The rooms are large and clean and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Central Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Central Star Hotel

Address: 27 Phu Doan Street | Hoan Kiem District - Old Center, Hanoi 04, Vietnam (Formerly Trung Nam Hai Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #427 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hanoi Central Star Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally Located in Hanoi Old Quarter, Hanoi Central Star Hotel provides spacious rooms with big windows and balcony. Free WiFi is offered in all rooms and the building. Hanoi Central Star Hotel is well situated within 200 meters from St Joseph's Cathedral and 300 meters from Hoan Kiem Lake,400 meters to Hanoi Night market and 500 meters to Water Pupet Theater and many other landscapes. Noi Bai International Airport is a 35-minute drive away.Offering city view, all rooms have a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee maker and a fridge. All rooms have private bathrooms with bathtub.The hotel provides travel services including daily tour arrangements and pick-up service, flight booking, etc.Room service is also available 24-hour daily. At Hanoi Central Star Hotel, you are assured of traditional comfort, a wealth of local history and discreet, attentive and personalized service. The staff and management would like to extend you a warm welcome and look forward to receiving you in the near future. We hope that you enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hanoi Central Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Central Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.