We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very helpful and friendly staff & value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Elegance Ruby to your Saves list
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct get BEST DEAL
Ranked #5 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, very helpful and friendly staff & value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised upon arrival at how friendly and helpful the staff were.. We were on the first leg of our honeymoon and stayed at Elegance4 for a total 4 nights. We did other little trips during our stay so we actually stayed in 3 different rooms, each of them a junior suite, and each of them lovely as eachother, starting up on level 7 and making our way down. All the rooms were large and clean with computer access in each. On arrival, our room was decorated with rose petals on the bed and a free bottle of wine, which was lovely!
Staff were always helpful and keen to book us restaurants and see if we needed anything. The only hiccup that occurred was that we had booked domestic flights through the hotel to Danang prior to arriving, which we had paid for. By complete chance (decided to try to upgrade to business class on one of the legs), we learned that we had been significantly overcharged and could not upgrade no matter how much we paid as very cheap sale tickets had been bought on our behalf. Upon return to the hotel, we promptly chatted to management about this problem, as in my eyes it was a very large discrepancy that needed to be fixed. To the managements credit, as soon as it was brought to their attention, the matter was recitified and we were reimbursed the extra money we had been charged and assured that if we hadn't noticed this error, the accountants would have, hmmm... All in all it was a great stay in a lovely boutique hotel. We would definately return as it was in the heart of the old quarter and it had a lovely vibe.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,819
    181
    15
    0
    1
See reviews for
338
1,046
134
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

Just wanted to echo lots of comments on here. We visited as a family of four, our kids were 11 and 8. Location is great - right in the middle of the old quarter.
The hotel itself is crammed into a tiny plot like lots of buldings in Hanoi which makes the communal areas small - having said that we never had any problem about getting a table for breakfast.
The room itself though was one of the larger ones we had in Vietnam with comfortably enough space for a family of four with very efficient air conditioning.
The staff are excellent and really really helpful - stored most of our bags for us when we disappeared off for three days to Halong Bay, sorted out our laundry while we were away and provided access to a shower and a lounge to chill out in on our return even though we weren;t staying with them that night. On arrival, they sent someone to meet us at the station for our 4am arrival to avoid any taxi scams - we were four hours late and he still waited!
The service really is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chch
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

This is an amazing hotel. I cannot say too many good things about it, the food was great, the room clean and lots of amenities, the staff incredible - especially Miss Thu the travel desk lady. This truly is the best place to stay in Hanoi. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so memorable

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverly hills
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

There was something about the hotel that drag me to come. The staffs of the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and tidy. The food is so good! You can easily get a transportation to anywhere you want.
The staff asked a question to me upon checked out on how was the stay, I could not sleep that night but it's not the hotel problem, then I told them that I could not sleep. The response was "thank you" well, I did not blame them, they might not concentrate that night. I was staying in Paris, London and some others city in the State, very seldom the hotel staff will ask question on how was my stay.
I would say that you have to stay in this hotel. You will love it. Keep a good work!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Excellent and personalised services which even 5 star hotel sometimes can't provide.
The staff were extremely helpful; provided us with a list of nice restaurants with directions and recommended places of interests. We had booked the hotel room with suite which comes with two queen size beds. Toilet comes with a mini jacuzzi bathtub.
Room also comes with a computer and free internet access.
Hotel is situated at a pretty centralised location yet away from the noisy street.
Highly recommended hotel

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Very friendly reception, lovely rooms and in the middle of the bustling - if somewhat hectic - old quarter. Hotel itself very clean and quiet. Staff is very friendly and always willing to help with reservations and such. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

I was really worried at first when i booked this hotel...it looked like it was going to be a crappy hotel. I am use to staying at these big international brands and so use to amenities. But this hotel really impressed me.
First of all, all the hotels in this old quarter of town is gonna be the same size....that is just building code. So, there are no Grand Hyatts around this area.... you'll have to go further out to get those. (which i also stayed at the intercontinental) But anyways....so, the size shouldnt be a issue. Location? The whole old quarter is really walking distance...i walked everywhere....and you are pretty much at the center of it. The small alley way can sometimes be a little confusing in the map....but you'll get use to it.
Now, the room.....this is the newest of the Hotel elegance chain i think....coz' it definitely is the nicest one. The entrance is well appointed and tastefully designed. There is a nice small elevator or you can opt for the stairs....the rooms are small...yes, sure....the bathrooms have no bathtub...ok...sure......and theres no gym or swimming pool or spa.... ok....sure.... but for the basic needs...like sleep, shower and eat ....it does it well.
The beds are comfy...clean, theres a LCD tv on the wall....the lights fixtures are well designed....theres also a computer in the room with free Wifi! There's also a minibar and snacks. The bathroom is small but functional and a reasonable space...doesnt feel squeezed...it doesnt feel like you're taking a bath in a trailer or a sailboat. Its adequate size...it just doesnt have a bathtub. It has all the bathroom toiletries....i think even toothbrush.
The ACs are all new as well and functional.
The breakfast is also great! has a good selection of Western and Vietnamese selections...and it is included with your room! you can order as much as you want.... pho, toasts, eggs any which way, noodles, fresh baked bread, croissants freshly baked, fresh fruits, juices, coffee, ....awesome! How can you beat that for the price!!!
The staff is also very helpful and professional! they are very friendly as well. I had to cut my trip to halong bay short due to typhoon....and was hoping to stay at HE4 again, but it was fully booked....instead of just turning me away, they helped me look for another hotel by making calls, and walking me to the new hotel. These guys are great!
This place gets my top review......they definitely deserve the number 1 spot on tripadvisor of hanoi.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Elegance Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Address: 3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#3 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#3 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Elegance Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated staff, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hanoi Elegance Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Elegance Ruby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.