We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good budget mini-hotel in quiet alley with very helpful staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Phoenix 2 Hotel

Hanoi Phoenix 2 Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Phoenix 2 Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Phoenix 2 Hotel
No. 12 Dao Duy Tu Alley, 50 Dao Duy Tu street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 451 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good budget mini-hotel in quiet alley with very helpful staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

We never thought that having to pull our bags down a narrow alley from where the taxi dropped us, to get to the hotel would be a plus – but it was. The Hanoi Phoenix II, in the middle of the frenetic Old Quarter of the city, was quiet and very convenient. But the best thing was the helpful staff all of whom worked together to provide excellent information on travel within and out of Hanoi to Halong Bay and Ninh Binh areas. We returned to stay twice after these trips. Tony and Phuong were particularly helpful. And when our son and his girlfriend arrived at 5 am soaking wet on a motorbike, the staff let them shower and use the internet until it was a reasonable hour to wake us and they could get a room. Breakfast was fine – fresh bread, eggs etc., there were 2 computers in the lobby and our first room even had its own computer! (Plus hairdryer, A/C, TV ,electric jug and tea - not bad for a $22 booking through Expedia!) With staff staying 24 hours on site, bags left there were safe, and we never had to go up more than 2 floors. So not luxury, but excellent value and the friendliness was a very big, plus.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    23
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
30
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

I am really enjoy to stay in this hotel during my internship of two months in Hanoi. It's a cheap and clean place close to the center.The area is good with lots of Vietnamese and Western restaurants. You can give your clothes to laundry for a reasonnable price. The service is nice, clean and you have a variety of choice for breakfast. You can ask many services to the reception man Phong. Whatever you need for your everyday life, you can ask to him without problems. If you need to stay in a nice place in Hanoi don't hesitate tobook yournights there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Stay in that hotel and your Hanoi trip will be a total success! The hotel is centrally located, the rooms are big and clean and the staff is the best in hanoi!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

this hotel is really a excellent place to stay!
It's near from the heard of Hanoi and situated next to a lot of streetmarkets, restaurants and bars. The staff is so friendly and organizes u everything u like! Rooms are big enough and clean, breakfast how a breakfast should be!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

I read the reviews on this site and made the decision to stay here on the basis of them. I must admit I still wasn't expecting the hotel to be as nice as it was.
Definately great value for money!!
Smack in the middle of all the action but tucked away in a quiet alley.
Very nice staff, everyone friendly, clean rooms and everything worked in them!!!
Definately recommend to the middle of the market holidayers at budget prices.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

Tony and Phong and other staff looked were incredible right from the start. They were really kind and looked after our every need, even booked ongoing hotels for us, negotiated local transactions, rescued us from paying too much, and had a great sense of humour too. Breakfast was excellent, rooms were very comfortable, service was over and above what we ever expected. Centrally located in the older part of Hanoi, the Hanoi Phoenix is great value for money - with personalized service that is hard to beat.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

we were switched to this hotel after requesting a room change from old street hotel. we paid the same rate (us$16) which we thought was a great rate for this room. it was clean and quiet and had a window. we wanted to stay 2 nights but got moved after a night there to a hotel next door (owned by the same people). they claimed to be doing electric work but we got the feeling that it was because they could rent out the room for a better rate. the hotel we got moved to, indochina queen, was not as nice. one staff member seemed a little unfriendly but not outright rude.

pros: free breakfast, clean room

cons: moved so they could rent our room out for more. if stairs are an issue for you, request a room on the lower floors.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Phoenix 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Phoenix 2 Hotel

Address: No. 12 Dao Duy Tu Alley, 50 Dao Duy Tu street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 451 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in June, 2008,Hanoi Phoenix II ideally situated in the heart of Hanoi's Old Quarter (middle of everything) and on quiet street surrounded by bustling old streets The 30 rooms with spacious and well-furnished rooms. The rooms with Big window and are equipped with IDD telephone, air-conditioning, cable TV, refrigerator, comfortable bathroom, (bath-tub and hot shower), coffee and tea making facilities, ADSL Internet, fully English and Continental Breakfast for free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hanoi Phoenix 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Phoenix 2 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.