We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service + Location + Quality = Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Save Saved
You added Hanoi Elegance Ruby to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct get BEST DEAL
Ranked #2 of 494 hotels in Hanoi
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Service + Location + Quality = Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

SERVICE: All front desk and restaurant personnel were fluent in English and provided service quality that you find in high-end hotels in the U.S. 5 Star quality service at 2 Star prices; it's a no-brainer.

LOCATION: The hotel entrance is tucked away down a little alley from the chaos of the main road. In the morning the alley is filled with energy and life as fruit and meat vendors provide goods to locals walking and riding by. The hotel is in the old quarter so walking to destinations is really convenient and quick; Water Puppet Theatre & Ngoc Son Temple (~15 mins), Temple of Literature (~20 mins), Old Quarter Markets (~10 mins).

QUALITY: We had a Superior Double Room ($45/ni) that included a refrigerator, laptop computer, and television. The room was adequately sized and comfortable and had a great shower. The complimentary water in your room will help keep you hydrated while walking through the city.

AND MORE: The Ruby helped us book a fantastic 3-day IndoChina Junk Cruise through Bai Tu Long Bay on the Dragon's Pearl II; they actually walked down to the theater to buy tickets for us to see a water puppet performance; and they arranged our transportation to and from the airport. The staff will bend over backwards to help make your stay pleasant and exceed your expectations; they're almost TOO good!

I don't think you could ask for a better place to stay central to the old quarter in Hanoi, and I couldn't recommend that you stay anywhere else besides the Ruby!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,665
    170
    15
    0
    2
See reviews for
316
974
120
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The staff was remarkable! On the morning of my birthday, they had prepared a cake with candles and sang to me. My girlfriend and I were impressed -- how did they even know it was my birthday!? The price was definitely worth the rooms. The morning breakfast was a great way to start the day. A definite gem in the middle of Hanoi -- we highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great stay here!
We arrived very early in the morning from the UK, we did arrange to have our room on arrival at 6am. We checked in very quickly and shown to our room. While we were being introduced to our room a very refreshing fruit drink arrived closely followed by our cases.
The room was lovely but not too large, comfortable bed, great shower room and a window without a view! Tea and Coffee facility, wifi (free), TV
Breakfast was great and cooked to order each morning.
The hotel location could not be better Vietnamese life is just outside the door.....the road the hotel is situated is just full of interest
The staff are fantastic and cannot do enough to help....they even checked us in for our next flight and printed our boarding cards to save arriving at the airport too early
We arranged taxi transfers too and from the airport and also a visit to Halong Bay all went accoring to plan

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The reviews you have read about this place are spot on. Having travelled the world over, I can honestly say that I have not encountered better service and such a friendly demeanour by hotel staff anywhere...
The hotel is just fine - clean, comfortable, and all facilities work as you would hope....but it's the staff that make this place special. Try it, you WILL agree I'm sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great location, very nice rooms (ask for the top floor room with balcony) and the service is the best you can dream of. We had an excellent stay and cannot thank enough the staff for their warm welcome and perfect service. Lots of hotels could learn from them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon while travelling around Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos and can truly say this place had the best service of all. We felt truly well looked after, from a full intro to the local area to advice on places to eat. They even let us take a shower and looked after us after we'd checked out to take a cruise and returned the next day to collect our belongings.

The rooms are pretty small but have all the mod cons you need like air con, mini bar, clean, good shower etc.

It's a great base for getting around the old town which is on your doorstep and getting a little bit of local help on the way!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had the inestimable pleasure of staying at the Ruby Elegance and were treated from start to finish with courtesy, humor and the most extraordinary service at an incredibly reasonable price. And for the price, this would have to be the best hotel I have stayed in and one of the best at any price! Nothing was too much trouble and our needs and requests were acted on with swiftness that would make Hermes look like a sluggard. When my wife broke the strap of her bag it was back and repaired within the hour -- for a dollar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Elegance Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Address: 3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#4 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#24 Business Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Elegance Ruby 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated staff, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hanoi Elegance Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Elegance Ruby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.