We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel in Vietnam. Staff were fantastic - professional and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Elegance Ruby to your Saves list
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE PICK UP/VISA ARRIVAL
Ranked #5 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Cairns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My favourite hotel in Vietnam. Staff were fantastic - professional and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We stayed at the Hanoi Elegance Ruby hotel for 1 night before spending 2 nights on a cruise in beautiful Halong Bay. Then we returned to the hotel for another 2 nights. The accommodation, cruise and transfers were all organised by the hotel via email before we left Australia and everything went perfectly. Our room was a junior suite and was gorgeous. Everything you need is provided. The location is fantastic. The staff are lovely and can’t do enough to make you feel welcome. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,967
    194
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
371
1,129
145
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

What a great hotel! We weren't sure what to expect for such a low price and were prepared for the worst. It was amazing! The staff were so nice and friendly it seemed unreal. The breakfasts were fantastic (best yet in any of our 5 hotels this trip). The rooms are smaller but have everything you need and more and while noise carries a lot, they will provide free earplugs. The location is also fantastic. You won't get service and value like this even at three or four times the price in the States!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainham kent
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

This small boutique hotel is up an alley, slap bang in the middle of old town Hanoi, which for us is exactly where we wanted to be, but surprisingly quiet, from a sleeping point of view. We had a room on the 8th floor with a balcony over looking the roof tops. Hanoi old town, is a mad hectic place where to be honest the best way to get around is to walk. Basing yourself here you wont have to walk far to anywhere, but dont forget to take the map, which the hotel give you. Nice well equipped room, complete with free internet access and computer. The shower in the bathroom looked like something out of a star wars movie,complete with foot spa, whirl pool bath and water jets from every angle, very funky, but to be honest, not the best. As normal all the staff were excellant, but a special mention to the night staff, very chatty and very helpful. Breakfast as much as you want, is taken in a small dining area and cooked to order, mainly western food.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

This gem is located in a side street in the Old Quarter, so is convenient for exploring on foot, yet quiet. It is smart and clean. However it is the friendly and helpful staff who really make this hotel so attractive. A computer with free high speed internet was provided in the room. Would recommend booking the hotel car for collection at the airport. It is fairly priced and avoids the risks of difficulties with taxis.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

I had read a few reviews of this hotel but was unprepared for how good it is. As others have said, the service is great. You sit in a comfortable lounge during check in and are pampered with a banana smoothie - brilliant. Nicest check-in I have had in a long time. I booked a junior suite on the top floor and it was spacious and stylish (OK, the bathroom is more on the functional side) with a big balcony. The hotel is is small and personal with the European approach of leaving your keys at the front desk when going out (which I prefer to the anonymous plastic card). The wi-fi works well. I did not need the lap top but really appreciated that fact that it was there. It has a 2-star rating but I have stayed at a lot of worse 4-star hotels.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

I have always been a fan of the Elegance brand of hotels. I stayed this time at Elegance 4 / Ruby during the Hanoi 100 year festival because Elegance 5 / Diamond was sold out.

Elegance 4 is great. Hardwood floors, comfy bed, extremely clean. Great staff and delicious complimentary breakfast.

The only thing to mention is that Elegance 5 has a more convenient location (Elegance 4 is in a small alley).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Excellent experience. The hotel is located in the old quarter and as such the rooms are small but cozy and the location perfect. The hotel staff is friendly, efficient and anticipated our every need. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. Mr Dzung Pham, the Customer Service Manager insured that all our travels throughout Vietnam went off without a hitch. Indeed, when traveling from Hai Long Bay through Hanoi to Sapa he insisted that we spend the lay-over time at the hotel and that we store any unneeded bagage there as well. The staff established the benchmark for excellent service in Vietnam.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Elegance Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Address: 3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#3 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#4 Business Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Elegance Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated staff, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hanoi Elegance Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Elegance Ruby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.