We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Lo Su Str., Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi, Vietnam, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE PICK UP/VISA ARRIVAL
Ranked #12 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Stayed three nights with my family in two rooms. Hotel staff could not have treated us better. Our young son was almost spoilt to death. Transfers were great as were the meals we eat at the hotel. Everything was very reasonably priced. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,623
    172
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
327
932
96
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Me and my partner had a three night stay at the Elegance Diamond and couldn't have better things to say about the hotel! Our stay was spread across two weeks and they couldn't have been more accommodating with early check in's, airport pick ups and storing our luggage. We got to experience three different rooms as well and the experience was consistent with fresh flowers, great internet connection and comfy beds! Breakfast is served in the 12th floor restaurant with fabulous views across the city and great spread to get your day started. One morning they even gave us packed breakfast as we had an early flight, which we totally didn't expect and over exceeded our expectations. Lunch and dinner is also beautiful, one of the best Bun Cha's we had on our whole trip!!

Superb staff, beautiful hotel and good location. I think Elegance Diamond would be hard to beat and we will not hesitate recommending to our friends and family and we'll be sure to stay again when we return.

Room Tip: We loved room 807!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

High quality 4 star hotel with exceptional service.This hotel is fully air-conditioned with double glazed windows - a must if you want be in the old quarter of Hanoi. Plan your trip in Vietnam with these people - they know the lie of the land and you will not be disappointed. Staff here will treat you like family. We recommend the North-East including a Ba Be National Park homestay - some clean western comforts and you will be engaged in the real Vietnam.

Room Tip: For a few extra dollars try the Executive Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We flew into Hanoi and spent 3 nights at the Diamond Elegance in a family room. Highly recommend this hotel which punches above its weight, especially on a service level. Good in house dining, nice little terrace bar with reasonably priced drinks, good breakfast, modern, clean rooms with a flat screen AND a laptop and very reasonable laundry. Excellent location about a 5 min walks to the lake..
We had a lovely dinner at Madame Hien, toured the Hanoi Hilton, the Lake, “Uncle Ho’s” mausoleum, Temple of Literature etc. Spent a day with Hanoi Kids tour guide which was an interesting day for the kids. Walked around the Old Town which was chaotic and fascinating.
Had drinks one evening at the Metropole ( 10 min walk) and returned with my daughter for the high tea which was a treat. Did not do much clothes shopping, there are no department stores etc and most of the fashion on display was not to my liking. Did find 2 silk cocktail dresses which were a bargain but other than that did not really find anything else. Lots of cheap luggage knock offs around town, lots of jeans (Miss Sixty etc) knock off in the markets etc. We spent an afternoon walking the fashion street and there is an outdoor night market on the weekends which would be interesting… we did not go as we had seen all the shops and the night market stalls are really another shop front for the same shops. Bargain hard.
Bought a few handicrafts (handmade stuffed toys, buffalo horn serving spoons) at Craft link which was very well priced.
Traffic does hit you when you get there but there seem to be a method to the madness and as long as you walk across purposefully, through a break in the traffic, they seem to manage to avoid you!
Would Definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011 via mobile

Can't normally be bothered to write reviews but I really did feel that these guys deserve the review.
Normally I read between the lines on 'gushing' reviews, but I have to say these guys are good. The rooms are a fair size (we had a twin deluxe) and then moved to a slightly larger room. It's tastefully furnished and the showers a great. I was 'concerned' that this branch, being the largest one, may feel less private. But one doesn't even notice that there are 40 rooms. Total of 4 rooms on 10 floors and it is quiet (for Hanoi standards) - but the most important thing (as always) is the service. I'm not impressed by lots of smiling and bowing, so do believe me that these guys are good. We had a 'passport issue' when we arrived at the hotel and found that one of us was given back the wrong passport at Hanoi airport when processing visa (how we got through immigarion is a wonder... Or perhaps not!). Needless to say we panicked, but the general manager took charge, called mr Tsu at the airport, hopped in a cab and went and sorted it all out while we sipped on welcome drinks. Later the passport was delivered to us. All he charged us was the cab fare, and when we insisted on tipping him, he put the money in the collective tip box. His restaurant recommendations were superb and sent us to a wide range of places (also across a wide price range) so he certainly wasn't sending us to just the high end places. They made reservations and we were always seated in good locations. One can't really ask for more here. So at around $80 each a night, in the old quarter by the lake, but still fairly quiet. You decide if this is the kind of place you'd like to stay...

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Everything about this experience was good. From the initial reservation and arrangements for Halong Bay cruise, arrangements for visa on arrival, airport pickup, amazing front desk staff for whom nothing is too much trouble, spacious rooms, excellent breakfast on the roof terrace. The staff at this hotel work really hard to make their customers happy. And all at a really good price. I couldn't recommend it too highly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Excellent hotel in the heart of Hanoi. Pick-up from the hotel at about midnight much appreciated, and all the staff were always highly alert and responsive to guest needs. The rooftop terrace is a lovely getaway (which you need sometimes from Hanoi's insanely frenetic pace) and the food is lovely.

Only hassle we had was having to fix up blinds that were banging in the stairwell during the middle of a particularly windy night. The noise of other people closing their room doors would also sometimes seep through, as did the sound of downtown Hanoi itself. But that wouldn't stop us highly recommending this hotel - incredibly good value for money, a four-star establishment charging three-star prices. In-room laptops is especially impressive.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel

Address: 32 Lo Su Str., Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi, Vietnam, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime location in the Old Quarter, 2 minute walk from Hoan Kiem Lake, boutique in size & style with streamlined service & luxury rooms, elegant decor with modern technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.