We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff but dirty bathroom” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Asia Hotel

Hanoi Asia Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Asia Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Asia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Cua Dong Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff but dirty bathroom”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and were warmly welcomed by the lady on reception who seemed to run the hotel; the guys didn't seem quite so efficient. Pleasantly suprised by the size of the room and we were impressed with the cleanliness, size and comfort of the beds. However the bathroom, which needed replacing, was grubby and not terribly pleasant. Our room looked out over a busy street in the old quarter which was noisy at night but did mean we were well located in the thick of Hanoi for exploring! Breakfast was eggs and bread which was all we really needed! If I am really honest, I probably wouldn't stay here again due to the state of the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

My family and I just returned from a trip to Vietnam. We stayed in 6 different hotels throughout various cities. We all agreed that the staff here was by far our favorite. Each employee there was friendly, accommodating, and honest. Until you've been to Vietnam, you don't realize how rare and important a staff like this is. To come back to your hotel and be greeted with a smile and truly feel welcomed is priceless.
We stayed here in 2 rooms for 2 nights, went to Cat Ba for 2 nights, then returned for 1 more night in Hanoi. So we stayed in a total of 4 of their rooms. All the rooms were clean and very big. The craftsmanship in the bathrooms was poor, but everything worked fine. (this was true of every hotel we stayed at, so it wasn't a big deal). More importantly the sheets and towels were all clean. The air conditioners all worked perfect. The beds were comfortable. And they made us breakfast every morning.
I highly recommend them to anyone looking for a hotel in their price range.

Travel tip: Upon request they will provide private transportation to and from the airport for less than you would spend on a taxi.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed here for 9 nights in late Feb / early March, in two different rooms ( we went to Halong Bay / Cat Ba Island for a 3 day tour ). Both rooms were large, with two comfy beds, clean bedding ( duvets ),large wardrobe, dressing table,kettle, mini bar ( a small bottle of water per person, every day, for free ) large tv. with lots of channels, good sized bathroom with toothbrushes, shampoo, soap. A/C was hot or cold ( useful, as the weather turned really cold while we were there ! ).One computer with free internet access in the dining room. Breakfast was good ( eggs, toast, cheese, yoghurt, fresh juice, fruit, tea, coffee) . But the best thing about the Hanoi Asia was the staff - they were LOVELY ! Really warm, friendly, helpful. When the weather turned cold and we had booked a trip to Ha Long Bay which is further north, the manager was so concerned that I wouldn't be warm enough that she was going to go home and get me a jacket and scarf to wear ! The male and female receptionists were always smiling and friendly, even though we didn't book any tours with them. The hotel is well situated in the old quarter - 20 minutes walk from the lake. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: City view rooms a little more costwise - back rooms a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Nothing spectacular here, but the room was large and clean, and the staff was pleasant. Laundry service was weak. One of the closest hotels in the old quarter to walking over to the mausoleum and temple of literature and other attractions.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

What can i say? I was extremely satisfy with the warm greeting from all of the employees from this hotel. They really go out of their way to help you out in any way they can. I can really say that, I have a few friends at the Hanoi Asia Hotel an I would be more then happy to go back and stay with them. The Hotel is an a great location, the rooms are very clean and well equipped with air conditioner, cable, WIfi and much more. Hanoi Asia Hotel is also walking distance to Museum(Ho Chi Ming Mausolleum) Theatre (Long Water Puppet Show) I really recommend this hotel to anyone going to Hanoi, Vietnam. You would really enjoy the hospitality, the friendship and the quality of service they provide to you or anyone you are with. God bless you all and have a great day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbjerg, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff was kind and helpful. The rooms were large and good furnished. There was some noise from the streets but that you must expect when you stay in the center of Hanoi with much traffic. All in all a pleasant experience - good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

we stayed here a couple of times whilst in and out of Hanoi, we got a very warm welcome and staff were always polite. we paid $30 a night for a huge room, the airconditioning was wonderful and the large beds comfortable. If i was being picky i would say that the room would benefit from a thorough clean, particulalry the bathroom. the young staff helped us out with a particularly nasty taxi driver who was tring to drastically overcharge us. The breakfast is pretty awful but otherwise a solid choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Asia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Asia Hotel

Address: 5 Cua Dong Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Asia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Asia Hotel is located in the historic Old Quarter of Vietnam, just a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake, Water Puppet Theater and the Night Market. We are a small boutique hotel with only 9 rooms and focused on customer service. Our rooms are quite large for Vietnamese standards and average 38 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hanoi Asia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Asia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.