We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Lo Su Str., Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi, Vietnam, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel is right next to the old town and the lake. It is a perfect location to explore the city. Agoda ratings are reflecting exactly what you can expect. The hotel is in a perfect location, the service is exceptional, the food is great, the rooms are always clean. We stayed in the hotel initially for 2 days but decided immediately to come back to this place after a trip in the north. The second stay was perfect as well and the good rating was proved a second time. We arrived early in the morning (5:30 AM) and the staff offered us a spa room to rest. The spa room was better than the one or the other hotel room in other hotels. After resting, we had breakfast (maybe the only negative point: We did not ask for the price and were charged 20 USD). At around 9:30 AM a suite was available and offered to us for additional 15 USD. We took that and can tell it was worth the money. They did not ask us to check-in at this morning, we did all our administrational things later. They really put our needs in the first place. Every staff, in the lobby, room service, restaurant was very friendly, very helpful. If you go to Hanoi, this is a hotel you should consider. Very good value for the price as well. Overall experience: Excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,787
    200
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
366
1,033
107
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay at Hanoi Elegance hotel, all staffs were charming and welcoming. The room was worth for value, paid us 60 per night with Deluxe Double room and you will not regret: great view, quiet, free laptop, fruits and mineral water for complimentary. Staffs were happy to tell us book a great trip to Halong Bay two days with A Class Opera Cruise. They would be happy to show some nice places to see in Hanoi.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have just embarked on a four week trip around Vietnam. We began in Hanoi, and choose Hanoi Elegance Diamond as our first stop based on TripAdvisor reviews and a personal recommendation from a friend.

My experience with Elegance Diamond was already a positive one before I had even left Australia. I booked via email, and found the customer service representative to be incredibly helpful and polite. She arranged an airport pickup for us after our connecting flight from SGN, and was careful to warn me of airport taxi scams (whereby other taxi driver copy your name down from your genuine pickup driver, and then take you to the wrong hotel). She told me the specific phrase to look out for at the airport, and gave me a special code to confirm with the driver. We were driven to the Elegance Diamond hotel in the Old Quarter, a drive which takes around 45 minutes depending on traffic. A charge of USD$18 was added to our hotel account for the airport pickup, which we thought was reasonable. I should note that while our flight from SGN was actually delayed, the driver and reception staff were very accommodating.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who gave us ginger tea and explained the hotel facilities to us. She also gave us a map and told us how to get to some of Hanoi's tourist attractions. Elegance Diamond is only two blocks (~3 minutes) from Hoan Kiem lake, which we found to be a very convenient reference point. After giving us the spiel, the receptionist took us up to our room, which had actually been upgraded from a deluxe double to a family room (at no extra cost to us).

The room and ensuite were both absolutely stunning. There were rose petals on the bed when we arrived, and a bowl of fresh fruit. The room contained all essentials, tea, coffee, hairdryer, lockable safe etc, and extremely comfortable beds. We couldn't have asked for more! I should also note that we went to the hotel restaurant (The Gourmet Corner on the twelfth floor) and the hotel spa, and found both to be of a very high standard and resonantly priced.

Thank you Hanoi Elegance Diamond for a most wonderful 'Welcome to Vietnam', we will most certainly recommend you to our friends and family.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed here with family for three nights at the start of a two week trip to Vietnam. I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived to find this beautiful, clean and stylish hotel tucked away in the rough and ready Old Quarter amongst the hustle and bustle. Considering the street noise outside our room was peaceful and quiet. For three of us, there were two large queen beds which was great and much better than having a sofa bed.

There was a laptop in our room and the wifi connection was fast. Our room was large with two big windows it was nice and bright inside. It had all the amenities you could want, including two hairdryers. We asked for an adapator and ear plugs which were given to us at reception.

Breakfast was impressive, cooked food as well as a continental selection of cheeses and meats. You can also order eggs, pancakes etc from another menu. The best thing about the hotel was the staff, we received genuinely great service. Everyone spoke English very well. On the first day we asked the hotel to find us a private tour guide for a half day tour around the city. We were given a young woman called Mai or May, she was excellent. She asked us which sites in particular we were interested in visiting and was very knowledgeable.

All in all a top stay! The Old Quarter is a great place to stay, it reveals the true character of Hanoi and gives you a taste of the local life.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed at the Elegance Diamond Hotel in early Feb 2013 for 3 nights, we booked this Hotel after reading reviews on the Tripadvisor web site. The Hotel is well equiped and of a high standard.
It is in the Old Quarter not far from the lake, we stayed in a Deluxe Room for two of the three nights and found it clean and comfortable...the beds are one of the best l've slept on in all of the Hotels l've ever stayed at. They soft without being too soft...most beds in Asia tend to be too hard for me and as a result l never get a good nights sleep. Breakfast was smorgus board and cooked it was really good with fresh juices...and with it being in their rooftop Resturant gave you fantastic views of the city. What a great way to start your day. Service was excellent l might add.
On the third day we went to Ha Long Bay for a 2D 1N Cruise....Elegance Diamond kindly held our luggage for us until we came back and to our wonderful supprise they up graded us to a suite room....wow that was a really lovely and large room again with the best beds in Asia. It was also our 25th Wedding Anniversary so Elegance Diamond supprised us on our arrival with a lovely card and helium ballons...they really know how to make you feel special....So well done Elegance Diamond, you get full credit for your sevice and care. I would recommend this Hotel to any fussy traveller and was glad l used Tripadvisor to research my accommodation for my trip to Vietnam.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

After almost 1000 reviews for this hotel, there is not much I can add. I confirm everything positive that has been said about this place: good location, nice, well furnished rooms where a lot of attention has been given to details (e.g. reading lights), very friendly, helpful and professional staff, good breakfast buffet, etc., etc. Only small problem: Although the street rooms have thick windows, they cannot filter out completely the noise which starts around 7 am. I would still come back and even accept a street room if I had too because I think it's hard to beat this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back side are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading many excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We found the street noise took a bit of getting used to and the loud speakers on the street every day at 7.30 am and 4.30 pm outside our room were annoying (we were told this was advertising or something to do with the upcoming new year's celebrations) But despite this, we had a very comfortable room with a lovely bathroom. The breakfast buffet was excellent with extras being offered from a menu (great omelettes). The staff were very helpful, when our daughter took ill they arranged for a doctor to come, almost instantly, and they also had someone go to the pharmacist to collect the prescriptions for us and they never failed for the rest of our stay to enquire how she was. Their restaurant is rated one of the best in Hanoi and we ate there several times, they didn't mind us bringing our own wine. Their laundry service costs next to nothing, so all our washing was kept "up to date". They organised our trip to Halong Bay for 3 days and stored our luggage until our return. The location of the hotel is in the old part of town, close to the lake and shopping but if you want to venture further, taxis are incredibly cheap. All in all we had a very enjoyable 10 days in Hanoi and our stay at the Elegance Diamond made it perfect. Also a big thank you to Ngo and the rest of the staff for all their help and concern during our stay

Room Tip: Higher floors and rooms at the back of the hotel (no view but are less noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel

Address: 32 Lo Su Str., Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi, Vietnam, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime location in the Old Quarter, 2 minute walk from Hoan Kiem Lake, boutique in size & style with streamlined service & luxury rooms, elegant decor with modern technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.