We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the other reviews, its a great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Save Saved
You added Hanoi Elegance Ruby to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest-Ever Summer Rates!
Ranked #3 of 490 hotels in Hanoi
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Believe the other reviews, its a great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Located very centrally to everything, firm but comfortable bed, nice bathroom with a shower head tall enough, big enough room to be able to walk around without tripping over your luggage, provided laptop in your room with free wifi and delicious included breakfast (eggs, toast, bacon, fresh juices, tea, coffee, french toast, pho, etc). We stayed 2 days and then went on a Halong Bay cruise and then returned for 3 more days. They made storing our luggage so incredibly easy. We just packed it up, left it in the room and when we came back it was already in our new room.

But the best part is the staff! They are so warm and welcoming and helpful. This is not a hotel for someone that wants to stay in a huge hotel and remain completely anonymous. Each time we were leaving they would ask what we had planned and if we actually had a plan they would help with getting a taxi that doesn't have a "special meter". If we didn't really have a plan they would be happy to suggest somewhere interesting. Then when we returned they always remembered where we had planned to go and asked how we enjoyed it. They were very helpful in making spa appointments and getting taxis and suggesting good local food. It is a really really nice hotel just on its own but with the staff they have its exceptional. We even got good bye hugs!

Room Tip: We stayed in 805 and 705 but junior suites. They have the same view and same balcony size but 705 i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,842 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,656
    169
    15
    0
    2
See reviews for
314
966
120
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Concealed down a small alley way is a remarkable hotel: very comfortable (we enjoyed a free upgrade); wonderfully helpful staff; splendid breakfasts; free laptop/WiFi in room; welcoming basket of fruit.
Every inquiry at the desk was handled with competency and grace, plus great local knowledge. This is a superior facility, run with skill and friendliness.
Plaudits all round!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were very thorough in our selection of hotel in Hanoi. I read several reviews on trip advisor before we finally chose the Elegance Ruby. It sounded too good to be true... but it was fantastic!

There is not much I can say that hasn't been said. Yes the hotel is small and the rooms are not overly large. However they are all very well appointed.

The highlight of this hotel is the staff. They are lovely people who will do anything to ensure you have a great time in Hanoi. We were very well looked after.

We will be recommending the Ruby to any of our friends who travel to Hanoi. Oh and great location!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked from OZ based on Trip Advisor feedback. Email communications were very good and airport pick up was great. Arrived to very friendly greeting, hot towel and mango juice. Our room was meant to be twin and they had upgraded us to family suite for first night- a real treat. After that we stayed on and off while we toured the north, and it was always great to return to a place like home. Breakfast was a highlight and staff are excellent! Probably the friendliest and best service I have ever had anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Ruby Elegance is one hotel in group of 5 Elegance Hotels. We have had dealings with three of these on our trip and they are WONDERFUL, truly caring people. Due to a booking error we were not able to book into Hanoi Elite. We were upgraded to the Diamond Elegance and given a Family Room with spa at no extra cost. When we came back from Halong Bay we spent our last 2 nights in Vietnam at the Ruby Elegance. The room is scrupulously clean, the appointments and bathroom luxurious. The included breakfast was truly excellent and served to you. There is also free wifi and even a laptop in the room. We paid only$50 pn. But the highlight at Ruby for us were the truly caring staff who cater to your every need all with a very happy manner. You will not disappointed in this hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stumbled across this hotel after walking in off the street. We were instantly impressed at their friendliness and willingness to help. They happily showed us the family room which we found spacious and impeccably clean. The breakfast was beyond our expectation and of very high quality. We were impressed when staff took it upon themselves to interject when a cyclo tried to overcharge us, evening ringing our destination to ensure we arrived safely. Overall We experienced service well beyond our expectations. We"d highly recommend this hotel as your first choice in Hanoi.

Room Tip: Ask for family room without balcony, it's big and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We are an Indian couple living in Singapore. As with any holiday, we always rely on TripAdvisor to give us good hotel recommendations. We zeroed in on Vietnam as our travel destination for this year. We visited Hanoi from 29th June to 3rd July 2012. We saw that Hanoi Elegance Ruby was the top pick for hotels in Hanoi and after reading through the reviews, we had no doubt in our mind as to where we wanted to stay. We corresponded with the hotel via e-mail and they replied promptly. In addition to a room, we requested for a pick-up and drop off at the airport and to book us on a 2D1N cruise to Halong Bay. It so happened that the hotel didn't have any rooms on the 1st of July i.e. Sunday so we asked them to book the cruise on that day. They gave us an option of keeping our luggage with them until we returned which we thought was fantastic since the thought of lugging our heavy bags on the cruise seemed unnecessary and inconvenient.

On arrival in Hanoi, our ride was waiting for us. It took us about 40 mins to reach the hotel which is located in the Old Quarter. The staff at the hotel welcomes us warmly and provided us with wet towels and fruit juice. They gave us a map of Hanoi which had all the important walking streets, sight seeing spots and shopping areas marked on it. It also had a list of recommended places to dine, shop and visit. This map really helped us during our stint at Hanoi. Our room was the Junior Suite on level 8 and it was a lovely and clean room with all facilities (including a laptop and high speed internet). It had a small balcony but the view was not great so we didn't really spend much time there. We were given complimentary wine, fruit bowl and coffee/tea making facilities which I thought was a sweet gesture.

Breakfast is served in the small restaurant adjacent to the lobby. The breakfast is limited but good. We appreciated how much thought was put into the presentation of food and drink. On two occasions, by the time we got to the restaurant for breakfast, it was already filled to capacity. In the first instance, the hotel staff requested us to wait in the waiting area on level 2 where they served us coffee and within a few minutes offered us a table and on the second occasion, they served us breakfast in our room which was very nice.

Whenever we would go out sight-seeing, the staff would always enquire if we needed a taxi. They once even negotiated the price of a Xich Lo (rickshaw) for us. If we needed to make a reservation at any restaurant, they would do it for us. If it was raining outside, they would make sure we had an umbrella. They always provided helpful suggestions and useful advice. They would go out of their way to make us feel comfortable and it was their attitude that impressed us the most. We went to dine at the Gourmet Cafe at Hanoi Elegance Diamond and the Essence Cafe at Hanoi Essence hotel (which both belong to the same group) and we noticed similar high standards to service.

If we ever visited Hanoi again, we would definitely go back to Hanoi Elegance Ruby. This is a small boutique hotel with none of the 5 star hotel facilities but it more than makes up for it with the friendly attitude of the staff and impeccable service. We had a wonderful stay there and would recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is spacious but can get a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hanoi Elegance Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Address: 3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#4 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#23 Business Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Elegance Ruby 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated staff, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hanoi Elegance Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Elegance Ruby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.