We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome value,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Elegance Ruby to your Saves list
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct get BEST DEAL
Ranked #6 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome value,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a comfortable hotel with great service and awesome value. To be clear, this is not a 5-stat hotel but we stayed on our own budget for personal travel. The rooms are simple but well-equipped and comfortable. The breakfast was nice and the hotel staff are super friendly and helpful. If this hotel were US$200 I would be a lot less impressed but given the other options in Hanoi you can't beat this quality for this price. We stayed with our 18 month old daughter and had no problems. The only downside for us was that we got a room facing the street and it was loud until 11pm or 12am but not enough to prevent us from sleeping. Highly recommended and from what I can tell, so are its sister hotels. Location is great, on the same road as a lot of good shopping and near the main lake, water puppet theater, and interesting church.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,823
    181
    15
    0
    1
See reviews for
340
1,047
134
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was our third trip to Hanoi and Hanoi Elegance Ruby was the best hotel we have stayed in so far. The staff are delightful and amazingly helpful, even accompanying us on shopping trips when translation was going to be an issue. We had a wonderful room with balcony on the seventh floor which gave us views right over the city. The hotel is in the best part of Hanoi being close to the cathedral and the best shopping streets. It should also be noted that the best restaurant we found was in another Elegance hotel - Essence in the old quarter within walking distance of Ruby.We will certainly come back here.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite with balcony. It's worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a great hotel in every way. We have two children and we were worried if Hanoi would be too much, but this hotel made it just fine. The staff greets you and takes your luggage away. After a quick drink you are brought up to speed and checked in. Having been through this before at other hotels you wonder if this is a stall tactic...not! The family suite was arranged with balloons for the kids...we all said wow when we opened the door. This is "easy going" luxury.

A real test of a hotel is when something goes wrong. The hotel arranged a two day trip to Halong Bay which was cancelled due to a typhoon after a four hour bus ride to the bay. At that point the hotel called the tour guide. They informed us they were "fully committed" for the night (we were supposed to by on the boat overnight). They offered up a "sister" hotel (they have several). They efficiently arranged EVERYTHING and we checked into their other hotel. It was even better than great. Ohhh and the breakfasts are fantastic. So efficient, so polite, so accommodating.

No hesitation we will be back!

Tip for families be VERY careful of your kids, motor bikes are everywhere and there are very few sidewalks. Lecture your kids and ALWAYS hold their hands until on a sidewalk. These motor bikes are not the safest drivers (we saw someone get bumped and knocked down).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

First visit to Hanoi and not disappointed with Elegance Ruby. Great location in the old quarter, 10 min walk to lake via some of the best shopping in Hanoi. The staff were very attentive, their English is great, and the breakfasts are very good. The rooms are modern, very clean with whisper quiet air conditioning. Had a superior double which was cozy especially when 2 large suitcases were out, but this really wasn't a problem. Great small boutique-style hotel without a a boutique hotel price tag.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Wow, what can I say. The staff at the Hanoi Elegance Ruby are the most genuinely friendly and helpful people I've ever had the good fortune to meet. From the moment we arrived it was obvious that they were dedicated to ensuring the happiness and comfort of everyone at their hotel. Greeted after our long plane ride with fresh mango juices we were shown to a seat while our bags were whisked away to our room so fast we barely even noticed they were gone. Once seated, no talk of money, or bookings or anything like that...the first questions were all about how we were, how was our flight, are we comfortable...then onto a discussion about the old quarter, a detailed explanation of the map of the area, an explanation of what to look out for, what taxis to trust, what to visit. Then a thorough breakdown of all costs and the itinerary.

Then catching the elevator upstairs to the junior suite to a room that sparkled! I don't think I've ever come across a room that was so obviously cleaned to an amazingly high standard. Every surface looked like it had been scrubbed, disinfected and scrubbed again. A massive king bed with comfort that rivals my bed at home, a wonderful quaint terrace. Simply beautiful.

And as we walked out the door that night for our first night in Hanoi, to a booked intrepid food tour, the lovely receptionist (Anne / Ang ?) stopped us and insisted she call ahead to ensure that everything was above board and we weren't about to be scammed or anything.

They did all the booking for our trip to ha long bay, then happily refunded it when it stormed and the bay was closed...and more importantly, they didn't wait until we'd traveled 3 hours to the bay to find out the tour wouldn't be going ahead. They called us the night before to let us know that it was unlikely our tour would be going ahead, and that they would ensure that we had the room available should we decide to stay another night.

Every single interaction, with every single staff member, makes you very much aware that they are dedicated to ensuring your holiday is perfect.

And the best quote of our stay, when we were worrying about the storms and whether our bay tour would be cancelled or not, one of the lovely receptionist smiled at us and said "Just go enjoy your dinner, it's your job to relax and enjoy your holiday, it's our job to stress about tours".

If you're in hanoi - stay at the Elegance Ruby, you won't regret it :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Better then a 5 star hotel great location the staff are just amayzing !!!!! Very well kept rooms and great wifi. We stayed here for 4 nights!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Really an incredible hotel we where sad to leave

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Read reviews on Trip Advisor and then booked 1 night. First time visitor to Hanoi and Vietnam. I was very pleased with
the accommodation, the staff and food. Staff were particularly helpful and pleasant. I highly recommend this hotel. I will definitely stay here on my next visit

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Elegance Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Address: 3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#3 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#3 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Elegance Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated staff, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hanoi Elegance Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Elegance Ruby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.