We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent , well positioned hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Lo Su Str., Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi, Vietnam, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE PICK UP/VISA ARRIVAL
Ranked #12 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent , well positioned hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel was spotlessly clean, had great service and an excellent roof top restaurant. It is well positioned in Hanoi central to the main tourist areas.
We returned to this hotel after a few days and were upgraded to a spa corner suite which was very much nicer than the basic room which was spotless but felt a bit closed in by comparison.
Loved the small open air roof top bar for a drink at twilight.
This hotel would be hard to beat for a clean,comfortable well situated hotel with good food in Hanoi.

Room Tip: We returned to this hotel and were upgraded to a spa corner suit , although the basic deluxe room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,623
    172
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
327
932
96
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We travelled as a couple with 2 kids and a toddler. We had a family room. It came decorated with balloons much to the delight of my kids! It was clean if a bit squished but then we had 2 king sized bed in it. We had a fruit basket and they had thoughtfully provided a laptop with Internet connection although wifi is available too. The bathroom is smallish bit it was fitted with a huge bathtub with jacuzzi function. The downer was due to some 'creative' plumbing, the bathroom tends to flood when you drain the bathtub so we wasted some time fiddling with the plug to get a flow rate that will not flood the bathroom! The water temperature tends towards hot.
Considering the rat warren that is the old quarter, this is a very good hotel in this location. Service is very attentive and the restaurant at L 12 is very obliging, serving up lunch at 3 without a fuss and by western standards, is very affordable for an almost fine dining place (wine glass, table cloth and cloth napkins)
Hotel has Western amneties with (what I assume) local luxury service standard - my room must have been cleaned 2-3 times a day. Every time I return, the dustbin has been cleared and with a toddler in tow, I am ever so grateful! And when I left some Dong as tip on the table, it was neatly placed back in my toiletry bag!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We selected this room taking into account the needs of our 8-month old son. When we arrived at 22:30 from the airport, they were very quick in getting us into the room where the cot was already set up (full of balloons). The restaraunt has high chairs, they allowed us to do a "late" checkout (14:00 as opposed to 12:00) for free which they said they would normally charge for. An additional bonus is that it is round the corner from a supermarket that stocks all the baby basics (nappies, formula, purees), and it is 3 minutes walk from the lake so an excellent location next to the old quarter.

We appreciated that the staff were always very helpful and appeared genuinely interested to help us out and make our stay easier. My wife says it is the best breakfast she has had staying in a hotel.

The deluxe room is very small, and I would only recommend it for a couple who don't plan to use the room much. The family room is a much better size. There is also no gym, so for these two points they did not get five stars.

Room Tip: Go for a family room if your budget allows. If you are staying with children, don't take anythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

First time we travelled to Vietnam - the staff at the hotel were so welcoming, friendly and very helpful. The location is covenient to walk around the old quarter. The hotel gave us a helpsheet with nearby eating places and trustworthy taxi service - both very helpful especially as we were travelling with our 21 month old. Throughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Elegance Diamond in Hanoi from 10 - 14 June. It was excellent in every way, from the warm greeting on arrival, welcome drink, through to the personalised farewell at the car taking me to the airport. The room is classicaly elegant, beautifully serene and has eveything you need, including a laptop. Daily cleaning is thorough and professional.
There is an outstanding restaurant and bar on the 12 floor, which offers stunning views over the city, Hoan Kiem Lake and the Red River...but that's only the beginning. This restaurant has the most helfpul, friendly and professional staff anywhere I've been. The food is delicious, particularly the traditional Vietnamese dishes. There are also modern Vietnamese and Western choices available, but I'd recommend the traditional Vietnamese every time. You can also get a range of cocktails, at very reasonable prices, and enjoy watching the sunset.

The hotel's location is excellent, just about 3 minutes walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and right at the Old Quarter. You can easily walk through the Old Quarter, to the Cathedral, the French Quarter and the Hoa Lo Prison.

The hotel will arrange clean, reliable taxis at the door to take you further afield such as the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum.

All staff - on reception and in the restaurant - are exceptionally pleasant, helpful and efficient. I will certainly recommend this hotel to all my friends. Excellent value for money too.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have less street noise. I was on floor 6 and could not hear noise from the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We took our 7 and 4 year old kids to Hanoi recently. We wanted to stay in the Old Quarter, but wanted a haven to retreat to if the heat and happy chaos of Hanoi got too much. We very much found that at Hanoi Elegance Diamond. The team there were very friendly and helpful, our family room was very nice and the quality of the restaurant on the top floor was a wonderful surprise. That part of Hanoi is pretty low rise, so having a restaurant on the 12th floor overlooking the city was fantastic.

One particular incident highlighted how helpful the staff were. We had an overnight tour planned out at Halong Bay, but the weather blew up and we could only do a day trip. That left us without a hotel for the night and unfortunately Hanoi Elegance was full. The tour company tried to give us the run around, but Hanoi Elegance came to the rescue and found us a similar room a few doors down the road for the same price as theirs. When we arrived back at about 9pm it was pouring with rain, so we had three umbrella-carrying Hanoi Elegance staff escort the four of us to the other hotel and make sure that we got checked in. The next morning we left our luggage at the other hotel and the Hanoi Elegance staff went and got it for us when our room was ready for check in. Great service!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My sister and I stayed here in early June and absolutely loved this hotel. It was beautiful, clean, and comfortable and was right in the center of Hanoi with so much going on to experience on the streets surrounding. The staff was extremely professional and always accomodating. My only negative feedback was that upon checkout they were tallying up our minibar tab and insisted that we ate more from it than we had. I don't think they ended up charging us for it- but they were quite insistent that we somehow ate more candy than we had which was incorrect and a little bit of a dissapointing note to leave on, but other than that everything was great.

Room Tip: We had the Deluxe Diamond room which was not huge but it was clean and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel

Address: 32 Lo Su Str., Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi, Vietnam, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime location in the Old Quarter, 2 minute walk from Hoan Kiem Lake, boutique in size & style with streamlined service & luxury rooms, elegant decor with modern technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.