We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Street Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bun Bo Nam Bo

Bun Bo Nam Bo
67 Hang Dieu, Hanoi, Vietnam
+84 39230701
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,133 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Noodle, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Description: Bun bo Nam Bo is marinating the beef, then comes making 'nuoc cham' and the pickled vegetables (shredded carrot and papaya). The pickled vegies is crispy, a little sour and a little sweet, which even makes me eat two bowls of the noodle at once. Remember to pickle the carrot (and papaya first, before marinating the beef) since it takes at least 1 hour to get a good flavor on the carrot.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Best Street Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My first trip to Asia. 10 days in Shanghai, 10 days in Thailand, 3 days in Seoul and three days in Hanoi. This is the best street food, in fact maybe the best MEAL I've had in Asia, especially considering the price ($2.75). You come here for one dish. There is no other option, but its amazing. I added a little chili sauce from some zip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    278
    66
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing vietnamise cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Went here with my sister for dinner, had the delicious fried pork noodles but my sister had a dish that the waiter recommended which was just amazing! They served her beef wrapped in lotus leaves accompanied with noodles peanuts veggies greens and a really tasty spicy sauce and rice paper to make your own rolls. Best meal in Asia so far. Good mix of locals and travellers and excellent service. Definitely ask the staff to recommend something you won't be disappointed. Don't miss out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious - and so cheap and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Food is absolutely delicious - we didn't get a choice and just got brought the dish. It is a fun atmosphere, absolutely packed with everyone squished onto tables. You absolutely must go here. Fantastic!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Should be #1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

When you look at the top options to eat at Hanoi this is the top choice for local cuisine. Easily the best place to eat, clean, big servings and very cheap.

If you come to Hanoi and don't go here you are silly!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Whilst staying in hanoi we decided to go on our own DIY food tour based on recommendations from lonely planet. Of those we went to the bun bo was our favourite dish! So much so we went back again the next day. Nothing better than a bowl of these delicious beef noodles and a nice cold Pepsi from the bottle!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bun Bo Nam Bo also viewed

 

Been to Bun Bo Nam Bo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bun Bo Nam Bo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.