We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Elegance Ruby to your Saves list
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct get BEST DEAL
Ranked #6 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“5 Star Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hanoi Ruby Elegance stand out as a hotel to stay at because of their excellent service and local knowledge. The transportation we requested through the hotel arrived promptly at the airport and delivered us to the hotel safely in a city with millions of cars and motor scooters. Upon entering the hotel, we were warmly greeted by all the staff and then a staff member sat us down to review our plans while in the city. We appreciated the time they took to explain the Old Quarter map to us and how to move around the area without getting lost. Plus they gave us a card to use if we did happen to lose our way. What made the service 5 star for us - the hotel staff called and confirmed all of our appointments we had made prior to arriving in Hanoi. For example, we had booked an overnight trip to Ha Long Bay and the staff called to confirm our reservations and pick-up time. Additionally, we mentioned that we were going to walk around the Old Quarter and then stop by a spa. When we arrived at the spa, we were greeted by the spa staff who were expecting us! One day my husband asked where to get a hair cut and shave, the staff member he approached walked him out of the hotel, down the street, and into the barber shop for an excellent cut.
We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and the room was cozy, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. One night we were surprised by a cake, flowers, balloons, and a thoughtfully written card for our wedding celebration. The morning breakfast the hotel offers was excellent. We enjoyed the variety of options that were offered and LOVED the coffee iced!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,812
    181
    15
    0
    1
See reviews for
338
1,046
132
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing, they gave us the best and most friendly welcome we could have asked for! The hectic city of Hanoi can be a little bewildering for a first time visitor fresh off the plane, but from the airport pickup straight through to check-in Elegance Ruby really put as at ease. The reception staff could not do more to help us out with everything, they gave us great recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing and always chatted to us when we were passing through.

The room was compact, but very clean and well decorated, and not too noisy at night, they also had a small laptop set up for Internet use, which I thought was a nice touch, and the breakfasts were amongst the best we tried whilst we were away.

The location is also very good, it's within easy walking distance of all the sights of the Old Town and the Hoan Kiem lake (the hotel has a useful walking route marked out on their map) and right outside the hotel is a small market, which is a real sight to see in the morning.

We left our bags overnight at the hotel when we went to Halong Bay for an overnight cruise, when we returned to the Elegance Ruby we had a short turnaround before we had to catch a train, and the staff welcomed us back (even though we were not staying for the night) and gave us access to a shower room and relaxation area which was a real lifesaver for us, especially after spending hours on a minibus.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone, the service was the absolute best we experienced in Vietnam, which is saying something, if you're looking for accommodation in Hanoi, stop looking, and just book the Elegance Ruby

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAlta
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This must surely be the hotel with the best service around! It is bang in the centre of the olf quarter and the rooms are very nice and super clean. The best thing of all though is the fantastic service. The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful. They helped us before we arrived in hanoi but booking train trickets and tours for us (Same price if not cheaper than what would have costed us if we booked on our own). When we arrived they really took good care of us, they upgraded our room, gave us a welcome drink and explained all we needed to know. When we left for our trips to sapa and Halong bay they let us use their luggage room and also offered us a shower and one time due to our early arrival from Sapa even a room for a couple of hours prior to our departure to Halong bay. Kindly note that we had already checked out prior to all this. They also came to us to the train station to make sure that all was ok with our night trains and they got us our luggage to our cabin! What can I say, they should made our stay in Hanoi the best ever and I am sure it will be difficult to find a service like this anywhere else!

Room Tip: The upgrade is worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Went there in January 2013 with 3 other ladies. Upon our arrival at the airport, there was a prompt pick up, bringing us to the hotel. During the 3 nights we stayed here, the rooms were comfortable, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

However, what truly stands out about this hotel is the service. We must say that the service offered by this hotel can match or even surpass that of 5-star hotels. Every single staff member we met were warm and friendly, and genuinely tried to attend to every request we made. The reception staff were knowledgeable and always made fantastic recommendations for eateries and places to visit, They were also more than happy to hold our luggage for almost 2 whole days after we checked out, while we went on our overnight cruise to the Halong Bay. We actually switched hotels after our return from the cruise, and one of us had left behind our jacket by accident. One of the hotel staff members then personally delivered it to us very quickly at our new hotel, even before we had realised it was missing!

We cannot recommend this hotel enough, and will definitely stay here again when we next return to Hanoi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane,Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel but the staff make it the best! So friendly and helpful. We had issues with our overnight train booked through an agency, the hotel organised us tickets at short notice and ensured all went smoothly. Location was excellent. Rooms where small but good use of space and cosy. Breakfast was excellent. Will stay again, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is fantastic, the staff, the location and the beds are all fantastic!! We arrived to this hotel via there airport pick up (recommend) very tired and suffering from our long flight the staff welcomed us at the door and then let us go to the room before checking in and paying. Once we woke and went down to reception they were very helpful telling us location of things to see and what they recommend. Upon checking out early for our flight we were given a little breakfast box as we were leaving before breakfast started. I recommend this hotel as it is one of the best hotel that I have stayed in and it will and the staff will make your stay in Hanoi even better!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I can only reiterate what other reviewers have said. The staff are exceptional, and go out of their way to assist in every way, and seem genuinely happy to do so.

The hotel itself is well located in the Old Quarter, and the noise of Hanoi is not discernible from the room. The rooms are small, but clean and functional. The wifi connection is excellent. Shower pressure good. Breakfast is very good.

We had somewhat of a complex booking with 12 people with slightly different itineraries. Whilst there have been a few issues (due mainly to the complexity which I am sure could have happened even in Australia) these were resolved very satisfactorily. We booked tours to Sapa and Halong Bay through the hotel and all were organised efficiently. We arrived back at the hotel from Sapa at 5.30am in the morning, and some of us were given rooms to check into straight away - and the others had rooms by 9am. In the meantime, the hotel has a lounge area to wait (with a bathroom).

All in all, I can highly recommend this hotel - and can certainly understand the high Tripadvisor ratings. The staff clearly give this hotel its competitive advantage, however, the hotel itself and its location certainly back that up. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Elegance Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Address: 3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#3 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#3 Business Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Elegance Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated staff, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hanoi Elegance Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Elegance Ruby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.