We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Municipal Hotel

Hanoi Municipal Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanoi Municipal Hotel
Save
You added Hanoi Municipal Hotel to your Saves list
13 Luong Ngoc Quyen Str., Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #458 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
rosario, argentina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Twin beds for 6 dollars each, room with ac, minibar, not very clean but in a nice location.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
1
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

After a long trip from Lurang Prabang to Hanoi (30hrs!), we wake up in the bus to see a man offering his services from the station to the city center (where he came from we dont know). He also offered a mini bus for the people we were travelling with which worked out cheaper as we were dropped off at the new south bus station (13km from city center). There was a catch though and it was that he was working for this hotel!

However, he was never forceful with the sell, which was refreshing. Many ppl we were with looked for another place on arrival with ease.

Room wise a very 2-star accommodation. We had a double en suite which was clean but looked grubby. It was kind of run down in the bathroom. The air con worked fantastic though and wi-fi was really strong (on 2nd floor). Showers are hot but loses pressure if you flush the toilet. There was a slightdamp smell in the room and could be noisy but not too bad.

Overall,a decent stay (we paid $6 p.p) but can only recommended for one night. The locationis right in the old quarters amonst lots of cafes and bars. The place does lack a certain personality though and the entrance looks unwelcoming. Still the staff were very friendly and spoke good English. Good starting point if you arrived VERY late in the city like we did!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We got the room at 10$ in January 2012 (twin bed with heating a/c) after much bargain. Despite their shiny, very respectable hallway, the room we got was quite dirty and scary at first. But we soon found out they had clean bed sheets, an ok bath-tub and CONTINUOUS 24h hot water (my fiance does appreciate a lot). TV was not watchable, but they had a fridge (@@ crazy Vietnamese drinking ice-cold drinks by 15C in Winter lol). A/C was giving some warm air, but definitely not enough to warm up the large room.
Noise was not much of a problem with some noticeable bass beat from the street (to expect in this area).
For the party animals around here, we heard they had curfew at 12am ! Anyway, after some tiring days fighting to walk our way on the street, bargaining and the overwhelming noise of the city, we went to bed early. :)
They kept our bag in a not-so-secure but convenient storage room for 2 days, so that was nice. They can change money as well !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

When my wife paid the first time the receptionist overcharged us, making us pay about 50 000 more for 1 night>
the price was 14 dollar (even if they told us 12) x 21 + 50 in his pocket.

but since the room was ok, although old, for the money we staid.


But then it happend again. the other receptionist overcharged us also and gave incorrect change! when we told him to give us the right money he invented something on his calculator and told us we needed to pay him even more!
we argued for about 30 min and he now pretended not to speak english.
oh yes, to start with he also wanted to count us an extra night because he did ot know heumheum that we paid the first night already...

the second problem was the pushy overfriendly women from the ticket office in the hotel.
as soon as i woke up she started to nag trying to sell this and that.
the halong bay trip we bought was ok.
but the bus ticket with Camel tours, please never take this bus company and read the reviews,

was way overpriced.

And for being so overfriendly, when we left she didnt even look at us or answer or goodbye...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

the room is very dirty, also there is a bar next to our hotel and is very loudy!!!!
WE CAN'T SLEAP EN THEY JUST SAY; SORRY WE'AR FULL AND TRY TO SLEEP!!
Sow never go there!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We paid 18$ for a double room including breakfast. The room had no window and was not perfectly clean. It looks a bit old as well.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Just looking for a hotel for one night before the plane to Laos take off. Checked the room - ok. Booked it. Come back to Hanoi for the night. Different room, lazy staff, no credit card payment, breakfast at 6.30 am - pick up for the airport at 6.00 am - no discount and on and on and on.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Municipal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Municipal Hotel

Address: 13 Luong Ngoc Quyen Str., Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #458 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Number of rooms: 147

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Municipal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.