We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot right on the lake, extensive menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dinh Lang Thuy Ta

Dinh Lang Thuy Ta
1 Le Thai To Street, Hanoi, Vietnam
84.4.8.286290
Improve this listing
Ranked #738 of 1,140 Restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Good spot right on the lake, extensive menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I had lunch here on my first day in Hanoi. It has a great spot just on the lake and has an extensive outdoor seating area which was lovely.

The menu was in English and therefore easy to order. Food was good, not excellent but certainly tasty. What I liked most about this place was that it is clean and the food was well prepared.

Very attentive staff and great outdoor terrace.

Recommended for the terrace and views.

Price is reasonable and was £5 for a chicken with rice and a can of Tiger beer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    31
    19
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great view of the lake, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had just returned from our day trip to Ha Long Bay and wanted a quick bite and a drink. We chose this restaurant as it had a patio and a great view of the lake.

When we were on the patio, it started to rain and we had to raise the umbrella ourselves. The staff were inattentive and were more interested in talking to each other at the bar. The food was average at best.

If you want a good view of the lake and don't mind poor service, this is the place for you. Unfortunately, we won't be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely setting & View.. But so in attentive towards customers!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a coffee as their selection is to die for and lovely view on the river.. I ordered a hot latte from the menu to which the waitress said no - don't have. Only have it cold! I was like excuse me?? "Can you not warm it up then?" She flat out replied "NO." I then asked are did she have Cappuccino, as it was on the specials board outside.. I got a no again! So just to check if the electric was off I asked did she have any coffees available warm.. She said yes, and pointed to a section off the menu.. Bizarre!! We walked out scratching our heads dumbfounded and without our coffee!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Carteret, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Pretty Bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Lazy servers, mediocre food, high prices for Vietnam. It has a nice location on the lake but this was my worst restaurant experience in Hanoi. I was charged 4000 VND for two "moist tissues". That is only 20 cents, but really, charging for dry napkins?

I found the people of Hanoi to be mostly honest, happy and service-oriented. This place was an exception.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great view of Hoan Kiem Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This restaurant offers good view of the Lake side (not the street side), little quiet in the chaostic of center Hanoi. Foods are reasonable good at affordable price for backpacker. The restaurant upstair is more expensive, mainly for tourists who is fascinating about traditional music (they have live music performance) and traditional royal foods.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinh Lang Thuy Ta also viewed

 

Been to Dinh Lang Thuy Ta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinh Lang Thuy Ta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.